most valued prepaid card

agent007bond

If I buy new $38 SIM today does the 1GB data start from today upon purchase? Or can I wait to put the new SIM card in phone for first time a few days later and have it start from the day I put the SIM card in?

Timbre70

If I buy new $38 SIM today does the 1GB data start from today upon purchase? Or can I wait to put the new SIM card in phone for first time a few days later and have it start from the day I put the SIM card in?

It starts only when you activate your SIM card. But, please ensure you activate your SIM card before its expiry date stated on the packaging.

I have one which is expiring Nov 2015 and it's still not open from the packaging yet. :s13:

crystalnox

It starts only when you activate your SIM card. But, please ensure you activate your SIM card before its expiry date stated on the packaging.

I have one which is expiring Nov 2015 and it's still not open from the packaging yet. :s13:
Why do you buy a SIM card now when you have no intention of using it yet?

Timbre70

Why do you buy a SIM card now when you have no intention of using it yet?

Hahaha, good question. I went to change my old SIM to new nano SIM. At the same time, kaypoh about new numbers. Saw one I liked, then buy lor. Anyway, as long as I remember to "open light" before expiry date, it's not something that will perish. Just use it when it comes and treat it as free card.

Sometimes, you need another number when need to sell things online too.

agent007bond

I don't understand... They are not selling as packages but as numbers on display (tiny paper strips) in the SingTel shop. The cashier said it is activated immediately on purchase and you can't wait to activate because all the numbers on display expire in 3 days!

Where do you get these packages with longer activation expiry?

Timbre70

I don't understand... They are not selling as packages but as numbers on display (tiny paper strips) in the SingTel shop. The cashier said it is activated immediately on purchase and you can't wait to activate because all the numbers on display expire in 3 days!

Where do you get these packages with longer activation expiry?

Always buy from the real SingTel shops like the ones in Jurong Point, Comscenter (main). Goggle SingTel site for full details. No hassle, no mark up for special "nice" numbers, no Q (minimal if peak) = just go to cashier straight.

Ask courteously if they have nano SIM and for number selection. I believe they have plenty on stock, but they will probably just give you a few choices, but better than none or pay high mark up prices at resellers.

Those you patronise are probably SingTel Authorised Resellers/Retailers.

You will probably get free gifts like umbrella or whatsnot if you buy from real SingTel shops.

agent007bond

Always buy from the real SingTel shops like the ones in Jurong Point, Comscenter (main). Goggle SingTel site for full details. No hassle, no mark up for special "nice" numbers, no Q (minimal if peak) = just go to cashier straight.

Ask courteously if they have nano SIM and for number selection. I believe they have plenty on stock, but they will probably just give you a few choices, but better than none or pay high mark up prices at resellers.

Those you patronise are probably SingTel Authorised Resellers/Retailers.

You will probably get free gifts like umbrella or whatsnot if you buy from real SingTel shops.

Perhaps I needed to be clearer, but I mentioned SingTel shop, not an "authorized reseller/retailer" crap. This is the cashier at the REAL SingTel shop that told me: it is activated immediately on purchase and you can't wait to activate because all the numbers on display expire in 3 days!

They are not selling as "packages" but as numbers on display (tiny paper strips) in the [real] SingTel shop [NOT authorized reseller]. Where do you get these packages with longer activation expiry?

stillgottheblues

The card will only be activated when you put the SIM into the phone. Normal inactive SIM cancellation applies.

agent007bond

It looks like ST is trying to sell out prepaid numbers that are expiring soon, by displaying them on the number board. All $38 microSIM, and there are so many of them (about 20). You can't get them in nanoSIM, and when I asked for nanoSIM numbers (not displayed) there were only 3 available. So few.

All the $38 nanoSIM numbers start with 8300. Activation expiry is about 1 year. It is only activated when you put the SIM card in the phone for the first time.

Free gift is travel adaptor. BTW SPass, EP, DP, etc won't be accepted. You need to have your passport if you don't have an NRIC.

Timbre70

Perhaps I needed to be clearer, but I mentioned SingTel shop, not an "authorized reseller/retailer" crap. This is the cashier at the REAL SingTel shop that told me: it is activated immediately on purchase and you can't wait to activate because all the numbers on display expire in 3 days!

They are not selling as "packages" but as numbers on display (tiny paper strips) in the [real] SingTel shop [NOT authorized reseller]. Where do you get these packages with longer activation expiry?

I bought from SingTel Jurong Point. I specifically go for 4G nano SIM, so these aren't posted on the wall. There were some numbers posted on the wall for 2G/3G mirco and mini SIMs. But, I doubt there's any difference UNLESS these are unsold numbers which are going to expire soon or some speciall promo with extra bonus credits on limited period. So, the staff will insist to activate for you on the spot (to play safe before customers start complaining this and that). Just guessing.

I have bought prepaid SIM from SingTel many years back as standby and I kept it until almost till expiry then I open to use it. No problem.

Timbre70

It looks like ST is trying to sell out prepaid numbers that are expiring soon, by displaying them on the number board. All $38 microSIM, and there are so many of them (about 20). You can't get them in nanoSIM, and when I asked for nanoSIM numbers (not displayed) there were only 3 available. So few.

All the $38 nanoSIM numbers start with 8300. Activation expiry is about 1 year. It is only activated when you put the SIM card in the phone for the first time.

Free gift is travel adaptor. BTW SPass, EP, DP, etc won't be accepted. You need to have your passport if you don't have an NRIC.

The 4G nano SIMs are selling like hot cakes for local consumers. Not easy to get hold as it is a good deal and most people want to future-proof their purchase. You may not even get it in SingTel authorised retailers as often they are OOS. Ah Beng shops are selling at marked up prices even for non-interesting numbers.

Better get the new 4G nano with new series numbers as you will be less bogged down with old baggage from old recycled numbers.

agent007bond

I bought from SingTel Jurong Point. I specifically go for 4G nano SIM, so these aren't posted on the wall. There were some numbers posted on the wall for 2G/3G mirco and mini SIMs. But, I doubt there's any difference UNLESS these are unsold numbers which are going to expire soon or some speciall promo with extra bonus credits on limited period. So, the staff will insist to activate for you on the spot (to play safe before customers start complaining this and that). Just guessing.

I have bought prepaid SIM from SingTel many years back as standby and I kept it until almost till expiry then I open to use it. No problem.

Yeah I think the numbers put up on board are going to expire soon so they will force you to activate. If you get a number not put up on board (like the nano u asked for) they won't force activate and you can activate when you like before expiry.

agent007bond

I have a few doubts...

1) Let's say I buy $38 SIM card. There is a 1GB bundled data. Then I buy Value 1GB (7 days, $7). Which 1GB gets used first when I browse the internet?

2) Can I keep extending the 1GB bundled data expiry by topping up $10 weekly?

3) Is there a way to block data automatically when bundled data/value data/etc has become 0 bytes left? I don't want it to start cutting from main balance because data per kb is very ex and it will run out very fast before I realize.

4) Is Caller ID included free in prepaid line?

crystalnox

I have a few doubts...

1) Let's say I buy $38 SIM card. There is a 1GB bundled data. Then I buy Value 1GB (7 days, $7). Which 1GB gets used first when I browse the internet?

2) Can I keep extending the 1GB bundled data expiry by topping up $10 weekly?

3) Is there a way to block data automatically when bundled data/value data/etc has become 0 bytes left? I don't want it to start cutting from main balance because data per kb is very ex and it will run out very fast before I realize.

4) Is Caller ID included free in prepaid line?
1) The initial bundled one, but don't buy data plan yet during this period to be safe.
2) Yes
3) No, so keep your balance up. Can stack up to 3GB.
4) Yes

Habrosus

3) No, so keep your balance up. Can stack up to 3GB.

I thought we can use apps like 3G Watchdog to monitor the data usage, and one of the options is that we're able to set it to "Auto Disable Mobile Data" when it hits our preset percentage.

Or am I missing something here? :s11:

agent007bond

I thought we can use apps like 3G Watchdog to monitor the data usage, and one of the options is that we're able to set it to "Auto Disable Mobile Data" when it hits our preset percentage.

Or am I missing something here? :s11:

What I meant was to have ST block the data if the bundle runs out, instead of cutting from main balance. Sure you can use apps to monitor the usage and alert you but you need to be sure to reset the counter and have it work properly accounting for the differences between in-device metering and carrier metering.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.