is it really Re-sales flats not safe?

supergal

Hi, i maybe intending to look for 3/4rm resales flats in the market, but heard alot of bad experience from others.

What if after i bought the house but all those moneylendXX came to my flat to throw "things".. instead should be the previous owner.. what should i do? flat agent wouldnt help you right?

Some-one

Hi, i maybe intending to look for 3/4rm resales flats in the market, but heard alot of bad experience from others.

What if after i bought the house but all those moneylendXX came to my flat to throw "things".. instead should be the previous owner.. what should i do? flat agent wouldnt help you right?
I have stayed in 2 resale flats and both are ok :) . The main thing is to be careful when choosing a resale unit. Avoid those with O$P$ signs. Ask why seller want to sell.

You are right. Property agent won't care. In fact, they can't be bothered and that is why I hate them. They know even little than you and are only interested in commission. what you can do is to check on the flat during weekdays and weekend. Stay overnight if possible and check during morning, lunch and dinner. Also, check with neighbours.

Are you a guy or gal? If guy, lesser worries.

c1528351

I have stay 3 different places in singapore and all are resales flat...first being in serangoon follow by tampines and now presently in hougang. ..I would say it all depends on yourself when u viewing the flats and be more alert around

supergal

I have stayed in 2 resale flats and both are ok :) . The main thing is to be careful when choosing a resale unit. Avoid those with O$P$ signs. Ask why seller want to sell.

You are right. Property agent won't care. In fact, they can't be bothered and that is why I hate them. They know even little than you and are only interested in commission. what you can do is to check on the flat during weekdays and weekend. Stay overnight if possible and check during morning, lunch and dinner. Also, check with neighbours.

Are you a guy or gal? If guy, lesser worries.

thanks for the info you shared. that help me alot if i really going to get it ...

see my id you know lor .. hahaha

derrickgoh

No seller will be stupid enough to leave O$P$ vandalism around for buyers to see. Check 1 or 2 floors above and below the floor you want to buy. Sometimes the loan shark will spray all over.

For the same floor, look along the entire common corridor especially the walls. If you notice the paint all very old and suddenly outside the unit you are looking at the paint very new, something is not right. HDB will not come and paint outside ONE flat. Which means seller probably did the painting. Why? To cover up O$P$ vandalism? Also, any paint smears on the gate, window, floor outside the flat?

Shion

Senior Mentor
1) Ask seller why he wants to sell (if lets say he looks urgent, might hint something)
2) Look out for new coating of paint
3) Ask around the neighbours

derrickgoh

1) Ask seller why he wants to sell (if lets say he looks urgent, might hint something)
2) Look out for new coating of paint
3) Ask around the neighbours
No. 1 he can always bull sh*t.

Check HDB website to get an idea of the prices for units in the area. If others are selling between $400K to $450K for e.g. and this clown is selling for $300K to $350K, something is not right. No one in his right mind will want to undercut himself UNLESS something is not right.

It may not be ah long. Could be neighbours who are insane. I used to have this neighbour upstairs who can drag furniture and drop heavy objects at 1 am in the morning! My next door neighbour lagi worst. His upstairs neighbour who would throw half eaten fruits and even sanitary napkins out the window.

Its not always ah long. Even ****** up neighbours are undesirable and could be a reason NOT to move in.

Some-one

Also, look at all the doors along the corridor. I once visited a resale flat for which its neighbour has made a police report and stick it on the top right hand corner of its main door.

Shion

Senior Mentor
So therefore, buyers can only look out for potential new coating of paints together with old coating of paints ?

derrickgoh

So therefore, buyers can only look out for potential new coating of paints together with old coating of paints ?
There in no database of people who owe loan shark money and no seller will admit he's on the run. So no other choice but to pick up on tell tale signs.

supergal

so buying resales flat got to look out for so many things, what a troublesome.

derrickgoh

Well you can get BTO flat but its the luck of the draw which floor you get and where its located. Sekali kena second floor flat next to the garbage bin.

Both got pros and cons. If you feel resale too troublesome then flip a coin with BTO.

Some-one

That's true but you got to be able to choose a unit that you want (e.g. near workplace, near MRT). For BTO, you do not have such a choice and if you are single, you cannot even get a 3 room flat when you are above 35.

derrickgoh

Just do your due diligence. If too lazy to check then too bad if you kena ah long unit.

Some-one

by the way. Just want to add that even if you buy new BTO flat, you cannot guarantee that your neighbour is good. In fact, you do not even know. At least you can choose your neighbour for resale flats...:)

supergal

now i got to search high and low for resale flats .. lol

thanks guys for all the info for me.

SpeedWeed

Speaking as a property agent

Buying a resale flat is always a challenging

Once you confirm u like a unit, go talk to the neighbors upstairs and downstairs.

kitsura

by the way. Just want to add that even if you buy new BTO flat, you cannot guarantee that your neighbour is good. In fact, you do not even know. At least you can choose your neighbour for resale flats...:)
Neighbour unlike address might not be static. After suddenly your next door neighbour move out or rent out then suddenly got huge influx of ATB or Pinoy tenants.

derrickgoh

Speaking as a property agent

Buying a resale flat is always a challenging

Once you confirm u like a unit, go talk to the neighbors upstairs and downstairs.
To each his own. I wouldn't bother talking to the neighbour upstairs because if the guy is a jerk, he is not going to admit he's a jerk obviously. Only after you move in then you realise he drags furniture at 1 am and throws litter out of his window that land on your laundry. So what's the point of talking to him?

The neighbour downstairs is at my mercy basically. HE has to worry about ME being a jerk and about me throwing litter out the window or dragging furniture at 1 am. What he does has no effect on me so what's the point of talking to him?

I would think the immediate neighbours i.e. on the left and right are more important. You may not get the info you want but you might want to hint hint and see if there is any loanshark activities, how is the wind (some flats can be bloody hot!), how is the noise (can be terok if got 24 hour coffee shop downstairs), etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.