Used car dealers pricing - still unrealistic?

Aleksandr

As above. Discuss. Or is the pricing on SGCarMart heavily negotiable?

Looking for second car for wife, I am amazed at what some are asking for 7 / 8 year old cars. Depreciation is only slightly less than buying new. Although of course if you buy new you have higher initial cash outlay, plus must drive for 10 years, but still..

parkingandride

I agree. Look at the 2013 or 2012 cars. They price similar to new cars . Crazy rite ? Might as well go for brand new..

wacko

As above. Discuss. Or is the pricing on SGCarMart heavily negotiable?

Looking for second car for wife, I am amazed at what some are asking for 7 / 8 year old cars. Depreciation is only slightly less than buying new. Although of course if you buy new you have higher initial cash outlay, plus must drive for 10 years, but still..

you've hit the nail on the head, one very good reason why 2nd hand cars cost how much they do. the supply is limited, and car dealers know that.

PrOfAtSiR

Let the used car dealer enjoy parking their cars at the car park loh.

A used 1.6 lancer asking price around 7-8k dep a year,I rather take taxi.

Aleksandr

Let the used car dealer enjoy parking their cars at the car park loh.

A used 1.6 lancer asking price around 7-8k dep a year,I rather take taxi.

Really like that? Or out there got a lot of carrot heads happily get chop so dealer happily keep pricing their cars high high.

wacko

For elantra and for kia k3, yes that is the case. The resf of jap cars come out new models such as altis mazda 3 or nissan sylphy so cannot compare

proof please. there is no way a 2012 korean car is going to sell at the same price as a brand new one (or any other car for that matter).

parkingandride

U go sgcarmart filter by elantra. U can see the 2013 car price at 95k. 2012 car price at 85k.

Brand new elantra now abt 95k... u go elantra show room ask...

wacko

U go sgcarmart filter by elantra. U can see the 2013 car price at 95k. 2012 car price at 85k.

Brand new elantra now abt 95k... u go elantra show room ask...

compare list price vs list price. there is no point to compare "verbal" price vs list price. if you go ask the car dealer of the 2013 Elantra, he is not going to quote you 95k.

PrOfAtSiR

Really like that? Or out there got a lot of carrot heads happily get chop so dealer happily keep pricing their cars high high.

you go aml try to walk around lah.

****i...all the sales men stick to you .

many ppl tends to forget the real reason to own a car.

is a need or a must?

Jeffrey.ling

proof please. there is no way a 2012 korean car is going to sell at the same price as a brand new one (or any other car for that matter).

Technically yes. But there are some who dun compare de... got $ also everything on..... so ya, the market is spoilt...

Jack up dun noe how many %... then we bargain, most will give in to you...in physco, thought have got a good price... otherwise how they make a living.. we are all humans lei....

all these issue, whose fault ar.....

wacko

Technically yes. But there are some who dun compare de... got $ also everything on..... so ya, the market is spoilt...

Jack up dun noe how many %... then we bargain, most will give in to you...in physco, thought have got a good price... otherwise how they make a living.. we are all humans lei....

all these issue, whose fault ar.....

then i have 2 things to say, caveat emptor, and a fool and his money are soon parted. if someone doesn't make the right effort when making such a big ticket purchase, the fault lies mostly with himself or herself.

Aleksandr

I looking at A4. Recent promo price from PA is $159,999. There are two similar units (not sure if exactly the same since the promo model is low specs and probably low OMV) on SGCarMart at $145k and $155k for year 2013 registered. Some more its early 2013. Not same price but if you ask me to choose between a 1+ year old and a brand new for small difference of course I will take the brand new one.

Edit. Realize there is a 2012 car asking for $150k. Ridiculous.

azarel

eh... when it comes to buying 2nd hand cars... its not about the listed price... its more of the price level that you are targetting... once u know how much u are willing to spend for say (honda jazz), just go and view and negotiate the price. You will be surprised at the discounts that the dealers are willing to lower from the listed price.

wacko

I looking at A4. Recent promo price from PA is $159,999. There are two similar units (not sure if exactly the same since the promo model is low specs and probably low OMV) on SGCarMart at $145k and $155k for year 2013 registered. Some more its early 2013. Not same price but if you ask me to choose between a 1+ year old and a brand new for small difference of course I will take the brand new one.

again, compare list price vs list price, and model vs model. The 2012 A4 is the Attraction model, which in Audi's list price, is $204k brand new. But no denying the 2012 is being listed at a silly price, when another 2013 model is being listed at $146k.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/pricelist/3/2014-10-24.pdf

Dookyray

the 159k A4 is the most basic striped down version.. No rear a/c, No controls on steering wheel, 16" wheelies etc..

Those 2nd hand selling at 2013 145-155ishk is the higher spec version which cost probably 180-190ish when brand new.

You have to check..

Comparing a BMW 528i GT, brand new nw at 312k..
i saw 1 about 12months old selling for 240k.. 1st owner who sold, lose more than 70k in 1year (normally trade in price is lower than 2nd hand dealer list price).. steep man.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=424009&DL=1317

Another one will be Lexus IS250 F-sport.

Brand new - 260k
Got this fellow selling 200K for a 7months old car.

Straight away lose 60k in 7mths...shiok man.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=435437&DL=1000

The 2013-2014 mid luxury cars are losing a tonne of their value within the 1st 2-3years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.