2.1 Speaker discussion thread II [consolidated]

LesterQ

It's a known issue with it. However, I cannot hear it unless I press my ear against the tweeter. For your case could be power/ source not clean

which dac are u using? or onboard sound? if u are using onboard sound i will strongly recommend u to get a dac. IFi IDAC is a good budget dac which i will recommend

you can try to disconnect the speaker input totally. and see if there is still issue with the noise. if yes, might be due to dirty power input like wad iceapt says.
if no, might be due to dirty input signal which causes this.

Okay. I think I have both..

Firstly, yes I'm using oboard. I bought this speakers knowing I will eventually have to get a dac due to the digital noise from my PC. Comments about Schiit Modi?

Disconnecting speaker input from PC. There is the ultra low white noise that icecapt says is a well known issue. Hissing noise. With the input connected, it becomes an intermittent tik tik tik noise on top of the white noise that is heard without input connected.

LesterQ

Lol, lazada selling LSR305 sia...

JBL Pro LSR305 5" Two-Way Powered Studio Monitor | Lazada Singapore

Can use $100 off discount to get it at $418...

Hmm.
PY5bdnA.png

But if i buy tmr maybe got 10% Mastercard monday.

Oh well. I'll just enjoy what i paid for. :s13:

LesterQ

wah!! so tempting!! but if buy from lazanda no warranty right?

It says 1 year leh. And i googled IMS. Seems legit.

Don't have the $100 off.

But if you stack Mastercard monday 10%
Shopback 6%.

It'll be $438. $100 cheaper then buying at perf audio.

exclusiv3

It says 1 year leh. And i googled IMS. Seems legit.

Don't have the $100 off.

But if you stack Mastercard monday 10%
Shopback 6%.

It'll be $438. $100 cheaper then buying at perf audio.

buy using app get another $10 off by their exclusive voucher?

KeYoKe

Okay. I think I have both..

Firstly, yes I'm using oboard. I bought this speakers knowing I will eventually have to get a dac due to the digital noise from my PC. Comments about Schiit Modi?

Disconnecting speaker input from PC. There is the ultra low white noise that icecapt says is a well known issue. Hissing noise. With the input connected, it becomes an intermittent tik tik tik noise on top of the white noise that is heard without input connected.

can consider power conditioning if thats the case. not sure abt schiit stuffs though. have used IFi IDAC before it was good. am using prism lyra2 at the moment. 2 different leagues.

dont think abt the $100 and just enjoy what you got :o

icecapt

Fweeling very sad now. :(

$100 flyyyy~

I also got it at the normal price... it's well worth it though.

Btw, power conditioning doesn't eliminate the problem. I have a weiduka and it's still there. The noise probably from the amps inside. But of course, if your power is not clean, it will still be better with one.

LesterQ

can consider power conditioning if thats the case. not sure abt schiit stuffs though. have used IFi IDAC before it was good. am using prism lyra2 at the moment. 2 different leagues.

dont think abt the $100 and just enjoy what you got :o

I also got it at the normal price... it's well worth it though.

Btw, power conditioning doesn't eliminate the problem. I have a weiduka and it's still there. The noise probably from the amps inside.

Ya. Also no use being sad. :(

The IFi IDac is amp and dac. Won't there be a double amp effect?

LesterQ

Does the white noise increase whit increasing volume?

No.

Actually I don't have real regret for getting it at the Perf Audio price.

Story goes like this:

Damn sexcited went to bugis meet girlfriend eat itacho, then head down to SLS. But lo and behold , perf audio was closed. Would normally have already walked off and went home or maybe go test audio engine. But i decided to give the number on the shutters a call and a lady picked up and informed me they were closed today. Then she asked what's up and i told her i wanted to audition the JBL's. And she immediately told me that if i can wait till 1 there will be someone to open the shop for me to test the speakers.

Went to cybermind test out the Swans MK2000 III and was very happy with the fidelity but the bass was abit lacking. Trotted to second floor Kiliney lim kopi. Went out shop opened and a damn shag looking guy looking around to see if anyone coming. Went in to test. Happy with Speakers , Happy with Guy's service, Happy they opened just for me to test one $500+ speakers.

So I bought them. He also offered to provide services if i ever need to send for warranty. Overall okay , I won't buy audio everyday. Support local retailer lo.

mypillowtalks

White noise could be noise amplified by the amplifier or preamp inside.

I have same problem but I'm using other speakers, maybe can try lower the amplifier 's volume and turn up ur computer's signal

KeYoKe

Ya. Also no use being sad. :(

The IFi IDac is amp and dac. Won't there be a double amp effect?

IFi idac is a dac. you will use rca to conenct to ur speakers. just that the volume cant be controlled. if u wish to control volume, can use the 3.5mm instead of rca output

LesterQ

White noise could be noise amplified by the amplifier or preamp inside.

I have same problem but I'm using other speakers, maybe can try lower the amplifier 's volume and turn up ur computer's signal

Hmmm. This makes total sense. I remember my MX6021 with unbearable static noise when I max the volume knobs. I've turn volume on the amp considerably low. Seems to be helping!

IFi idac is a dac. you will use rca to conenct to ur speakers. just that the volume cant be controlled. if u wish to control volume, can use the 3.5mm instead of rca output

Can you elaborate on this?

KeYoKe

Hmmm. This makes total sense. I remember my MX6021 with unbearable static noise when I max the volume knobs. I've turn volume on the amp considerably low. Seems to be helping!

Can you elaborate on this?

meaning rca output is just for signal, you can only control the volume via Windows volume control or ur speaker. The volume control knob does not control volume of the rca output, it only works for the 3.5mm output

LesterQ

meaning rca output is just for signal, you can only control the volume via Windows volume control or ur speaker. The volume control knob does not control volume of the rca output, it only works for the 3.5mm output

OOh. Okay. Because i only googled about the Schiit. Didn't realise the Idac has a 3.5mm input. The cables i currently have are RCA to 3.5mm.

Actually without the dac. After turning down the speaker volume the noise is gone. I think a dac is unnecessary? :s13:

KeYoKe

OOh. Okay. Because i only googled about the Schiit. Didn't realise the Idac has a 3.5mm input. The cables i currently have are RCA to 3.5mm.

Actually without the dac. After turning down the speaker volume the noise is gone. I think a dac is unnecessary? :s13:

like what i said, even if you buy a expensive speakers that cost > $10k, without proper source of driving it, it still sound like a $100 dollar speaker. will still suggest you buy a dac which will do justice for the $500+ plus u spend on the speaker. i can tell you it will make a significant difference to your listening experience. dont need to buy a dac that cost as much as mine, but just something decent will do

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.