[Mobo] BEWARE!! of the latest Gigabyte motherboard

nannan82

You mean gigabyte remove component cut cost... to them it more efficient?

like that why dont they remove all so more efficient right? :s22:
yup.... F1 car should remove all relevent weight cutting part to make it run faster..... right???

u dont even know wat caps gigabyte using for the new rev.... nvm i rest my case.....

nannan82

From my personal experience,

MSI motherboard's stability and durability is the worst ...
ASUS board depends on your luck, and the after sales service sucks
gigabyte board ... fewer problems and best durability

if you dont believe you take a look at hwz marketplace, see for yourself how many people are still using , and selling gigabyte LGA775 computer/mobo at this point of time => they are still using it.
i damn agree wit u...
msi alway fail me.. but lucky their service center is quite good and nearby...

asus? serviced once and u most likely wont go back to them....

always sold b4 it actually die on me.... haha

royfrosty

So many clone accounts spotted.

And the one that compare socket resistors and caps is the most retard one.

You all see lesser components in socket equate to worse board. Worse this blahblahblah.

When one does not know how it runs, it looks like a c0rk to judge that fewer components means lousy.

In a pcb layout diagram. If they redesign a pcb. A caps/resistors could be placed somewhere else on the board. Need not be in within the socket. So socket inside missing components equals to bad or less efficient.

For all you know, b85 wasnt meant to be an oc board. So why bother on what the hell vrms stability, power phase yada yada. Who gives a shyt when any brand abc cut cost and still falls within intel specs and works well on a locked processor which cant do much. Its not like one will buy a unlock cpu and do a heavy oc out of it.

muddle

Hahaha so someone prefers a design with 30 by 30microfarad caps. When the more updated design would utilize 10 by 100microfarad caps.

You don't understand the pcb design. You don't even know the schematics of the board. You don't even know the capacitance value. And you know which design is better without all those information?

This is getting ridiculous. Should stop TS from misleading other users.

muddle

Board_Front-600W.jpg

GB%20Z97X-SOCF%20Top.png

02-board.jpg

ASRock-Z97-Extreme-61.jpg

So ts, by your logic all the msi xpower, gb soc and asus deluxe owners were scammed since asrock has the most capacitors at the socket area.

pcs232

Hahaha so someone prefers a design with 30 by 30microfarad caps. When the more updated design would utilize 10 by 100microfarad caps.

You don't understand the pcb design. You don't even know the schematics of the board. You don't even know the capacitance value. And you know which design is better without all those information?

This is getting ridiculous. Should stop TS from misleading other users.

So muddle you telling us Gigabyte used better component? Therefore they used lesser component and latest technology while other brands such as Asus, Msi and AsRock used old technology then they need more component?

This explain why gigabyte using good component?

But then Gigabyte began receiving similar complaints from numerous customers owning several different Gigabyte motherboards, some of which claimed that moderate voltage-assisted CPU overclocking produced the same explosive results. The company thus began an investigation which revealed to be a problem with three socket LGA2011 motherboards: the GA-X79-UD3, the GA-X79-UD5 and the G1.Assassin 2.

Gigabyte Issues New BIOS for Motherboard Smoking Issue

Gigabyte Recalling X79 UD3, UD5, G1.Assassin 2 Motherboards
Gigabyte Recalling X79 UD3, UD5, G1.Assassin 2 Motherboards | techPowerUp

Gigabyte's X79 motherboards could catch fire if you OC them Buyer beware!
https://esports.geforce.com/forums/...d-catch-fire-if-you-oc-them-buyer-beware-33-/

Gigabyte Issues BIOS Update for X79 Motherboards Prone to Overheating when Overclocked
Gigabyte Issues BIOS Update for X79 Motherboards Prone to Overheating when Overclocked - HardwareZone.com.sg

GIGABYTE ADDRESSES SMOKING X79 MOTHERBOARDS
Gigabyte addresses smoking X79 motherboards

The problem is a combination of bad quality PWM components and a bad firmware and affects only the mentioned X79 motherboards while all other Gigabyte X79 models are free of the problem. Since then Gigabyte has released a quick fix in the form of a new BIOS that prevents burn outs by throttling the CPU when subjected to stress but this kills overclocking which is the main selling point of these expensive high-end motherboards.

nannan82

so @pcs232: gigabyte recall x79 mobo cas got problem... and they release rev 2 board.....

but u die die wan rev 1 board which got the burning issues...... HOW SIA?!

muddle's point to u was u cant base a board durablity or watsoever wit the amount of caps, resistor used by a manufacturer.....

we r not a board layout designer.... we no mobo engineer whichever u call it.... who r u to say they r cost cutting? alemak......

ynnad179

did i saw prata flipping?? wat the previous post?? y edit????

and y u so narrow minded sia..... and stop quoting example like how ts quote.... wait... r u a clone too?!?!

dude, you still shouldn't say that. racism has no place here. this is no different from all the 'peace and harmony' rubbish.

on topic, solder this instead. 50V, 6000uF. satisfaction guaranteed. :s13:

131930-2.JPG

until someone with proper mobo/IC design experience comes in, you should return the board only if it is unstable or slows down your components (run benchmarks)

muddle

So muddle you telling us Gigabyte used better component? Therefore they used lesser component and latest technology while other brands such as Asus, Msi and AsRock used old technology then they need more component?

This explain why gigabyte using good component?

But then Gigabyte began receiving similar complaints from numerous customers owning several different Gigabyte motherboards, some of which claimed that moderate voltage-assisted CPU overclocking produced the same explosive results. The company thus began an investigation which revealed to be a problem with three socket LGA2011 motherboards: the GA-X79-UD3, the GA-X79-UD5 and the G1.Assassin 2.

Gigabyte Recalling X79 UD3, UD5, G1.Assassin 2 Motherboards
Gigabyte Recalling X79 UD3, UD5, G1.Assassin 2 Motherboards | techPowerUp

Gigabyte's X79 motherboards could catch fire if you OC them Buyer beware!
https://esports.geforce.com/forums/...d-catch-fire-if-you-oc-them-buyer-beware-33-/

Gigabyte Issues BIOS Update for X79 Motherboards Prone to Overheating when Overclocked
Gigabyte Issues BIOS Update for X79 Motherboards Prone to Overheating when Overclocked - HardwareZone.com.sg

GIGABYTE ADDRESSES SMOKING X79 MOTHERBOARDS
Gigabyte addresses smoking X79 motherboards

The problem is a combination of bad quality PWM components and a bad firmware and affects only the mentioned X79 motherboards while all other Gigabyte X79 models are free of the problem. Since then Gigabyte has released a quick fix in the form of a new BIOS that prevents burn outs by throttling the CPU when subjected to stress but this kills overclocking which is the main selling point of these expensive high-end motherboards.

Not saying they have the best components. Any brand can have problems. I'm sure gigabyte and the other manufacturers will rectify any issues. Now in this case there is no issue with ts mobo, no?

enenyi

After so many pages of flaming, fighting, I still don't get TS and his side of the argument. How does a revision change to a B85 motherboard (any brand, not just Gigabyte for the matter), result in 'worse performance' and hence the conclusion that Gigabyte is out to scam people just because no one told TS he is buying rev2, not rev1? Its like you go and buy Windows 8 OS, end up you buy Windows 8.1 OS, do you sue Microsoft for selling an updated version and sue the salesman for 'not informing you'?

And wads with the comparison to onboard capacitors? By now you shld know that B85 boards are lowest of the range. B85 < H87 < Z87. And many people have repeated over and over again, B85 boards are not designed for overclocking. If you insist on good capacitors for overclocking on B85, your problem, not Intel/Gigabyte/Bizgram problem. Do you expect to pay $20 for a cheap set of speakers and get superb high-quality sound? Do you expect to play Crysis 3 at 4k resolution at 120fps using cheap sub-$100 graphic cards?

If the above don't convince you of why so many HWC forumers are posting comments against your thread, then I believe that your thread is a nuisance thread aimed at damaging the reputation of Gigabyte and/or Bizgram.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
I jus hope cdl or bizgram counter the hell back at u..... does it really worth yr time over tis rev??? Omg....

ts.. may I know u chinese indian or malay?

Do NOT bring race inside your argument. Period.

shadow84

After so many pages of flaming, fighting, I still don't get TS and his side of the argument. How does a revision change to a B85 motherboard (any brand, not just Gigabyte for the matter), result in 'worse performance' and hence the conclusion that Gigabyte is out to scam people just because no one told TS he is buying rev2, not rev1? Its like you go and buy Windows 8 OS, end up you buy Windows 8.1 OS, do you sue Microsoft for selling an updated version and sue the salesman for 'not informing you'?

And wads with the comparison to onboard capacitors? By now you shld know that B85 boards are lowest of the range. B85 < H87 < Z87. And many people have repeated over and over again, B85 boards are not designed for overclocking. If you insist on good capacitors for overclocking on B85, your problem, not Intel/Gigabyte/Bizgram problem. Do you expect to pay $20 for a cheap set of speakers and get superb high-quality sound? Do you expect to play Crysis 3 at 4k resolution at 120fps using cheap sub-$100 graphic cards?

If the above don't convince you of why so many HWC forumers are posting comments against your thread, then I believe that your thread is a nuisance thread aimed at damaging the reputation of Gigabyte and/or Bizgram.

He has that mentality whereby he gets what was advertised, be it good or bad & that customer is always right/is the king & with his so-called ATAS case letter, he believe that is his trump card to cdl/bizgram.

whereisyh

The issue seems simple enough. TS purchased a board from Giga which functions as advertised, revision or not. Any unrealistic expectations on TS' part is irrelevant since the board functions as advertised. Simple. The length of this thread merely demonstrates TS' stubbornness (at best) or, more likely, lack of logic. If the latter, there's really no need to continue the discussion further. Food for thought - 'never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience' Twain

MPotato

Gigabyte has a complete information on all its mobo with a Bar code sticker on the box

is it so difficult to read the sticker ?? no ??

Hello, the pt is nt abt which board has more cap. Tis problem happen when info is nt passed down properly by manufacturer. They hv NT done their duty 2 inform customer of changes. If so efficient, y no highlight.

Also, it ABT integrity of gigabyte 2 do tis, nt abt money or the component use. If they can mislead tis, what else r they hiding as well.

Also, hw come if rev 2, onli write at the smallest area wit sticker , y NT print on colour box, change model 2 rev 2.0. Y hide at small sticker at 1 corner. To b frank, they shuld admit their mistake and move on. But no!

Clone from where ever who ever be it cdl or gigabyte think that they r right & no improvement 2 prevent tis. Hw 2 have gd customer satisfaction, then no pt developing product if u no put think frm customer pt of view.

User like us, nt many are like hwz shadow84, Roy, nanana82 and whoever commented. Hw can u just tink I m the 1 that shuld bear all the responsibility while manufacturer no wrong.

Seriously if gigabyte or cdl is reading tis, really disappointed wit your action and response.

NoLogicLah

Today went to bought a new pen. I just realised the spring inside have only 10 coils instead of 14 coils !! And now i realise the pen is rev2. I think the spring is gonna affect me when i try to push it dang! Need go small claims liao n demand letter of explanation from the pen company

shadow84

Hello, the pt is nt abt which board has more cap. Tis problem happen when info is nt passed down properly by manufacturer. They hv NT done their duty 2 inform customer of changes. If so efficient, y no highlight.

Also, it ABT integrity of gigabyte 2 do tis, nt abt money or the component use. If they can mislead tis, what else r they hiding as well.

Also, hw come if rev 2, onli write at the smallest area wit sticker , y NT print on colour box, change model 2 rev 2.0. Y hide at small sticker at 1 corner. To b frank, they shuld admit their mistake and move on. But no!

Clone from where ever who ever be it cdl or gigabyte think that they r right & no improvement 2 prevent tis. Hw 2 have gd customer satisfaction, then no pt developing product if u no put think frm customer pt of view.

User like us, nt many are like hwz shadow84, Roy, nanana82 and whoever commented. Hw can u just tink I m the 1 that shuld bear all the responsibility while manufacturer no wrong.

Seriously if gigabyte or cdl is reading tis, really disappointed wit your action and response.

Your words really dun have any substance as a customer... You are better off getting OEM desktops from brands, since u wun open up the chassis.

I suggest u sell off the mobo and move on. No point going after a big company with a pathetic CASE letter.

MPotato

The issue seems simple enough. TS purchased a board from Giga which functions as advertised, revision or not. Any unrealistic expectations on TS' part is irrelevant since the board functions as advertised. Simple. The length of this thread merely demonstrates TS' stubbornness (at best) or, more likely, lack of logic. If the latter, there's really no need to continue the discussion further. Food for thought - 'never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience' Twain

hello, it is NT whether it is functioning, I m saying it is misleading in its claim like what CASE mention n agree. So wT if it is function, I did nt buy this board as it is diff frm what it advertise.

Ppl here are like u, stubborn n unable to accept with fact.

I buy base on PIC A, come out is PIC B. So what if B functioning like A. I buy base on info frm A, but B is the 1 I gt. It's misleading.

It is all ABT honesty and integrity. If wrong, just admit n improve, NT here trying to cover here n there

MPotato

Today went to bought a new pen. I just realised the spring inside have only 10 coils instead of 14 coils !! And now i realise the pen is rev2. I think the spring is gonna affect me when i try to push it dang! Need go small claims liao n demand letter of explanation from the pen company

If today, the pen coy advertise they use 14 coil, but in the end user found out it is diff rev becos onli 10 coil. The coy is at fault for misleading. Hw can coy claim things that they do not fulfilled or inform customer abt the change.

Tis might NT cause the customer anything, pen can write, throw on floor still can write.

But it is dishonest for coy to claim things they did not, n no do their part to highlight properly.

muddle

If today, the pen coy advertise they use 14 coil, but in the end user found out it is diff rev becos onli 10 coil. The coy is at fault for misleading. Hw can coy claim things that they do not fulfilled or inform customer abt the change.

Tis might NT cause the customer anything, pen can write, throw on floor still can write.

But it is dishonest for coy to claim things they did not, n no do their part to highlight properly.

It is not misleading if there is a label informing the customer that it has 10 coils.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.