[Off Topic] The Longest Chit-Chat Thread in HWC - - - - - - - - Part 18

GeForce

Shhhhhhh... :s13:

Not hardcore lah, just like her songs. :)

Kemping for Deluxe Edition CD, then burn moi free popular voucher on it... :s13:

dammmm.. don't be like me bc i'm already hooked like crazy(you need to see my room :)) :s13:
Deluxe will be out on launch on 28th Oct, Tues :)
HMV accepting pre-orders now.. Popular prolly as well :D

Mach3.2

dammmm.. don't be like me bc i'm already hooked like crazy(you need to see my room :)) :s13:
:s22: Jin hardcore mens. Mid November will waltz down to CD-Rama to ssrr... :s12:

See my mood loh, today listened to Metallica... :s12:

Usopp

damn pro. Don't really listen to her songs, but she is very pwetty =:p

Alternative X

How far can one overload a PSU before something bad happens? like pulling 900W on a 850W PSU? :s16::s16:
If using a top quality PSU, the overload protections will kick in before the PSU explodes. You may want to read up on PSU reviews on HardwareSecrets as they are like the only PSU reviewer who had the balls to test overload protections on the PSU. (PSU failures can kill expensive PSU testing equipment, you see.) Do note that HardwareSecrets has not tested new PSUs for over 1 year.

However, low quality PSU brands are known to to label PSUs beyond their designed wattage. For example, check out this Coolmax PSU that is designed by Sirfa as a 600W PSU with 80+ performance but got labelled as a 700W and a 950W PSU by Coolmax.
Coolmax CUG-700B 700 Watt Power Supply Review
Coolmax CUG-950B 950W Review

Even though the components inside can tahan the increase in current if it does not blow up first, you are likely to get out of spec voltage regulation and ripple at wattages that are way above a PSU's designed wattage and this is likely to kill your parts very quickly.

Therefore, please do not attempt to override a PSU's overload protections and overload the PSU in an attempt to save $$$ as you will end up losing more $$$ replacing your dead components.

GeForce

If using a top quality PSU, the overload protections will kick in before the PSU explodes. You may want to read up on PSU reviews on HardwareSecrets as they are like the only PSU reviewer who had the balls to test overload protections on the PSU. (PSU failures can kill expensive PSU testing equipment, you see.) Do note that HardwareSecrets has not tested new PSUs for over 1 year.

However, low quality PSU brands are known to to label PSUs beyond their designed wattage. For example, check out this Coolmax PSU that is designed by Sirfa as a 600W PSU with 80+ performance but got labelled as a 700W and a 950W PSU by Coolmax.
Coolmax CUG-700B 700 Watt Power Supply Review
Coolmax CUG-950B 950W Review

Even though the components inside can tahan the increase in current if it does not blow up first, you are likely to get out of spec voltage regulation and ripple at wattages that are way above a PSU's designed wattage and this is likely to kill your parts very quickly.

Therefore, please do not attempt to override a PSU's overload protections and overload the PSU in an attempt to save $$$ as you will end up losing more $$$ replacing your dead components.

good to know :) thanks for the heads up. Appreciate :D

royfrosty

Guys any gate locks to recommend? Lol

I dont need those finger print, 4 digit code or any electrical type of locks lol.

Just traditional padlocks. Lol

bornerwave

03:00 PM - 04:00 PM
Forensics in Digital Security(FDS)
Lec, IT3-3-30(LT1)
WK 1-7
L01
KWSW

Die ah Die... this subject confirm die :(:(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.