There is nothing good to buy on US market because of the high valuations

wahkao3

This is a sweeping statement and you know it's not true.

There is always something to buy, even when market is in the high.

I'm sure there are some undervalue strong fundamental counters in US, even at this time.
i cant find any. Please name some for me to check out

alexchia01

i cant find any. Please name some for me to check out

If you can't find any, there are 2 possibilities.

Either you don't know how to find or you are too lazy to find.

If you don't know how to find, please go and learn how.

If you are too lazy to find, then I can't help you. You have to do it yourself.

Your statement is like saying all Americans are White, but we all know that's not true. Look carefully and you'll find there are many other race Americans.

If you don't know how to spot them, then open your eyes wide and watch carefully.

If you are too lazy to open your eyes, then i can't help you. You have to open your own eyes to see.

IronMac

u look at macro? u look at chart? :s11:

No, not at all.

I'm afraid that I am the sort that goes for a company's "story". Does it have a sustainable competitive advantage? Does it have unique qualities that lets it stand out against its peers? Are trends such as urbanization or financial deregulation in its favor? More recently, I like to know whether or not company officers have skin in the game.

My choice is buttressed by the fact that I like to keep abreast of the news, the economies, demographics, consumer trends and so on by going through two newspapers on a regular basis - WSJ and Globe and Mail.

Also, my work allows me to listen to c-level executives when they talk about their companies, market conditions, and economies.

It's a lot of information but you have to do that. Are valuations high? Well, it's all relative isn't it?

P.S. Does the above work for me? Well, I subscribe to a stockpicking newsletter along with a subscription to the Canadian edition of Motley Fool. For the newsletter, the guy probably recommends close to two dozen equities. If you buy all of them...you may be up by 2%. (I keep this all on a watchlist.) But, leveraging what I know, I buy what I like of his picks and I am currently up by about 15%. Volatile as anything but hey...

Bedokian

Wahkao3 bro, just get AAPL, GOOG, BRKB.

Buy liao, will huat (at least for me).

Not vested in GOOG.

peterchan75

u got these stocks using TA? Yes TA is good.
How about FA? FA good also? If no good i dont want also
i go have a check:o

I no FATA master. You do FATA lah...
BTW, where is Sophie ? She doesn't like you already ? :o

wahkao3

This post was started on 20Oct14. Potential counters on that date....
CNSL, CVGM

DPZ, DUK, ICUI, LDRH, RCPT, RDNT, ROST

AEC, AEP, AERI, AFSI, AGIO, AHS, AKR, AKRX, ALNY, ANAC, ARE, AWR, BLL, BSET, CCI, CSS, EDE, EGLE, ELLI, ENTA, ESNT, EXR, FIZZ, GHDX, HCN, HTA, IDA, LEAF, MERC, MGEE, NU, OHI, RDN, RT, SONC, STRA, UNH, UTL, VVC, WEC

see... there are plenty if you look hard enough. :s8:
Countless books say that one cannot be lazy in this field. ;)
To believe it or not it's up to you. :D
none is TA good+FA good+cheap leh :(
6Vw6uVz.png

Shiny Things

Hey ST, were you making a wager on the Fed interest rate level rising by end of 2015?

I'd say rates will stay the same.

Why yes I was. I reckon it's still even money even after the big move in eurodollars - how much size are you looking to do? $100?

IronMac

Why yes I was. I reckon it's still even money even after the big move in eurodollars - how much size are you looking to do? $100?

Nah, I was just curious. Anyways, I hate gambling. hehehe :s22:

But, let's make a note to check back by end 2015.

KC

With Japan throwing the kitchen sink into global stock and bond markets, things can move quite a bit. US stocks will probably get quite a bit of the allocation for the foreign equity portion.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.