tiagong cabinet reshuffle will be announced this weekend

fandango

chiu ting aljunied grc who heavy weight? :o

i ting, in WP's perspective, all 5 are heavy weights.

Chen Show Mao
Low Thia Khiang
Sylvia Lim Swee Lian
Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Manap
Pritam Singh

if you ask me, for the next GE, are they all going to remain in Aljunied GRC? i will say no.

LTK may splinter himself to East Coast. All or Nothing. Divide and Conquer.

bastogne

Chen Show Mao
Low Thia Khiang
Sylvia Lim Swee Lian
Pritam Singh

if you ask me, for the next GE, are they all going to remain in Aljunied GRC? i will say no.

i mean pap sending witch heavy weight to lead the team for aljunied grc. :o

Velana

13. Tanjong Pagar: CCS, Indranee, and 1 empty seat

I do not think CCS is a heavy weight, his constituency now got many youngsters and most of the youngsters I've met are not very proud or think very highly of him.

Lily Neo is still a better bet cause she always comes across as friendly and smart, if i stay in TJPG I will also vote for PAP if they put Lily Neo as the leader of the pack. CCS is just a side-show really. Since last GE until now most of the things he has done has only been made fun of or taken lightly, shows he doesn't have leadership capabilities. Scoring well in exams doesn't make a person a good leader.

Although I think they might throw George Yeo back into the mix, or let LHL go to TJPG and George Yeo take over AMK, since he's more familiar with that area considering it's close vicinity to Aljunied.

But frankly speaking, even without Ah gong, TJPG is still a PAP stronghold, pah buey toh.

fandango

I do not think CCS is a heavy weight, his constituency now got many youngsters and most of the youngsters I've met are not very proud or think very highly of him.

Lily Neo is still a better bet cause she always comes across as friendly and smart, if i stay in TJPG I will also vote for PAP if they put Lily Neo as the leader of the pack. CCS is just a side-show really. Since last GE until now most of the things he has done has only been made fun of or taken lightly, shows he doesn't have leadership capabilities. Scoring well in exams doesn't make a person a good leader.

Although I think they might throw George Yeo back into the mix, or let LHL go to TJPG and George Yeo take over AMK, since he's more familiar with that area considering it's close vicinity to Aljunied.

But frankly speaking, even without Ah gong, TJPG is still a PAP stronghold, pah buey toh.

You must remember, fundamentally, each GRC must be helm by a Minister.

veryhungryboy

13. Tanjong Pagar: dunch hab lily neo meh? :o

last GE oreidi say may retire, dun think will go for another.

in this case, she may be parachute to Aljunied, together with some other oso retiring "good guys role" PAP MPs/minister.

win bonus for PAP, lose no harm too.

fandango

Three oldest Ministers, apart from PM and DPM.

1. KBW (63 years old)
2. Lim Swee Say (60 years old)
3. Lim Hng Kiang (60 years old)

very indicative liao.

veryhungryboy

You must remember, fundamentally, each GRC must be helm by a Minister.

this time round may be different, pinkie had hinted in latest interview Minister of State oso can lead a GRC, so the likes of Teo Ser Luck and Lam Pin Min can helm one too.

foreseer

Chen Show Mao
Low Thia Khiang
Sylvia Lim Swee Lian
Pritam Singh

LTK will remain there we can bet on this............. coz if he runs away 100% no one will vote for the rest

foreseer

lily neo is v old alr, i think she will be out of nxt elections or at most this would be her last

they'll nv let her helm it anyway

foreseer

i think GY retire liao, he's also making much more working for robert kuok and can enjoy his $$ w/o having to bask so much in the limelight

somemore he lost before, it's quite hard to throw him back......... therefore u can see got many reasons... altho i feel he's still a good candidate for presidency after TT or further down the road

Senna Wales

this time round may be different, pinkie had hinted in latest interview Minister of State oso can lead a GRC, so the likes of Teo Ser Luck and Lam Pin Min can helm one too.

That means that PAP don't care about that GRC right? The previous Aljunied team had 2 ministers and lost. If they want to come back they will need at least 2 ministers again.

victorian07

So much speculation here but most don't know how it works.

One, as good as Lily Neo is, she is just a normal MP and not a political appointment holder. She can't be considered a heavyweight in Tanjong Pagar. Chan Chun Sing will helm that role in LKY's demise.

Two, it's not feasible to send an existing heavyweight like Lim Hng Kiang, albeit nearing retirement age, to lead the crack squad to Aljunied. It's poor form and what message are you conveying to Singaporeans? Vote for us, if not you'll lose your important Trade & Industry Minister. Really?

Three, George Yeo is done with politics. He has nothing left to prove, and he has better work life balance under the Kerry Group. He may run for President one day, but back into the fold as a PAP running candidate? Extremely unlikely.

Last, WP will almost certainly break up the Aljunied A team and send a mix of experienced and new blood to contest East Coast GRC. Whether it'll be Low Thia Kiang remains to be seen, but it should be either him or Sylvia Lim to lead the other team.

Sent from my phone using GAGT

fandango

One, as good as Lily Neo is, she is just a normal MP and not a political appointment holder. She can't be considered a heavyweight in Tanjong Pagar. Chan Chun Sing will helm that role in LKY's demise.

Two, it's not feasible to send an existing heavyweight like Lim Hng Kiang, albeit nearing retirement age, to lead the crack squad to Aljunied. It's poor form and what message are you conveying to Singaporeans? Vote for us, if not you'll lose your important Trade & Industry Minister. Really?

Three, George Yeo is done with politics. He has nothing left to prove, and he has better work life balance under the Kerry Group. He may run for President one day, but back into the fold as a PAP running candidate? Extremely unlikely.

Last, WP will almost certainly break up the Aljunied A team and send a mix of experienced and new blood to contest East Coast GRC. Whether it'll be Low Thia Kiang remains to be seen, but it should be either him or Sylvia Lim to lead the other team.

this man knows.

Kiwi8

Yah I think it's roughly like that too about the WP team. Ms Sylvia Lim and Mr Low Thia Khiang will be able to lead teams of their own, thus they can contest 2 GRCs, and that one of them must remain at Aljunied GRC to consolidate the support for 1 more term.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.