Buy those Super Sport cars after they 10 years up

sAVaGEmP5

btw, TS, i recommend you what i think IMHO is the better ones to consider renew.

1. R8 - they are quite valued internationally and sought after. expect yourself to lose almost nothing when you export it in 3 years time.

2. GTR - the 08 ones are dirt cheap right now, same reason above, expect to lose very little in holding it.

3. LP670-4 SV - iirc, only 178 built in the whole world, and only a fraction is RHD, singapore has like 20+ but most exported already. expect prices to go up the same way the diablo sv did in another 5 more years.

4. DB9 - timeless design, the 05 version still looks 95% like the current one.

5. Supra - LOL, forget it, that one guy will never sell it.

6. RX7, R33, R34, NSX, if one is in the market, its usually gone in a few days.

7. F430 - only because its getting cheaper soon, looks 70% like 458, still gets the chicks. last priority IMHO. don't even consider the spyder.

8. LP560, LP570 - again, only because it will get cheaper very soon. don't get the e-gear crap first gen. if possible, get superleggera. don't touch the spyder at all. no matter the performance, the looks of this still PWNS the huracan because it looks more like the bigger brother aventador while the huracan looks like the older uglier murcie.

generally speaking, its either the cheap ones, reliable ones, the limited ones, the off-the chart performance ones or the ones that did not change in design after so many years that get more demand overseas and thus are the better buys.

lol, enough dreaming for me, time to wake up..... if you ever hoot one, please GPGT and share the joy and passion.

hey man, everything starts off frm a dream. But the dream of the lambo n ferrari as i've written in the 1st post seems to die off. kind of too exp to own. Like u listed, i was scrolling thru all the 2nd used, flashy type of cars to hunt for bargains and value.

Thx for ur input on the gtr, some friends suggested i shld start off with a normal car drive 1-2 yr then change cos i dun drive often, only drove my relatives cars b4 a few times nia.

To add to the list im looking at:

Nissian fair lady
Toyota MRS
z4

wacko

TS, can I ask how much are you willing to pay a month to support this dream?

kingarmpit

btw, TS, i recommend you what i think IMHO is the better ones to consider renew.

1. R8 - they are quite valued internationally and sought after. expect yourself to lose almost nothing when you export it in 3 years time.

2. GTR - the 08 ones are dirt cheap right now, same reason above, expect to lose very little in holding it.

3. LP670-4 SV - iirc, only 178 built in the whole world, and only a fraction is RHD, singapore has like 20+ but most exported already. expect prices to go up the same way the diablo sv did in another 5 more years.

4. DB9 - timeless design, the 05 version still looks 95% like the current one.

5. Supra - LOL, forget it, that one guy will never sell it.

6. RX7, R33, R34, NSX, if one is in the market, its usually gone in a few days.

7. F430 - only because its getting cheaper soon, looks 70% like 458, still gets the chicks. last priority IMHO. don't even consider the spyder.

8. LP560, LP570 - again, only because it will get cheaper very soon. don't get the e-gear crap first gen. if possible, get superleggera. don't touch the spyder at all. no matter the performance, the looks of this still PWNS the huracan because it looks more like the bigger brother aventador while the huracan looks like the older uglier murcie.

generally speaking, its either the cheap ones, reliable ones, the limited ones, the off-the chart performance ones or the ones that did not change in design after so many years that get more demand overseas and thus are the better buys.

lol, enough dreaming for me, time to wake up..... if you ever hoot one, please GPGT and share the joy and passion.
For 1 & 2 , you mentioned that big loss is unlikely... But truth is that TS will need to pay $x for parf rebate (which can in a 6-digit range) and $y for the body value, when he gets it from the previous owner (and COE $z, left out of discussion coz it's definitely recoverable, for whatever's unused).

Assuming the body value doesn't dip, parf rebate $x is still irrecoverable. This is the amount he would lose, if exported thereafter. Are you saying the body value will rise by $x? Or you saying the car die die must sell in SG, so that the next buyer will face the same barrier in purchasing a >10 yr old exotic, thus the willingness to pay?

May not be prudent to assume that COE is the only depreciating asset when owning a COE-exotic

sAVaGEmP5

TS, can I ask how much are you willing to pay a month to support this dream?

$1k - 1.5k / mth ? Again this is dependant on yrs left hence the value. And im looking for 1 that is cheaper becos i gonna do that 5 or 10 years renew thingy and the consider that as a total cost of ownership for 10 + x (remaining) years.

But to sum up, really that GTR is dirt cheap becos the 08 COE is dirt cheap, but maybe look around first.

wacko

$1k - 1.5k / mth ? Again this is dependant on yrs left hence the value. And im looking for 1 that is cheaper becos i gonna do that 5 or 10 years renew thingy and the consider that as a total cost of ownership for 10 + x (remaining) years.

But to sum up, really that GTR is dirt cheap becos the 08 COE is dirt cheap, but maybe look around first.

is the $1000 to $1500 going to cover any installments? or do you intend to pay for the car entirely up front, and then expect to spend $1000 to $1500 per month as running costs? in either case, your budget is not going to be enough to even cover the basic costs of petrol, insurance, road tax, parking, and ERP.

i have the feeling there is a need to align reality vs expectations.

AL5509

Mind sharing how you get to work out your sum?

is the $1000 to $1500 going to cover any installments? or do you intend to pay for the car entirely up front, and then expect to spend $1000 to $1500 per month as running costs? in either case, your budget is not going to be enough to even cover the basic costs of petrol, insurance, road tax, parking, and ERP.

I do not know $1.5k can do wonder nowadays for a car.
Let's hear TS out which maybe we all can get have a dream soon.

aerosmiths

For 1 & 2 , you mentioned that big loss is unlikely... But truth is that TS will need to pay $x for parf rebate (which can in a 6-digit range) and $y for the body value, when he gets it from the previous owner (and COE $z, left out of discussion coz it's definitely recoverable, for whatever's unused).

Assuming the body value doesn't dip, parf rebate $x is still irrecoverable. This is the amount he would lose, if exported thereafter. Are you saying the body value will rise by $x? Or you saying the car die die must sell in SG, so that the next buyer will face the same barrier in purchasing a >10 yr old exotic, thus the willingness to pay?

May not be prudent to assume that COE is the only depreciating asset when owning a COE-exotic

true.

what i meant was, most probably will not lose a lot by the end of the 10 year if you deregister instead of renew because of the high parf rebate + high export body value. however, if you do renew COE, you will just be depreciating at the COE's value which is very low, this is because the body value of these cars can cover your parf rebate opportunity cost. so we are almost looking at $10k depreciation loss per year only. again, its just my rough estimation of the expected sentiment towards these cars after 10 years.

why for option 7 & 8 dont consider spyder at all?

again, its just my personal opinion. the spyder versions destroyed whatever specific beauty the coupes had. the soft top is beautiful in cars like mx-5, cayman, but looks hideous on cars that rely on deep definitions of sharp lines and edges. thats why in terms of price, the 458 spyder and the 12c spider cost more than their coupes while the 430 and gallardo spyders cost less than their coupe. if you go into specifics, spyders weigh more, less performance, more problems including leaks etc.

sAVaGEmP5

Do u expect me asking $1k - $1.5k a mnth to cover oil / parking / maintenance / insurance / road tax / ERP for a super car, i mean are u doubting my intelligence ? I am taking that as an insult personality.

obviously im talking abt the car loan only right ?

wacko

Do u expect me asking $1k - $1.5k a mnth to cover oil / parking / maintenance / insurance / road tax / ERP for a super car, i mean are u doubting my intelligence ? I am taking that as an insult personality.

obviously im talking abt the car loan only right ?

and chances are the monthly installment is going to be a bigger part than the combined basic costs listed, unless you have a very loose definition of "super car". a $1.5k monthly installment translates to a 5-year car loan for a car that cost approximately $160k (assuming a 50% downpayment, at 2.28% interest rate). at best, that can get you a Porsche Boxter (amongst 5 year old cars, since it's based on 5 year loan), which in common car terminology, is hardly a "super car", especially when you are already quoting Lamborghini in the very first post. not sure why you are being so defensive, you came here asking for advice, gave your numbers, and now you are getting exactly that, advice on your criteria and numbers, which is that they don't quite match up. if a regular sports car suits you fine, then it's still somewhat realistic. ultimately it boils down to how much disposable income are you willing to spend on it, and not just on installments, every financial aspect of owning such a car. so what is this figure?

sAVaGEmP5

and chances are the monthly installment is going to be a bigger part than the combined basic costs listed, unless you have a very loose definition of "super car". a $1.5k monthly installment translates to a 5-year car loan for a car that cost approximately $160k (assuming a 50% downpayment, at 2.28% interest rate). at best, that can get you a Porsche Boxter (amongst 5 year old cars, since it's based on 5 year loan), which in common car terminology, is hardly a "super car", especially when you are already quoting Lamborghini in the very first post. not sure why you are being so defensive, you came here asking for advice, gave your numbers, and now you are getting exactly that, advice on your criteria and numbers, which is that they don't quite match up. if a regular sports car suits you fine, then it's still somewhat realistic. ultimately it boils down to how much disposable income are you willing to spend on it, and not just on installments, every financial aspect of owning such a car. so what is this figure?

Hi wacko yes i think the term super cars is defined differently by each individual. Flashy, speedy, branded, high value, expensive bla bla bla... hence i ask in my first post ma.

i cannot give a definitive $X for the car cos im look for under valued cars which if renewed is consider well worth. A car with nice kids, well polished, do up nicely willing to let go at a fraction of it, or owner has low mileage and perfect condition. Theres a reason y 2nd hand is tricky rite. If its 1st hand then things are purely different, entirely abt the car specs liao.

I mean like comon la, i said 1.5k/mth. How did u interpret that i wanna drive with 1.5k, i tink comon sense says i shld get a normal toyota drive 5 yrs tio bo. If i look at the nissian 350z roadster, some are selling 1.2k/mth. Again pls dun ask me 1.2k/mth got include road tax n insurance. I say it again its the loan.

Another look at it is this is tricky. The 5 year loan thing kicked in recently 2013 somewhere i tink.

So now i ask if a GTR with OMV 80k left 5 years u can repay in 60 months. I put the qns forward.

- if a GTR car selling is 140k, i can pay 70k/60mths which is only $1.2k nia.
- if its left 1 year, which is 12 months and since max loan period is 12 mth. Does it mean 1 month loan 6k pls cos the selling price definitely wont go below OMV tio bo?

So who will a car a 6k per mth ?? Hence i ask here, hope u know my intend.

sAVaGEmP5

true.

what i meant was, most probably will not lose a lot by the end of the 10 year if you deregister instead of renew because of the high parf rebate + high export body value. however, if you do renew COE, you will just be depreciating at the COE's value which is very low, this is because the body value of these cars can cover your parf rebate opportunity cost. so we are almost looking at $10k depreciation loss per year only. again, its just my rough estimation of the expected sentiment towards these cars after 10 years.

Yes... and who knows the COE drops to 30k. 30k for the price of a PARF rebate, still can export out and sell, given the opportunity, why not ?

oh ya and cut me the slack of if drop 30k then rebound 50k then 70k, or if later car loan measures untighten then 2nd hand become exp with time n opportunity costs etc etc.

wacko

Hi wacko yes i think the term super cars is defined differently by each individual. Flashy, speedy, branded, high value, expensive bla bla bla... hence i ask in my first post ma.

i cannot give a definitive $X for the car cos im look for under valued cars which if renewed is consider well worth. A car with nice kids, well polished, do up nicely willing to let go at a fraction of it, or owner has low mileage and perfect condition. Theres a reason y 2nd hand is tricky rite. If its 1st hand then things are purely different, entirely abt the car specs liao.

I mean like comon la, i said 1.5k/mth. How did u interpret that i wanna drive with 1.5k, i tink comon sense says i shld get a normal toyota drive 5 yrs tio bo. If i look at the nissian 350z roadster, some are selling 1.2k/mth. Again pls dun ask me 1.2k/mth got include road tax n insurance. I say it again its the loan.

Another look at it is this is tricky. The 5 year loan thing kicked in recently 2013 somewhere i tink.

So now i ask if a GTR with OMV 80k left 5 years u can repay in 60 months. I put the qns forward.

- if a GTR car selling is 140k, i can pay 70k/60mths which is only $1.2k nia.
- if its left 1 year, which is 12 months and since max loan period is 12 mth. Does it mean 1 month loan 6k pls cos the selling price definitely wont go below OMV tio bo?

So who will a car a 6k per mth ?? Hence i ask here, hope u know my intend.

indeed the term "super car" is somewhat subjective, and typically to the level of "is a Porsche GT3 a super car or not" subjectivity, and not models that you have listed, 350Z, Z4, etc. those are sports cars, period.

when a question of how much is one willing to pay/spend on a hobby/lifestyle, it is common sense that it is a question around the total cost of it. how am i to know that you are the type that will answer how much you will spend on golf balls, when the question of how much does golf cost you is asked? :s22:

and what is this "The 5 year loan thing kicked in recently 2013..." that you speak about?

really

The term "supercars" is so loosely used these days that there is a new term for the real "super" supercars. They are called "Hypercars". Looking at the list, I wouldnt put the GTR in the supercars listing but replace it with the LFA instead. Sports car maybe but definitely not in the same group as supercars.

We consider the following to be some examples of hypercars:

Mercedes CLK GTR AMG
Koenigsegg Agera R
Ferrari FXX Enzo
Bugatti Veyron Super Sport
Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse
Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4
Porsche 918 Spyder (a Hybrid Hypercar)
Pagani Huayra
Lamborghini Reventon

By comparison, we consider the following cars examples of supercars:

Ferrari 458 Italia
Lamborghini Gallardo LP570-4 Superleggera
Mercedes SLS AMG Gullwing
Porsche GT2
Nissan GTR Black Edition
Audi R8 GT
Aston Martin V12 Vantage Coupe
Ferrari 599 GTB

Supercars vs Hypercars - What are Hypercars? | Learn the definition a Hypercar and Supercar

sAVaGEmP5

indeed the term "super car" is somewhat subjective, and typically to the level of "is a Porsche GT3 a super car or not" subjectivity, and not models that you have listed, 350Z, Z4, etc. those are sports cars, period.

when a question of how much is one willing to pay/spend on a hobby/lifestyle, it is common sense that it is a question around the total cost of it. how am i to know that you are the type that will answer how much you will spend on golf balls, when the question of how much does golf cost you is asked? :s22:

and what is this "The 5 year loan thing kicked in recently 2013..." that you speak about?

i dont run company, why shld i define my budget which in turn define and restrict what i drive ? I got many ways to circumvent this, and i like to work things from top down. It is like asking me if 1x apple stock share is now cheap or expensive, value to buy or not worth. Like I said im not buying a 1st hand car so i can't give you an anwer, in fact i dont have to.

Maybe the super car term may be wrong, i dun f* care if it is what u are concerned with. Thanks to everyone for your inputs, i have the info I need.

wacko

i dont run company, why shld i define my budget which in turn define and restrict what i drive ? I got many ways to circumvent this, and i like to work things from top down. It is like asking me if 1x apple stock share is now cheap or expensive, value to buy or not worth. Like I said im not buying a 1st hand car so i can't give you an anwer, in fact i dont have to.

Maybe the super car term may be wrong, i dun f* care if it is what u are concerned with. Thanks to everyone for your inputs, i have the info I need.

you are very curious... let's just relook at your 1st post (quoted below). you want to know if it's possible, and there are only 2 factors to that equation, availability of such a car, and your availability of $$$. since the first is clearly not the limiting factor, naturally it boils down to what you can afford. you've revealed that you have never owned a car before, and have only driven a few times, hence i wondered out loud if you really knew the total cost of owning a high performance car. if you are confident that you have your maths worked out, cool, go ahead and realise your dream, you don't have have to ask here for advice if "it is possible". surely you don't want to end up in a situation whereby you've forked out a ton of money, and 1 year down the road, realise that it cost too much to keep running the car, and have to sell it off at a significant loss.

Issit possible to buy and own those Super Sport cars, (minimum ferrari or lambo only) after they expire at 10 years ? Then all i have to do is to buy 1 COE and buy from whoever dealer able to sell maybe at 100 - 200k.

Of course best case is some rich owner dun use it that often (but i doubt so). Partly given the good quality of the car such a waste to see it become scrap metal (if car dealers dont export it out) and isn't good to own these super cars for perhaps another 5 yrs ?

I search around the lambo left 2-3 years still 300k plus haiz..

Dragon

Administrator
The term "supercars" is so loosely used these days that there is a new term for the real "super" supercars. They are called "Hypercars". Looking at the list, I wouldnt put the GTR in the supercars listing but replace it with the LFA instead. Sports car maybe but definitely not in the same group as supercars.

We consider the following to be some examples of hypercars:

Mercedes CLK GTR AMG
Koenigsegg Agera R
Ferrari FXX Enzo
Bugatti Veyron Super Sport
Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse
Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4
Porsche 918 Spyder (a Hybrid Hypercar)
Pagani Huayra
Lamborghini Reventon

By comparison, we consider the following cars examples of supercars:

Ferrari 458 Italia
Lamborghini Gallardo LP570-4 Superleggera
Mercedes SLS AMG Gullwing
Porsche GT2
Nissan GTR Black Edition
Audi R8 GT
Aston Martin V12 Vantage Coupe
Ferrari 599 GTB

Supercars vs Hypercars - What are Hypercars? | Learn the definition a Hypercar and Supercar

Sportscars, supercars, hypercars, ubercars, nowadays so many names for cars. I just call mine laopokcar, more special. :s13:

Some folks (not directed at you) love to nitpick and attack others for the sake of nothing. Seems that they just love rubbing their egos or satisfy their inferiority complexes by making others look bad.

wacko

Sportscars, supercars, hypercars, ubercars, nowadays so many names for cars. I just call mine laopokcar, more special. :s13:

Some folks (not directed at you) love to nitpick and attack others for the sake of nothing. Seems that they just love rubbing their egos or satisfy their inferiority complexes by making others look bad.

i'm guessing there isn't a code of conduct that a moderator ought to follow. when did personal attacks (on whoever you were directing at) become acceptable? :eek:

sAVaGEmP5

If u are observant enuff, u realized i change to other type of cars down since my 1st post, from super cars to sports cars (if u happy can already) like GTRs. Good info on the export value though i thank those who gave inputs for that.

But, I want to buy dun wan to buy my biz. I can ask for song. I can ask for info. I can ask for something 3-5 yrs down the road. I can rent out my unit to have money, i song. Do i
have to own something i ask ? If i want to know how much to own a car, i dun have to ask here, i just ask ppl around me who own cars. I mean nobody around me own a super car tats y ask here.

So if i ask how much the UOB building PSF is, does it mean i am thinking of buying it ? Will you, wacko, still quote my 1st post again ? Knn bua tahan your eq.

Dragon

Administrator
If u are observant enuff, u realized i change to other type of cars down since my 1st post, from super cars to sports cars (if u happy can already) like GTRs. Good info on the export value though i thank those who gave inputs for that.

But, I want to buy dun wan to buy my biz. I can ask for song. I can ask for info. I can ask for something 3-5 yrs down the road. I can rent out my unit to have money, i song. Do i
have to own something i ask ? If i want to know how much to own a car, i dun have to ask here, i just ask ppl around me who own cars. I mean nobody around me own a super car tats y ask here.

So if i ask how much the UOB building PSF is, does it mean i am thinking of buying it ? Will you, wacko, still quote my 1st post again ? Knn bua tahan your eq.

The internet attracts people of all sorts. Just ignore the undesirable ones as it is a waste of time and brain matter to respond to them.

Relax and chill. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.