When Trading Meets DividendWarrior

Shiny Things

I heard shiny things made 5.6% on his portfolio.how big is his portfolio?100k?200k?1kk?

Since I wrote my year-end piece two weeks ago that number's gone from five-and-three-quarter percent to nine-and-three-quarter percent. It's been a good couple of weeks (mostly thanks to the bounceback in SPY and VEA from their mid-December puke).

And this is like the second or third time you've asked how big my portfolio is. Stop asking.

sAVaGEmP5

I was thinking of a method that can actually kill 2 birds in 1 stone.

Say you spot a stock that is commodity dependant but it's cheap at the same time. What you can do is buy when it goes low and sell when it goes high.

The thing is, if the stock happens to go lower, at least you can keep it for long term since it's low anyway. If it goes high and meet your tp price at that time then sell.

i think you need a low cost broker to do this.

Of course the disadvantage to this is, if the stock goes even higher, you will not be too happy.

But then, near term, I am pretty sure this commodity will not really shoot up so instead of waiting for it to shoot up, maybe i can earn some money at the mean time.

Will leave it to you guys to guess which commodity this is.

this method best so far :s13::s13::s13:

Let me guess. Orange Juice ? Cos everytime jiak buffet got orange juice. Then correlate with a company that does buffet service, sure huat.

Knight_Rider

Give u 100 mill u do another 1 trade and return me 105.6 mill can ? ur 1 trade round trip below 1 min can bo ?

If you are willing to give someone on the net you never met before 100 million then I am more then happy to take.

alexchia01

Alex does it with one trade. Shiny does it in 1 year and has a fan club? Unbelievable.

lol... You mistaken lah.

Yes, I do have great trades, but not all my trades are profitable.

Overall, my annual return from trading is around 2.5 times.

My investment portfolio return is between 7%-12%, inclusive of dividend.

Shiny has a fun club is because he's knowledgable and willing to share.

I'm not as knowledgable as him, so don't dare to share.

alexchia01

Give u 100 mill u do another 1 trade and return me 105.6 mill can ? ur 1 trade round trip below 1 min can bo ?

The reason why I can generate such return is because I'm willing to risk.

If the next trade, your 100m falls to 70m, can you sleep at night? Are you going to blame me and ask me to return the 30m?

If you cannot stomach this kind of losses, you give me 1 billion I also don't want.

BTW, I take 20% of your profit, is this ok?

Sai777

$100m to $105.6m? no need lah, pass $10k to Alex can liao, the percentage is still 5.6%

As mentioned, got stomach to take 30% lost or not. If dun have, dun play the trading game, go for Shiny's advice.

wahkao3

lol... You mistaken lah.

2.5 times means 250% annualized!!!!! JIN SATKI!!!! :eek:

CookieMonsta88

lol... You mistaken lah.

just a question though, im curious if u pyramid ur winners to get the returns.

alexchia01

just a question though, im curious if u pyramid ur winners to get the returns.

I think you meant do I use martingale or anti-martingale?

I use anti-martingale.

Anyone who teaches or ask you to use martingale is a gambler, NOT a trader. You must avoid them like a plague because they are out to ruin you.

Martingale is how gamblers get into deep debts.

CookieMonsta88

I think you meant do I use martingale or anti-martingale?

I use anti-martingale.

Anyone who teaches or ask you to use martingale is a gambler, NOT a trader. You must avoid them like a plague because they are out to ruin you.

Martingale is how gamblers get into deep debts.

er no, i don't mean that, i mean do u buy more lots as ur position goes into more profits, say u are long xyz stock at $5 at 1 lot and when it goes to $10, u buy 1 more lot at $10, and it makes ur average position size to be $7.5 at 2 lots. something like how richard dennis's turtle traders adding to their position as they are riding profits they just pyramid and add more to their positions

well i wouldn't say martingale is not useful, but dangerous? definitely if not used properly and the value at risk to the expected volatility is not calculated properly, but if used with options as a delta neutral method to dollar cost average the position into a lossless long straddle makes martingale a suitable method in extremely volatile markets for riding trends, or in the case of slow ranging markets, transforming into a butterfly to collect theta monies, but then thats portfolio management, quite out of scope of trading spot only.

alexchia01

er no, i don't mean that, i mean do u buy more lots as ur position goes into more profits, say u are long xyz stock at $5 at 1 lot and when it goes to $10, u buy 1 more lot at $10, and it makes ur average position size to be $7.5 at 2 lots. something like how richard dennis's turtle traders adding to their position as they are riding profits they just pyramid and add more to their positions

No, I don't average up or down.

One shot, one kill.

The first entry is either the best entry or is not.

If it's the best entry, I want to be all in. If not, I just cut my losses and aim again.

There is no point enter a little and when you right a little more, you enter a little more. This cause you not being confident with your entry strategy and result in a if I'm wrong, it's ok because I only entry a little mentality. The worst is that you become not motivated to improve your entry strategy.

Yes, this strategy limit your losses, but it also limit your profits.

In investing, I do average up and down, but in trading, I don't.

CookieMonsta88

No, I don't average up or down.

One shot, one kill.

The first entry is either the best entry or is not.

If it's the best entry, I want to be all in. If not, I just cut my losses and aim again.

There is no point enter a little and when you right a little more, you enter a little more. This cause you not being confident with your entry strategy and result in a if I'm wrong, it's ok because I only entry a little mentality. The worst is that you become not motivated to improve your entry strategy.

Yes, this strategy limit your losses, but it also limit your profits.

In investing, I do average up and down, but in trading, I don't.

hmm, interesting, my guess is ur a swing trader/day trader?

actually averaging a position intra-day on a retrace is a good way to rescue positions, and average a loser into a winner, but it requires u to be able to initiate small scouts and only rescue the scouts, and account for the trend leg size, and be with the major timeframe within your scope's trend, the key is to feel the trend, and see if cutting and switching is better, or cutting and then review the situation again, or commencing the rescue ops to rescue the position if the position is still desirable but mis-timed.

another way is to do spreading into other pairs with momentum too i guess, say im long audusd and usd is strengthening across the board, going long usdjpy 3x the size on a momentum push can also turn the losing audusd position into a winning position, by spreading into audjpy and longing usdjpy pair 2x to make up for the loss while being with the usdjpy trend, but requires alot of concentration and being able to trade read and trade 7 charts all at once.

alexchia01

hmm, interesting, my guess is ur a swing trader/day trader?

actually averaging a position intra-day on a retrace is a good way to rescue positions, and average a loser into a winner, but it requires u to be able to initiate small scouts and only rescue the scouts, and account for the trend leg size, and be with the major timeframe within your scope's trend, the key is to feel the trend, and see if cutting and switching is better, or cutting and then review the situation again, or commencing the rescue ops to rescue the position if the position is still desirable but mis-timed.

another way is to do spreading into other pairs with momentum too i guess, say im long audusd and usd is strengthening across the board, going long usdjpy 3x the size on a momentum push can also turn the losing audusd position into a winning position, by spreading into audjpy and longing usdjpy pair 2x to make up for the loss while being with the usdjpy trend, but requires alot of concentration and being able to trade read and trade 7 charts all at once.

I'm a trend trader, not a day trader.

Averaging is a tool to enhance your position, not to rescue losing position.

The shorter the time-frame, the more important the accuracy of entry and a day trader's focus should be on accuracy and not to average down when market goes against him.

I used to be a day trader and I've some day traders friends, I was never taught using averaging down in day trading and none of my day trader friends use averaging down as part of their strategy.

Who uses averaging down? Long-Term Traders and Investors.

By reading both your strategies, I think you are afraid of losing trades and not wanting to cut your losses. So you're trying to find ways of not having to cut your losing trade and realise your loss.

If you want to be a day trader, I suggest you learn how to do discretionary trading, like DayTrader. That is the right way for intra-day trading.

If you want to be a trend trader, I suggest you learn how to live with at least 70% losing trades because you are going to get that much losers.

FYI, my Success Rate is only 38%, but my RRR is 4.07 times. Meaning for every 10 trades I do, 6 going to be losers and only 4 are winners. But, my one profitable trade makes 4 times more than the amount I loss in a trade. This is how trend trading is done, not by not cutting losses.

CookieMonsta88

I'm a trend trader, not a day trader.

Averaging is a tool to enhance your position, not to rescue losing position.

The shorter the time-frame, the more important the accuracy of entry and a day trader's focus should be on accuracy and not to average down when market goes against him.

I used to be a day trader and I've some day traders friends, I was never taught using averaging down in day trading and none of my day trader friends use averaging down as part of their strategy.

Who uses averaging down? Long-Term Traders and Investors.

By reading both your strategies, I think you are afraid of losing trades and not wanting to cut your losses. So you're trying to find ways of not having to cut your losing trade and realise your loss.

If you want to be a day trader, I suggest you learn how to do discretionary trading, like DayTrader. That is the right way for intra-day trading.

If you want to be a trend trader, I suggest you learn how to live with at least 70% losing trades because you are going to get that much losers.

FYI, my Success Rate is only 38%, but my RRR is 4.07 times. Meaning for every 10 trades I do, 6 going to be losers and only 4 are winners. But, my one profitable trade makes 4 times more than the amount I loss in a trade. This is how trend trading is done, not by not cutting losses.

Well, thx for ur advice, but I'm doing discretionary trading now, and I believe I have a profitable method, based on contrarian as well as trend following methods. I have been able to pick swing hourly swing highs and swing lows with consistency. As for averaging, the method itself is meant for mistimed positions, not adding to losers, u still have to be right on the trend, otherwise it's martingaling a loser which is wrong. Say its an up trend, I only average long into a higher swing low, but if the swing low breaks the previous low to create a lower low, I cut the original position immediately, and so far so good, I can trade whipsawing markets, I can trade range bound markets, I can trade trending markets with a stronger lot sizing by scaling up trades, and with options to synthesize a long straddle with option + spot I mentioned, I'm able to handle counter trend moves. I mean, isn't that how dealers trade?

And if u believe ur current position is mistimed, u can spread it out with another pair with momentum on its side, take profit on that, then average the other one, and come out break even or abit of loss on that and end the day up.

Dealers have always been counterparty, the fact that they have survived this long must mean they are doing something right no?

And I know ur success rate is acceptable, as that is to be expected from trend following methods on a longer term.

Shiny Things

Crikey. If you don't mind me asking: if you're making triple digit returns in your punting book, why are you holding anything in your investment portfolio at all? (If the answer is "because the triple-digit returns come with triple-digit volatility", that's a fair answer.)

alexchia01

Well, thx for ur advice, but I'm doing discretionary trading now, and I believe I have a profitable method, based on contrarian as well as trend following methods. I have been able to pick swing hourly swing highs and swing lows with consistency. As for averaging, the method itself is meant for mistimed positions, not adding to losers, u still have to be right on the trend, otherwise it's martingaling a loser which is wrong. Say its an up trend, I only average long into a higher swing low, but if the swing low breaks the previous low to create a lower low, I cut the original position immediately, and so far so good, I can trade whipsawing markets, I can trade range bound markets, I can trade trending markets with a stronger lot sizing by scaling up trades, and with options to synthesize a long straddle with option + spot I mentioned, I'm able to handle counter trend moves. I mean, isn't that how dealers trade?

And if u believe ur current position is mistimed, u can spread it out with another pair with momentum on its side, take profit on that, then average the other one, and come out break even or abit of loss on that and end the day up.

Dealers have always been counterparty, the fact that they have survived this long must mean they are doing something right no?

And I know ur success rate is acceptable, as that is to be expected from trend following methods on a longer term.

I'm confused... Are you a trader or a dealer?

Traders and Dealers are 2 different group of people.

Trader makes money by buying and selling stuffs.

Dealer makes money by getting a commission for every action a trader makes.

Trader's objective is to make as much money as possible with the least amount of trades possible.

Dealer's objective is to encourage the traders to make as many trades as possible, so he can has as much commission as possible.

There is a conflict of interest here.

Don't believe a dealer can teach you how to trade. It's like believing a car sales man can teach you how to pass your driving test.

If you want to learn trading, learn from a trader.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.