10 STI Blue Chips Selling Near 2 Years Low - Which are your picks?

BfGf Money Blog

Keppel Corp, high debt?

I recently bought Keppel Corp for 5% dividends.

But I think they may suffer from their lack of free cash flow. It has been going on for almost 5 years. Their debt has been increasing as well.

Hope they can continue with their current dividend payout.

If they can't, then I won't add anymore positions and just wait for recovery.

joshua182

word of caution. 10 year low or 100 years low doesn't mean can't go lower. there are reasons why a stock is cheap, and i would suggest that everyone understand what they are getting into before buying a stock at any "historic low".

same with p/e. just because it is low, doesn't mean it's good. even for big cap companies with strong institutional backing with low p/e and all indicators yelling buy, dont forget to factor in all the information you can find (which is usually factored into the price, regardless if you know them or not, but if you don't, then good luck all the best). many many companies have traded at P/e of 40 and the such and yet became multipliers.

do not forget to take a look at stocks that are at an all time high and could go higher, stocks that are resistant to a bear market which looms like a cancer...

i am vested in several marine stocks myself and while i am optimistic about their prospects, the market truly does not care about my optimism, it only cares about brent prices, about the state of brazil's petrobras.. the usd dollar.. the sing dollar, fed interest rates, the DJI... russia, syria..etc etc..

summary- don't buy just because it's "cheap".

wahkao3

word of caution. 10 year low or 100 years low doesn't mean can't go lower. there are reasons why a stock is cheap, and i would suggest that everyone understand what they are getting into before buying a stock at any "historic low".

same with p/e. just because it is low, doesn't mean it's good. even for big cap companies with strong institutional backing with low p/e and all indicators yelling buy, dont forget to factor in all the information you can find (which is usually factored into the price, regardless if you know them or not, but if you don't, then good luck all the best). many many companies have traded at P/e of 40 and the such and yet became multipliers.

do not forget to take a look at stocks that are at an all time high and could go higher, stocks that are resistant to a bear market which looms like a cancer...

i am vested in several marine stocks myself and while i am optimistic about their prospects, the market truly does not care about my optimism, it only cares about brent prices, about the state of brazil's petrobras.. the usd dollar.. the sing dollar, fed interest rates, the DJI... russia, syria..etc etc..

summary- don't buy just because it's "cheap".
true
dont buy because its cheap

must see other factors as well :o

felixleong

btw end up this article became my all time most read article
dunno why sia

but thanks all for the support

felixleong

I recently sold STE 2,000 shares for 3.54
balance 6,000

now it dropped to 3.45 liao

think gonna buy back the 2,000 if it comes to 3.40

price still quite near the 2 year low

neolaw

I recently sold STE 2,000 shares for 3.54
balance 6,000

now it dropped to 3.45 liao

think gonna buy back the 2,000 if it comes to 3.40

price still quite near the 2 year low

My STE avg price is 3.59 :(

Still holding out.

Perisher

3.38. hehe. =)

edit:forgot I added more at 3.5, average now is 3.42...

neolaw

slowly lor, can buy more on dips

I bought at 3.30 and 3.40

This counter, I was DCAing this counter since it was $4+.

My mistake was to stop DCAing when it hits $3.30.

Now, left with $3.59 average cost (only 400 shares) including commission.

No bullet to shoot. I'm going to keep them for long

felixleong

This counter, I was DCAing this counter since it was $4+.

My mistake was to stop DCAing when it hits $3.30.

Now, left with $3.59 average cost (only 400 shares) including commission.

No bullet to shoot. I'm going to keep them for long

wah... damn sad...

if u had continued DCA, the average price would had been much better liao...

DCA u have be consistent ba... do it monthly for a few years, will have a good price for sure

S1mpleGuy

wah... damn sad...

if u had continued DCA, the average price would had been much better liao...

DCA u have be consistent ba... do it monthly for a few years, will have a good price for sure
Wat is attractive abt STE since i c u all DCA it? I only DCA sti etf n trying to learn to pick stocks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.