[OFFICIAL] EDMW Wet Shaving Club - Part 6

ZinZan

I'll take a pic soon and post it but its gotten embarrassingly long...ive put an end to acquisitions now. I usually drop them in an ultrasonic cleaner and they come out sparking. Ive also used a boiling water soak with dish washing liquid and then scrubbed with a toothbrush...these razors are remarkably resilient...but you have to take care with the gold plated ones.

My vintage list:

2 fatboys (everyone should try one of these)
1 gold slim adjustable
President y2
Diplomat a2
Aristocrat 1947
Aristocrat 1948-1950
Uk aristocrat #58
Uk aristocrat #21
2 uk aristocrat #16s
1930s Uk Aristocrat #15
1948 aristocrat junior

All are cased and in great condition. The uk gillettes are just miles above the us ones in looks and performance but thats just my opinion.

The only ones who get vintages reasonably priced are those who buy junk and spend money on replating (which alters the vintage pedigree) and those who hunt them down in old antique stores of which there hundreds in usa. in singapore the junk shops dont have such treasures.

Dude........ Awesome collection and cased too . How's the aristocrats compared to fb

derazor

Yeah very, mine is not half as shiny was about 25 bucks. Can't remember the shipping.

As long can use can liao.. I want to get a good once because will be a looker ( for me ) and also more clean la. Can't tahan those green gunk..

derazor

Which razor holder? 2 of these are from AMZ. Local context where to buy ah

41whhVV2LgL.jpg

81wIuym1DSL._SL1500_.jpg

I saw this but dunno where to get?
nMRs4sJ.jpg
[/IMG]

merepekking

Hi all, back here again to post. I got the ATT R1 with Kronos handle from the find gentleman, Fiddler, here. I used to enjoy looking at my vintage Gillettes and SE (Gem, EverReady) razors but recently, I've been struck with the Stainless Steel RAD.

I couldn't resist getting the ATT at such a great price and I'm glad I did. I first tried using my Gillette 7 O'clock Blacks (also my first time) and it did well, but the blade was a little sharper than I'm used to. Tried my Astra SP and the Greens and they worked like a charm. BBS and smooth shave. I can't see myself using my Super Speed anymore, maybe just my Slim once in a while. Personally, it was the right comfort level and aggressiveness, which allowed me to enjoy my shaves. The razor's design itself is immaculate, no complaints there and Fiddler kept it in great condition.

Just earlier this week, I was browsing TSN BST and came across the Mongoose razor. Couldn't miss my chance so I grabbed it, although it was only the head. It's on its way now to SG as we speak and I can't wait to try it. The Mongoose is a SE razor and I've read that it is a mild shaver but paired with the feather artist club blades, it can give great shaves.

My choice of razors do stand out, in comparison with my creams and brushes. I love the $2 Godrej and Old Spice creams and am satisfied with my Omega S-brush. Can't say the same about my taste in razors though!

Buckbrick

SIC. Just got this AS balm from iherb while getting other stuff. Pre de Provence is well known for their Shea butter based products. Their original Shea shaving range is pretty well known among wetshavers. Currently I'm using and love another Shea based shaving soap, Provence sante.

Iherb carries the ASB and shaving cream. But no shaving soap - YET. 16.99usd. Free ship 40usd and above.

ESL-77602-1.jpg

pre-de-provence-no-63-shave-cream-3.gif

derazor

SIC. Just got this AS balm from iherb while getting other stuff. Pre de Provence is well known for their Shea butter based products. Their original Shea shaving range is pretty well known among wetshavers. Currently I'm using and love another Shea based shaving soap, Provence sante.

Iherb carries the ASB and shaving cream. But no shaving soap - YET. 16.99usd. Free ship 40usd and above.

pre-de-provence-no-63-shave-cream-3.gif

jialat...... i haven't check out LOL..
I think i have to LOON. my shaving soap can last 10 years

merepekking

Can't seem to be able to find the metal toothbrush holder anywhere in SG. There's mostly the plastic baskets with suction cups, not going to risk placing my stuff in there.

Fiddler

Dude........ Awesome collection and cased too . How's the aristocrats compared to fb

Ever since I used the UK Aristocrat #21 I haven't used anything else. It is the finest DE razor for me, i got a mint one and it looks like jewellery. Even the design is perfect, I love the lack of end caps, the matt finish blade compartment with the t shaped wings, the concealed blade bar and the bulldog handle. Everything about it is perfect. The #16 is a little less aggressive but a whole lot more comfortable and smooth.

But every now and then, you just can't beat a fatboy open all the way to 9.

derazor

Ever since I used the UK Aristocrat #21 I haven't used anything else. It is the finest DE razor for me, i got a mint one and it looks like jewellery. Even the design is perfect, I love the lack of end caps, the matt finish blade compartment with the t shaped wings, the concealed blade bar and the bulldog handle. Everything about it is perfect. The #16 is a little less aggressive but a whole lot more comfortable and smooth.

But every now and then, you just can't beat a fatboy open all the way to 9.

lol CASE only hor
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-194...485?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2ee0a07035

merkur59

Hi all, back here again to post. I got the ATT R1 with Kronos handle from the find gentleman, Fiddler, here. I used to enjoy looking at my vintage Gillettes and SE (Gem, EverReady) razors but recently, I've been struck with the Stainless Steel RAD.

I couldn't resist getting the ATT at such a great price and I'm glad I did. I first tried using my Gillette 7 O'clock Blacks (also my first time) and it did well, but the blade was a little sharper than I'm used to. Tried my Astra SP and the Greens and they worked like a charm. BBS and smooth shave. I can't see myself using my Super Speed anymore, maybe just my Slim once in a while. Personally, it was the right comfort level and aggressiveness, which allowed me to enjoy my shaves. The razor's design itself is immaculate, no complaints there and Fiddler kept it in great condition.

Just earlier this week, I was browsing TSN BST and came across the Mongoose razor. Couldn't miss my chance so I grabbed it, although it was only the head. It's on its way now to SG as we speak and I can't wait to try it. The Mongoose is a SE razor and I've read that it is a mild shaver but paired with the feather artist club blades, it can give great shaves.

My choice of razors do stand out, in comparison with my creams and brushes. I love the $2 Godrej and Old Spice creams and am satisfied with my Omega S-brush. Can't say the same about my taste in razors though!

Congratz on the ATT and mongoose!

merkur59

Anyone using slant bar razors? Been reading wicked edge and all are saying the benefits....seeing that i have coarse hair

Plus open comb seems scary :s13:

Sent from Leica M240 using GAGT

I have one old vintage OC. Very mild.
It is the design which determines whether a razor is aggressive. I guess most OC are created 'aggressive'.

Not sure what 'slant bar' is - I think ATT has both OC and standard slant.
I have standard slant in Merkur and Ikon. Surprisingly, due to design, Ikon feels more aggressive even though the blade looks more exposed in the Merkur. If the aggressiveness of weber is 3 out of 10, Merkur 34C and 37C (slant) is around 3 to 3.5 (respectively), while fatip is around 6-7, and R41 (2011) is around 9.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.