"Less whining, more hard work. I am sick of ppl asking for handout"... sounds familiar?

Lexmerc

Even charities or "consumer responsibility" to environment and poor people is a new ideology.

There was a journal that also recognised that till date, they have yet to find out how charities, CSR and other "giving back to society" big corps have proven to be profitable, in fact they are not. They are now questioning this aspect and conducting research on it.

Bonadaly

There was a journal that also recognised that till date, they have yet to find out how charities, CSR and other "giving back to society" big corps have proven to be profitable, in fact they are not. They are now questioning this aspect and conducting research on it.

Mutated Capitalism.....

Very scary times......:(

satayxp

If we want to put it into this context, I think we can also say S'pore as a rich nation is obliged to help out the poorer ones. If that is the case, we should have opened our arms wide for the Rohingyas.

The oppos was smart enough to know which ground to contest on and when to capture and enter into a GRC fight. Should the poor be able to do this, no one will say anything either. Odds are definitely against them, but its not till like as though they don't have a chance to flip over in life. Richness is after all relative.

siao bo?
the ruling gahmen dun even help sgians enough, u want them to help foreign refugees?? oh wait... :s13:

klap_hanz

This comic strip shows the lives of pinky lee n his ministers in SG...

sure pinky lee never once depended on his dad n he become the PM of SG becoz of his capabilities n merits...haha n I believe pigs can fly too...

bakuten

Do not know any big theories. My thinking could also be wrong too..

My concept is that, the rich would have to know how to take advantage of society resources in order to "make use" of that labour too, which in turns provides jobs for the poor. For this, the rich should be rewarded for the knowledge and courage on using those resources right?

If one day, this "area" of resources becomes diluted, no longer wanting to service the rich, I believe the rich would turn to other resources to ensure things goes on for them right. (E.g. technology taking over human resources) It is still the poor that loses out.

Lastly, big bosses are busy with getting hold of clients, ensuring proper mgmt of companies, expansion plans, this ain't easy either. So why is it that the rich must cater to the poor who only belongs to like 0.05% of the entirety.

Okay okay, what I said sounds sick, but I really think of it this way :(

what you are describing is capitalism...capitalism that can only be achieved with a weak govt. Weak in this case doesn't mean incompetent... means lack of power.

The problem arises when govt gets too powerful. And the rich starts to corrupt weak minded politicians, leading to cronyism. Which is what most of the world's govts today are experiencing today at differing levels.

panda_san

whole world is like this haiz...fat water dun seep into other pple's land

zoossh

How about the other 2 kids? One who went far despite coming from a similar situation as Paula? And the other one whose family is like Richard but screwed up all his chances?

There is definitely truth in the comic strips. But its not always so straightforward.

Sent from somewhere using GAGT

true. IDA got a success story of someone who work her way up with bona fide efforts.

zoossh

Paula parents must be Latino :).

If north Asian will be significantly more hardworking, will make her do homework instead of watch TV even at home. (thats why USA very detest asian -americans cos they study too much)

u mean asians or asian-americans? different bah.

zoossh

I think it will myopic for us to merely recognise the problem lies in PAP. We gotta look at a larger picture - This "ugly" mentality (resulting in sinkies self-pwning everyday) is unfortunately inside many of us.

true. the problem lies in pap and pap supporters. cannot everything also blame on pap. can they account for the mentality of their supporters?

Soracak

Next comes a person born with one leg who says it's not fair that you can run fast and walk straight.
So you have to remove one leg to "level the playing field".

Or you can say, life is not fair and not everyone is born equal.

:)

I am now quite convinced ib are either high on substance or they donated half their brains to their masters.

Because normal intelligent humans looking for an analogy will be thinking of two able runners but one is made to crawl on stones and the other is given a headstart on the whistle.

But no... ib imagines poor runners are handicaps asking for an arm or a leg from the rich ppl.

Fantastic. The drugs they are taking are some serious sheet.

kaisoz

I am now quite convinced ib are either high on substance or they donated half their brains to their masters.

Because normal intelligent humans looking for an analogy will be thinking of two able runners but one is made to crawl on stones and the other is given a headstart on the whistle.

But no... ib imagines poor runners are handicaps asking for an arm or a leg from the rich ppl.

Fantastic. The drugs they are taking are some serious sheet.
No need to feed the troll.

Soracak

This comic strip shows the lives of pinky lee n his ministers in SG...

sure pinky lee never once depended on his dad n he become the PM of SG becoz of his capabilities n merits...haha n I believe pigs can fly too...

Part of me thinks that these entitled ppl are not really at fault.

It is the ppl surrounding them. Call them dogs or slimy cronies or whatever. If you read the comic strip again, the ppl around them are always heaping praises on them, so much so they are brainwashed into thinking they are exceptional in many ways.

The positive part is that it is a self fulfilling attitude, which means like in a motivation talk, if u think u can succeed u will succeed. Psychology works.

The negative part is that the perceived link between success and the imagined talent usually becomes a cause and effect relationship. They tend to downplay anything else that may have contributed to their success, and dismiss anyone who is less successful as less able.

commie_rick

Last week I was have tuition with a couple of my students who switched to an international school because they didn't do so well in govt schools. Every month their school fee is like $1000.

They saw an yahoo article on how the poorest 10% of Singapore households spent more than what they earn... and their reaction is " Why are they so lazy?" " How can they spend more than they earn???"

They dun even realize that if their families wasn't rich, they would be in normal stream or the last express class. So much advantage they got and they think that people are poor because they are lazy. :(

1k is considered cheap , my Gcp colleague married Amdk . Few days ago I heard her telling another female colleague that she's paying close to 3k per month for international school and felt that it is worthed the money

commie_rick

Thanks for sharing ts, it is true . Richer people have better networks and connections . Money can buy a better future for their children , thus increasing wealth or at least maintaining it .

When I was in secondary school , I knew a Eurasian boy normal technical stream, his dad is American . After o levels I didn't seen him until more than ten years later I met him at Bugis .
We exchanged name cards , he's a commodities trading , after sec 4. His dad gotten him a place in an American university , if he was from lower income family , he would have gone to ite, taken a longer path to university .

Money is powerful , it can determine ones future

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.