The LEGO thread [STRICTLY NO SALES!] - Part 10

ultiminute

Me today family day, bring kids to Sentosa, went SEA Seaworld, ride the Tiger Tower and first time play the Ludge ride, very fun :)

Of course, I did drop by at RWS LCS store in the morning, hooted a big cup PAB,no sight of Ferris Wheel. Then drop by again while we're leaving just now, also nothing.

Great day with the family...Many are waiting till their neck is long for the Ferris Wheel :s8:

boubi77

I guess it's willing buyer willing seller situation, esp to sets worth collecting

I have seen many people on this forum buying multiple copies of sets whenever got lobang. I am assuming you typically keep one for your own enjoyment (building / collecting / gifting) and intend to resell the other ones after EOL.

Has anyone speculating over Lego sets ever been worried that when EOL time comes, supply will exceed demand? Singapore is a small market and we often buy sets at a premium compared to other countries, limiting the chance of reselling abroad. I often wonder if the risk is really worth it, considering the annoyance of stocking the sets.

Parallel importers that resell on local eBay seem to follow a different pattern: keep stocks liquid, buy at discount, sell quick for a small profit. They rely on volume for returns and on current demand / trends for managing their stocks. This strategy reduces potential returns a lot, but lowers risk too.

I'd gladly hear your views.

skytan13

me ish go adventure cove.... then makan at Hard Rock.. then go LCS buy sale sets lol

how is hard rock far and pricing? kids friendly?
I usually go chillis after USS. Hard Rock abit far and always think it might not be kids friendly.

Paranoid

I have seen many people on this forum buying multiple copies of sets whenever got lobang. I am assuming you typically keep one for your own enjoyment (building / collecting / gifting) and intend to resell the other ones after EOL.

Has anyone speculating over Lego sets ever been worried that when EOL time comes, supply will exceed demand? Singapore is a small market and we often buy sets at a premium compared to other countries, limiting the chance of reselling abroad. I often wonder if the risk is really worth it, considering the annoyance of stocking the sets.

Parallel importers that resell on local eBay seem to follow a different pattern: keep stocks liquid, buy at discount, sell quick for a small profit. They rely on volume for returns and on current demand / trends for managing their stocks. This strategy reduces potential returns a lot, but lowers risk too.

I'd gladly hear your views.

Better put money into FD or stable blue chips with dividend returns.
LEGO investment too risky. You might be left with boxes of plastic bricks. Buyers often request for massive low balling discounts (knowing Sporeans, no discount no buy) leaving you with razor thin margin. Not worth the effort, time, transport, storage. Of course you can invest for fun with few sets. But keep your day job! Lol

Elmdus

I buy multiple copies if i see the set has potential to mod into other builds that i like. My sets are not for resale.

I lol at those who buy and sell quickly AKA flippers. They only earn marginal profit at most..from blur buyers who do not know the lowest prices or who are lazy to find the lowest cost sets.

The reason why haunted house prices rise so fast its most likely due to the green parts use for haunted house is the same color parts as green grocer.

Buying sets without understanding their worth will make u very fast lose money... Just like those who stock up on batman tumbler.. Lol

sci80251

Better put money into FD or stable blue chips with dividend returns.
LEGO investment too risky. You might be left with boxes of plastic bricks. Buyers often request for massive low balling discounts (knowing Sporeans, no discount no buy) leaving you with razor thin margin. Not worth the effort, time, transport, storage. Of course you can invest for fun with few sets. But keep your day job! Lol

Lego investment can only be a side line. But I do know of one hardcore investor who stock up 20 pieces of fire brigade & Grand Emporium (each) at 20% off retail price, when it was still in abundance. Now listing them one by one in ebay to make profit

Recce5

me ish go adventure cove.... then makan at Hard Rock.. then go LCS buy sale sets lol

We did drop by the Hard Rock Hotel lobby, lighting is kinda dark-ish and moody. Had to ask hotel staff where is the SEA seaworld :s13:

Recce5

I buy multiple copies if i see the set has potential to mod into other builds that i like. My sets are not for resale.

Same as me, I buy multiples because of the potential to combine into a bigger set, the other reason is with heavy discounts I buy them to use as parts, like most of the Chima sets :)

ultiminute

We did drop by the Hard Rock Hotel lobby, lighting is kinda dark-ish and moody. Had to ask hotel staff where is the SEA seaworld :s13:

LCS, no signboards, no problem to find but S.E.A aquarium got signboards need to ask for directions :s12::s12: Life of an AFOL

Recce5

Lego investment can only be a side line. But I do know of one hardcore investor who stock up 20 pieces of fire brigade & Grand Emporium (each) at 20% off retail price, when it was still in abundance. Now listing them one by one in ebay to make profit

20 sets of FB and GE?? :eek:

No wonder now Modular sets quite difficult to get here, it's the Mcdonald's Hello Kitty effect!

Every AFOL know about the potential profit from modulars (also UCS Star Wars sets) and will just buy it up upon release and some time later try to sell it to make a profit.

Recce5

Here's my very first (and only) BL purchase! :D

ry%3D400

Paranoid

20 sets of FB and GE?? :eek:

No wonder now Modular sets quite difficult to get here, it's the Mcdonald's Hello Kitty effect!

Every AFOL know about the potential profit from modulars (also UCS Star Wars sets) and will just buy it up upon release and some time later try to sell it to make a profit.

Some time later is like 3-4 years.
Not everyone have holding power and space to store 50 sets of big lego sets.
Of cus if have thats the best.

Recce5

LCS, no signboards, no problem to find but S.E.A aquarium got signboards need to ask for directions :s12::s12: Life of an AFOL

Actually 1st time I go RWS LCS earlier this year took me a while to find it, walked one full circle around that circular shopping stretch and also up and down the stairs at the main plaza area :)

The only reason why I can find it later on is because I saw people carrying the yellow Lego bags and roughly trace where they came from.

booest

Actually 1st time I go RWS LCS earlier this year took me a while to find it, walked one full circle around that circular shopping stretch and also up and down the stairs at the main plaza area :)

The only reason why I can find it later on is because I saw people carrying the yellow Lego bags and roughly trace where they came from.

I saw the renovation board when i was there before they open.. so i know where :D

ok lah... walk walk around see other stuff other them Lego also go lah

skytan13

haha, thought I did say on the thread where it was.

Unless you dun know where festive hotel is. :s13:
really hard to miss.

had a few staycation in festive before cos the rooms are jumbo.
my family + in laws all can stay and able to sleep comfortably.

meals are okay too

Recce5

haha, thought I did say on the thread where it was.

Unless you dun know where festive hotel is. :s13:
really hard to miss.

had a few staycation in festive before cos the rooms are jumbo.
my family + in laws all can stay and able to sleep comfortably.

meals are okay too

Never been there before prior to that, so yah, also no ideal what are the hotels there. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.