Annoying Gym Sh*t

Kangsg

at my CC gym, it used to be quite a friendly place, until this bunch of ah bengs started showing up, turning off the aircon, screaming loudly during sets, turning off the radio and playing their own music, and slowly the regulars disappeared ... the gym management also didnt do anything ...

I also encountered an idiot who turned off the air conditioning.
He told me its because he is running bare bodied & he sweats alot as a result, so the air conditioning cannot be turned on. So me and the others end up sweating in a smallish room with him because he dont want to wear a shirt whilst running & he believes air-conditioning on a sweaty body is bad.

I realised I should have complained about him from day one because the clown also didnt believe in putting back his weights on the machine & I quarrelled with him on that later.

tellim

some ppl dont bathe or dont apply deodorant before coming to gym...can smell the BO.

Blahhh

I really detest going to the gym during school holidays, teenagers are the worst people to gym with.

Case #1:
Was about to bench 25kg aside, eyes were already under and hands gripping the bar. This guy came to me and said, "eh u using the 5kg?". I said "nope, u can use", feeling abit annoyed that this guy can't wait until I am done with the set. But as I unracked the bar, I realized one side was heavier then the other - yep, the idiot took the 5kg FROM the barbell, instead of the 5KGs laying around.

Case #2:
Was sharing a squat rack with a skinny guy. He was mainly doing about 10-12kg per side, I was doing 30 aside when he decides to give it a "try". I could tell from the way he handled the bar earlier that he couldn't do it, but I tried to be diplomatic about it, so I said, "Bro, u sure, heavy leh, u will need support". He said nevermind just 1 rep only, ok lor.

Cut story short, if its not for the rack, dude be squashed under the bar.

Case #3:
Was doing deadlifts with this guy. Kept telling me that its unhealthy to let the weights touch the floor. OK.

There's more, like 2 guys doing deadlifts on the same bar, but honestly, I can't stand teenagers at the gym. No offense to any here, I am sure there are many of dedicated teens who spend time learning proper ethics and forms, but your breathens really need a good spanking.

Kangsg

Case 1 is definitely an idiot. 2 and 3 are not.
For 2, you're not his spotter or instructor & if he wants to do way above his abilities, he pays the price and not you.
For 3, he's just giving his advice, whether right or wrong.

For Case 1, you should look for the guy and pay him back by removing or adding a plate when he's exercising.

Jowa__

Never encountered these kind of gym douchebags once I switched gyms from Safra/Clubfit to a private one 6 months back. Maybe only weirdos.

kitsura

I have no stories to share. Surprisingly i go Chevron and Suntec TF for over 3 years no such funny people. The most annoying was this pinoy who acted like he was some kinda trainer and wanted to advise me how to do the lifts. I just ignored him.

I think sometimes the higher entrance fee weed out the jokers like teenagers and clueless senior citizens.

RickPatStar

I LOLed at the title, reading some of the stories here are interesting as I rarely encounter such fked up behaviour. Maybe it's because they take pity on me being a newbie and all:s13:

I always try to be nice at the gym as we're all there to just get fit, and almost everyone I've met (so far) have been just as warm and friendly, willing to share equipment. Except for a few arrogant people who think they own the bloody gym just because they lift heavy. But the worst gym patrons are still sec sch students.

No etiquette, throwing and hogging all the DBs and benches as if the entire gym is theirs, slamming weights, etc. Douchebag is the only word I can think of.

Yes, I go to Clubfit. Yes, I am a student.
No, I do not act like a douchebag.

manlet

The most annoying was this pinoy who acted like he was some kinda trainer and wanted to advise me how to do the lifts. I just ignored him.

lmao pinoys. have yet to see a swole pinoy over 1.7m tall. jus tell him his exercises work for his height not yours lmao

monk..

I really detest going to the gym during school holidays, teenagers are the worst people to gym with.

Case #1:
Was about to bench 25kg aside, eyes were already under and hands gripping the bar. This guy came to me and said, "eh u using the 5kg?". I said "nope, u can use", feeling abit annoyed that this guy can't wait until I am done with the set. But as I unracked the bar, I realized one side was heavier then the other - yep, the idiot took the 5kg FROM the barbell, instead of the 5KGs laying around.

Case #2:
Was sharing a squat rack with a skinny guy. He was mainly doing about 10-12kg per side, I was doing 30 aside when he decides to give it a "try". I could tell from the way he handled the bar earlier that he couldn't do it, but I tried to be diplomatic about it, so I said, "Bro, u sure, heavy leh, u will need support". He said nevermind just 1 rep only, ok lor.

Cut story short, if its not for the rack, dude be squashed under the bar.

Case #3:
Was doing deadlifts with this guy. Kept telling me that its unhealthy to let the weights touch the floor. OK.

There's more, like 2 guys doing deadlifts on the same bar, but honestly, I can't stand teenagers at the gym. No offense to any here, I am sure there are many of dedicated teens who spend time learning proper ethics and forms, but your breathens really need a good spanking.

totally hate school holidays.
i have nothing again teenagers or students but come holidays, it is really bad...they come in groups of 5-10 and take up a few machines/ benches/ weights and train and they talk/ joke loudly...can you imagine 5 paxs taking turns on a bench press and then swap with the other group of 5??
you can forget about using any equipment if you are using the same ones as them.

monk..

this is a story that happened to me few years ago. and the person who i observed is actually a member of this forum. I know, cos his face appeared here before, this HFC section.

Guy was using the rack, with a friend. I asked him how many sets, he said many and he is already sharing with his friend. Fine, I waited as I really wanted to start off my workout with Squats.and i told him i am next.

So while waiting, i decided to keep my body and muscles warm by doing free bodyweight squats few metres away. Immediately after he was done, i was in the midst of doing my free squats. I turned around, and this man came by unsuspectingly and took over the squat rack. I glanced at the previous user who looked at me, gave me a sheepish smile and a brief shrug and turned away to proceed to the dumbell section.

In the end, i went up to the man, he didnt want to share and there goes my day. My mood was gone.

Im not asking people to stand there and hang by and wait for me. but the least you could do was to either get my attention or tell the next guy who came in that someone is waiting for the rack. and not turn to me and give me a sheepish smile.

actually can just say who lah...if it's the truth, it's the truth.:s13::s22:

RickPatStar

totally hate school holidays.
i have nothing again teenagers or students but come holidays, it is really bad...they come in groups of 5-10 and take up a few machines/ benches/ weights and train and they talk/ joke loudly...can you imagine 5 paxs taking turns on a bench press and then swap with the other group of 5??
you can forget about using any equipment if you are using the same ones as them.
Luckily most of them only know how do do DB presses on benches + bicep curls.
Not too bad as there are several benches to go around.

Unlike the cage, most gyms only have one.
Hog that one and its either you ask them to fk off, or you come back another day.

tyh1991

Never really seen many douchebags in gyms before. Only ones I've personally encountered are teenagers, overly proud of their body or lifts, self inviting themselves into the machine or stations I am at, even though they know I'm halfway through my set. Usually have no problems though.

On a side note, probably have people who hated me when I used to be severely addicted to squats and deadlifts. Spent an hour in the rack at times:s13: but I do share though!!! Just not convenient some times.:D

Hakkaa

Usually when i step into the gym and see someone using the squat rack, i would always ask the same questions.
"Hi, how many sets do you have left?"
"Is there anyone after you"
"Pass it to me when your done? Thanks!"
Give him/her a thumbs up and do my warm up.
Usually by the time i am done with my warm up, the guy is usually done. Or if there's someone after him, i would ask to share with the guy after. Luckily for me, the gym i go to is really small, and it's easy to spot when the guy is done.

Anyway so far the people in the gym i go to are pretty good, though i find myself hating on secondary school holidays. Probably because of the crowd.
But there is this two friends in my gyms, who thinks they are all cool. I mean who wears a belt while working out? Not those lifting belts though.. And they would curl beside the racks while people are using. I mean really near the rack.. :vijayadmin:

And those that would load up the ez-bar and then leave it on the floor and walk off.. :vijayadmin:

Luckily i seldom meet such incidents. Only a few times so far. :s22:

EDIT:
oh i remember one incident where there are 2 chubby boys, secondary school kids who came into the gym. At that point of time, the gym is flooded with secondary school students, which i gotta admit, most of them lifted heavier than me.

So when the 2 guys stepped into the gym, all the attention were on them, prolly because they were asking the staff lots of questions, and even got the staff to teach them how to use the machine.
And you could hear all the students there pointing and laughing at them. I mean come on guys... They were there to lift like us, don't have to judge, everyone gotta start some where..

Kangsg

I always try to be nice at the gym as we're all there to just get fit, and almost everyone I've met (so far) have been just as warm and friendly, willing to share equipment. Except for a few arrogant people who think they own the bloody gym just because they lift heavy. But the worst gym patrons are still sec sch students.

No etiquette, throwing and hogging all the DBs and benches as if the entire gym is theirs, slamming weights, etc. Douchebag is the only word I can think of.

Yes, I go to Clubfit. Yes, I am a student.
No, I do not act like a douchebag.

Since you're a student & know how annoying these students are, why don't you do us all a favour & use your student lingo to tell them nicely to stop all these nonsense.

liftstrong

Usually when i step into the gym and see someone using the squat rack, i would always ask the same questions.
"Hi, how many sets do you have left?"
"Is there anyone after you"
"Pass it to me when your done? Thanks!"
Give him/her a thumbs up and do my warm up.
Usually by the time i am done with my warm up, the guy is usually done. Or if there's someone after him, i would ask to share with the guy after. Luckily for me, the gym i go to is really small, and it's easy to spot when the guy is done.

Anyway so far the people in the gym i go to are pretty good, though i find myself hating on secondary school holidays. Probably because of the crowd.
But there is this two friends in my gyms, who thinks they are all cool. I mean who wears a belt while working out? Not those lifting belts though.. And they would curl beside the racks while people are using. I mean really near the rack.. :vijayadmin:

And those that would load up the ez-bar and then leave it on the floor and walk off.. :vijayadmin:

Luckily i seldom meet such incidents. Only a few times so far. :s22:

EDIT:
oh i remember one incident where there are 2 chubby boys, secondary school kids who came into the gym. At that point of time, the gym is flooded with secondary school students, which i gotta admit, most of them lifted heavier than me.

So when the 2 guys stepped into the gym, all the attention were on them, prolly because they were asking the staff lots of questions, and even got the staff to teach them how to use the machine.
And you could hear all the students there pointing and laughing at them. I mean come on guys... They were there to lift like us, don't have to judge, everyone gotta start some where..

I would've told the kids to show some damn respect. The first step is the hardest,.no point giving someone who is willing to change.a hard time

cowed77

What you said is very common.

Many people dont like to share equipment & regard people like you asking to share equipment as annoying or pestering them. They think once they are using the equipment, they can use it as long as they want.

And yes. If he can accomodate & there's a spare bar, he should do his deadlifts or rack pulls at one corner & let others use the rack. If he is smart, he can use a bench to do his rack pulls so he need not pull from the ground.

But I find people like you saying they are after me in using the rack, amusing.

I am not the rack reservation counter and its not my job to look for you after I finish & if someone asks, I will tell them someone else already wants to use the rack & walk off. But after I walked off & another person used the rack instead of you, if you want to fight, you can fight with the other person because I simply dont care.

are you a normally angry person irl hahahahaha.

i think looking out for the person who asks for next in the cage is very ok leh. Its not like the gym damn big, and most of the time the guy will be within eye contact anw.

monk..

i think looking out for the person who asks for next in the cage is very ok leh. Its not like the gym damn big, and most of the time the guy will be within eye contact anw.

haha...i have the same thought as well...:s13:

Kangsg

Sure. I already said if I see the guy, I will point out the machine or rack is for him to use. BTW if its a machine, I will wipe it clean and if its a rack, I will remove all & I mean all the weights and put them back properly.

There are big gyms and there're people who will go to cardio area, toilets or God knows where. I am not going to hunt for him like I work for him.
Maybe next time I will inform the counter to make a PA announcement that the rack is available for him. Ha!

kitsura

From his posts looks like he hates the whole world.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.