[serious] my take on Singapore's opposition

Tin Pei Ling probably fought for mentally disabled more subsidy medical susidy for the eldery. What did WP fought for in Parliament. Oh right they fought against all the screw ups at the TC level

No the same cannot be said of 80% of the MP. CSM is invisible in Parliament, LTK is seen even less these days then when he was alone with Chiam. Sylvia Lim and Pritam is busy defending their screwups. Gerald Giam keeps getting own in Parliament. When Lina Chiam reading from her husband script is doing better than all WP MPs combined, they have failed miserably as opposition

Knn. If WP failed miserably as opposition, then let PAP take its place as opposition lah :s13:

Knn. For the last 5 years, PAP didn't do much either. Kept coming out with useless bills. Knn, limpeh suka lim jiu after 10.30 pm also cannot :s22: *****, one stupig race drag everyone down :s22: How can liddat one :s22: For this reason, I am going vote PAP out :D

fishbuff

we must understand why some people are the way they are. Their tirade is worth noticing but never to be follow through.
you cannot create policies based on public's opinions and feelings.
Children throwing a tantrum will refuse to be pacificed. This is very similar to teenage rebels and oppositions of Singapore.

Listen to what I have to say before you jump the gun.

the opposition party abuses two weakness of Singaporean, emotions and an excessive sense of entitlement.
Their rhetoric is always about "getting in touch with the ground", "Singaporean first" and the hype.

The opposition understand that there will always be someone unhappy because you can never satisfy everyone.
They prey on this by appealing to emotions. it works, people are triggered by their emotions and they are motivated to vote against PAP.
But when their emotions gradually returns to normal. Logic kicks in, the people know that the opposition have nothing to show for, they vote for PAP.

Singapore is a first world because of the hardworking individuals. We are technologically advanced and is able to accommodate the luxurious lifestyle.
Some individuals are infected by an excessive sense of entitlement. They start to compare their job, wages, car, education, child's achievements, spouse, house ,food or lifestyle.

we work so hard and this is what we get?

They become unsatisfied, unhappy and outright jealous.
they start to question why they do not have this and that. Why is this not better than this. They believe they are entitled to more.
unfortunately, life is a struggle, we do not always get what we want. They cannot fathom their setbacks, their sense of entitlement kicks in.
Instead of working to become a better man.
They blame their government, their family background, their circumstances and never themselves.

On the other hand, when life is good and they get what they want. they forgot about PAP. They take it for granted, they assume that is how Singaporean life is.

share your opinions.
I am open for discussion, conversation and questioning.

But if you came here for argumentation/debate. Please be polite and be respectfully. You are welcome to try.

imagine this situation where the colonial power are still present in SG and you are advocating colonialism over independence.

Intenerate

try harder to lose your excess weight

94OiA.jpg
why are you asking me to lose weight in every other thread and posting those pictures?

If you are not discussing or debating about the relevant topic. Please kindly leave my thread.

cancer81

Why do that when it is sure to fail?

because it will show that they have the better ideas on how to reform HDB...

do we just tell the WP MPs to show up, not say anything and when voting for bill that time just say "aye" cos they say "nay" also pointless?

this means that only 100% WP parliament will allow WP to do work liao lor...

we switching between hegemony because that is the only way?

cancer81

新加坡大坏仔;93057252 said:
Knn. For the last 5 years, PAP didn't do much either. Kept coming out with useless bills. Knn, limpeh suka lim jiu after 10.30 pm also cannot :s22: *****, one stupig race drag everyone down :s22: How can liddat one :s22: For this reason, I am going vote PAP out :D
I will like to remind you that ALL the WP MPs showed their support for the motion when it was put to the floor

I knew it was going to go somewhere in this direction when that motion passed unanimously and parliament has proven me correct by putting in a legislation bill that slightly stomps on civil liberties...

did EDMWers raise an objection? Did WP MPs ask if this is a little too much? I dun see the SDP coming out with a statement stating that we need to keep our zeal to limit civil liberties?

I only see Social Justice Warriors suddenly go berserk focusing all their attention on some foreign workers who decided to take the law into their own hands....

Intenerate

I will like to remind you that ALL the WP MPs showed their support for the motion when it was put to the floor

I knew it was going to go somewhere in this direction when that motion passed unanimously and parliament has proven me correct by putting in a legislation bill that slightly stomps on civil liberties...

did EDMWers raise an objection? Did WP MPs ask if this is a little too much? I dun see the SDP coming out with a statement stating that we need to keep our zeal to limit civil liberties?

I only see Social Justice Warriors suddenly go berserk focusing all their attention on some foreign workers who decided to take the law into their own hands....
Don't get me started on social justice warriors. They are so oblivious to their own circle jerking parties.

One Month Notice

Tin Pei Ling probably fought for mentally disabled more subsidy medical susidy for the eldery. What did WP fought for in Parliament. Oh right they fought against all the screw ups at the TC level

No the same cannot be said of 80% of the MP. CSM is invisible in Parliament, LTK is seen even less these days then when he was alone with Chiam. Sylvia Lim and Pritam is busy defending their screwups. Gerald Giam keeps getting own in Parliament. When Lina Chiam reading from her husband script is doing better than all WP MPs combined, they have failed miserably as opposition

Did she? Has the bill passed ? Would it be feasible for WP with zero chance to pass any bill to raise it at all? again I stress u probably follow the mAin stream media and discounted the effort by WP. We need more ppl to discuss and probably to block bills that are detrimental to the citizen. I believe a 57 to 43 ratio in parliamentary seats would ensure that bills are not simply passed due to party whip. And due diligence are done

Until the day I dun see a 80 vs 7 on most bills it's just ridiculous we have things good or bad stuff down our throats Without due consideration from our MPs which is suppose to represent the people not the party.

One Month Notice

because it will show that they have the better ideas on how to reform HDB...

do we just tell the WP MPs to show up, not say anything and when voting for bill that time just say "aye" cos they say "nay" also pointless?

this means that only 100% WP parliament will allow WP to do work liao lor...

we switching between hegemony because that is the only way?

Then did we vote 80 pap mp in to just day aye to any bills and not consult their residents and axtually debate in Parliament ? Which is the bigger issue? the party in power or the party with no power?

Ur points are more damning to the incumbent then a smaller fielded parties.

Intenerate

Did she? Has the bill passed ? Would it be feasible for WP with zero chance to pass any bill to raise it at all? again I stress u probably follow the mAin stream media and discounted the effort by WP. We need more ppl to discuss and probably to block bills that are detrimental to the citizen. I believe a 57 to 43 ratio in parliamentary seats would ensure that bills are not simply passed due to party whip. And due diligence are done

Until the day I dun see a 80 vs 7 on most bills it's just ridiculous we have things good or bad stuff down our throats Without due consideration from our MPs which is suppose to represent the people not the party.

It is called whipping a policy.
you do not need majority seats to whip.
one man can whip a policy.
WP team do not have the capability of whipping good policy. They did nothing. That is the problem.

cancer81

Then did we vote 80 pap mp in to just day aye to any bills and not consult their residents and axtually debate in Parliament ? Which is the bigger issue? the party in power or the party with no power?

Ur points are more damning to the incumbent then a smaller fielded parties.
you watch entire parliament sessions?

MPs can't ask you after a motion was put to parliament. We might as well referendum if you really want to be consulted.

There are some MPs who have asked some serious questions about a bill... and that actually includes Tin Pei Ling. They are there to represent you, not be your mouthpiece.

the PAP do have more "yes men" now. Natural progression since competition is lacking and the remaining competition is pretty much handled by veterans or frontbenchers. The PAP backbenchers do have a pretty easy ride. They do not need to constantly go around their constituents to canvas and to explain bills to residents.

This also means that WP have an even easier ride. Their presence is sacred and not being government they can shoot for the stars... does not matter if they are slapped down. Have a stand and say it. Housing and Transport are such hotbed issues...

Knn. These kind of bills doesn't concern peepur's bread and butter. If oppo goes into it, will only benefits pap :s22:

MPs can't ask you after a motion was put to parliament. We might as well referendum if you really want to be consulted.

There are some MPs who have asked some serious questions about a bill... and that actually includes Tin Pei Ling. They are there to represent you, not be your mouthpiece.

the PAP do have more "yes men" now. Natural progression since competition is lacking and the remaining competition is pretty much handled by veterans or frontbenchers. The PAP backbenchers do have a pretty easy ride. They do not need to constantly go around their constituents to canvas and to explain bills to residents.

This also means that WP have an even easier ride. Their presence is sacred and not being government they can shoot for the stars... does not matter if they are slapped down. Have a stand and say it. Housing and Transport are such hotbed issues...
Knn. Pap ish gahmen, not WP. Did PAP consults sinkies about 6.9 million ? :s22: don't try to ******** about opp. For the past years, they have always been debated. They might have debated less since 2011 but that doesn't mean they are in cahoots with PAP :s22:

CAShop

WP team do not have the capability of whipping good policy. They did nothing. That is the problem.

Unfortunately their supporters fail to understand this

WP have failed miserably at managing a TC

In Parliament they've been going along with 99% of whatever PAP put up. During the all important annual budget debate, sure they went along with PAP because PAP generally have good all round budget, that's not the issue. The main issue is even during the budget debate, WP failed to push the right buttons and ask the strong questions. They've avoided critical issues and only come out to raise questions on non essential problems. That is their greatest failure.

One which unfortunately their blind supporters in EDMW fail to see. I have no problems with having opposition but they need to be good ones, those who can push the right things through. WP just isn't it.

One Month Notice

ur terminology needa brushing up. U have no clue what u are talking about.

Whips are a party's "enforcers," who typically offer inducements and threaten party members to ensure that they vote according to the official party policy.

Hence the statement of bills passing without actual consideration by the MP. Having just 7 ppl even if WP have the best whip the bills will still get passed .

Do u have a problem comprehending me or do I need to explain it further to u?

Unfortunately their supporters fail to understand this

WP have failed miserably at managing a TC

In Parliament they've been going along with 99% of whatever PAP put up. During the all important annual budget debate, sure they went along with PAP because PAP generally have good all round budget, that's not the issue. The main issue is even during the budget debate, WP failed to push the right buttons and ask the strong questions. They've avoided critical issues and only come out to raise questions on non essential problems. That is their greatest failure.

One which unfortunately their blind supporters in EDMW fail to see. I have no problems with having opposition but they need to be good ones, those who can push the right things through. WP just isn't it.

Knn. Tio lah. That is why we need more opp members in the parliament :s13:

One Month Notice

no one watch the parliamentary seating. U read the transcript available online.

Ur point on referendum is interesting as it's actually say much about the state of things in Singapore where people are actually suggesting that showing the disconnection between the MP and it's people.

Other than abstain from voting and raising of concern have any PAP MP ever voted against eg white paper, increase in gst to all item and not just luxury goods, continous funding to sme and tax rebate which have yield no result other than enriching the sme owners, the public transport bill ?

dodofish

I am not sure about housing, but transport is hitting people.

If it is the price of hdb that young people get worried now, it would be worst for them when they turn older. Precisely why some matters are not heard.

We got to see who are asking the right questions. If they are pass, we will be in trouble.

Sent from Samsung SM-N9005 using GAGT

cancer81

not only are you very selective, you are protective of your precious 7...

I dun mind that, but apparently you felt that your rights as a human being was infringed on with that prohibition bill.

yet, you say that the WP cannot be so stupid to go against it. Let me ask again, then what for are they in parliament for? To remind government that certain angles might be missed, to check them, to prove to people that they are also capable of running this house. That they the WP are a "government in waiting".

Nope, they declare that they are not ready to take over. Then do your job as the co-driver! Nope, I say this kind of thing will not benefit me. I say "aye" better.

really is can say this... knn I can do better lor... why is Low taking 15k and not me? knn

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.