[Off Topic] The Longest Chit-Chat Thread in HWC - - - - - - - - Part 19

royfrosty

In HWZ forum, very hard to be brand neutral as compared to overclockers forum.

I was reading all the US forums. They are better in a sense that if they agree they agree, if they dont, the most they are replying and give a feedback for once. And thats it.

If they have an issues with a particular brands, they just give their thoughts once, and other people respects their decision and move on.

EDIT: And thanks Tarui for that forum. I started to appreciate.

hengheng220

I tot the games that were getting taken back were from EA or Ubisoft nia....

no la actually microsoft wont find out if you using non-genuine key, but mine was blocked after i clone the os to another a disk then they somehow need reactivate. when activating was blocked off uh then i called up microsoft then found out was because its from dreamspark

bornerwave

no la actually microsoft wont find out if you using non-genuine key, but mine was blocked after i clone the os to another a disk then they somehow need reactivate. when activating was blocked off uh then i called up microsoft then found out was because its from dreamspark

my key also from dreamspark haha, just that I am still a student now and I always reinstall with the same key instead if cloning, not sure if that makes a difference

tarui04

nbz

the e4 's battery refused to be pried out in peace.

when i finally managed to pry it out of the housing, it pried a section of fingernail off my finger tip.

Ark Law

Sometimes i think someone in hwc here is such a brand lover till death do them apart. No matter how you tell them of whatever brand is out there for alternatives, to them is just big no forever and a condemn other brands forever.

Inclusive of whatever one posted replies on social media in hwz posting. Such hate for whatever brands are out there when all his brands of product that one uses must be darn good and self praises. Other brands can go far far.

- fanboi.

*raises hand* :(

hengheng220

my key also from dreamspark haha, just that I am still a student now and I always reinstall with the same key instead if cloning, not sure if that makes a difference

not sure leh... but mine somehow cannot work sian need stray to the other path liao

Mikiberry

Benched my new 290x Lightning at stock. So impressed by the numbers as compared to my old Asus 970 SLI. Thank god I sold them off. The temps at load also max 71 nia.

royfrosty

Benched my new 290x Lightning at stock. So impressed by the numbers as compared to my old Asus 970 SLI. Thank god I sold them off. The temps at load also max 71 nia.

Yeap. A no horserun cooler. Awesome.

And still can clock even further. Lol.

Alternative X

Yeap. A no horserun cooler. Awesome.

And still can clock even further. Lol.
If stocks of the MSI R9 290X Gaming and Lightning GPUs are to run out, do you think the Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X ($455) would make a good alternative? Seems like the Mastercard Monday discounts are back with a much lower discount cap of $25.

Mikiberry

If stocks of the MSI R9 290X Gaming and Lightning GPUs are to run out, do you think the Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X ($455) would make a good alternative? Seems like the Mastercard Monday discounts are back with a much lower discount cap of $25.

Left one card at PC Themes now, one more buffer at Corbell. If you want to get faster pm Johnson or find Yi Long to get dips on the card liao.

Alternative X

Left one card at PC Themes now, one more buffer at Corbell. If you want to get faster pm Johnson or find Yi Long to get dips on the card liao.
Nah, not in a massive hurry to get one. I have more things to upgrade first before getting a better GPU.

Also, is the heat generation from the 2X R9 290X Crossfire a potentially serious issue or stock case fans would also do fine at cooling such a system?

Mikiberry

Nah, not in a massive hurry to get one. I have more things to upgrade first before getting a better GPU.

Also, is the heat generation from the 2X R9 290X Crossfire a potentially serious issue or stock case fans would also do fine at cooling such a system?

Will give you a personally update on this next week. Waiting for EVGA PSU to come before I SLI, these cards need x2 8 Pin and 6 pin molex to push. With stock case fan at the moment, max I am seeing is 72 degrees single card on 3D furmark.

Alternative X

Will give you a personally update on this next week. Waiting for EVGA PSU to come before I SLI, these cards need x2 8 Pin and 6 pin molex to push. With stock case fan at the moment, max I am seeing is 72 degrees single card on 3D furmark.
Thanks.

If the heat output of 1X R9 290X can be handled by stock case fans in a casing with reasonable amounts of cooling, guess I have got to stop telling people to buy some case fans to go with their R9 290X then. =:p

royfrosty

Seriously here the forumers really BS alot on the temps. Fanboism is damn strong here lol.

Haha. Enjoy ba. If you are adventurous. Go for wc. The moment you go under water for this card, you can easily clock even further. So far i have seen people oc it to plus 450mhz for this lightning. Lol

Mikiberry

Thanks.

If the heat output of 1X R9 290X can be handled by stock case fans in a casing with reasonable amounts of cooling, guess I have got to stop telling people to buy some case fans to go with their R9 290X then. =:p

Actually, it is always imperative to go for a solid casing and best to add in additional fans for hardware longevity. Spend abit more now, regret lesser later. I still think it is good to add an additional push fan from the bottom to help cooling.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.