Free advice/discussion on buy/sell of Resale flat (Part 6)

lengendhw

I saw a resale flat with recess area. The sellers have gated it and shifted the main door to it. Almost all the same unit numbers have done the same thing.

How to confirm the recess area is legally bought and done up accordingly to hdb regulation? If it is in the valuation report, can it be confirmed legally bought? And after the hdb officer inspected the flat (is it before 1st appointment), if he never says anything, means all ok?

xiao_cai7

Request your agent to buy original HDB floorplan. Since its already built in current form, already approved by BCA.

Gribber

Request your agent to buy original HDB floorplan. Since its already built in current form, already approved by BCA.

The original floor plan might not be updated.

Mine is 1 such example. Doors and walls arrangement have been changed before. Checked with HDB they told me they wouldn't update it despite approving the design.

NikNikNik

I will be exercising my otp soon to purchase my resale flat. I will be going under the non citizen spouse scheme. Do my spouse need to be present for the first and/or second hdb appointment?

hahnhahnhahn

Anybody keen to share why Blk 150 Bt Batok St 11 S(650150) the Lease Start Date is 01 Jan 1998 (Remaining Lease:81 years) where its surroundings blocks are mostly in the 1984s? Blk 150 has only 4 floors and has shophouses at the ground floor..

only_lonely

Got the flat and loan from hdb. 25Yrs and 1.7k installment from cpf, 100+ from cash.
Now i have spare fund about 80k. Should i pay to hdb or refinance for bank loan? I am weak in finance, not sure pay the hdb loan quickly is better for future? Or put the money for deposit interest better?

sugaricing83

Got the flat and loan from hdb. 25Yrs and 1.7k installment from cpf, 100+ from cash.
Now i have spare fund about 80k. Should i pay to hdb or refinance for bank loan? I am weak in finance, not sure pay the hdb loan quickly is better for future? Or put the money for deposit interest better?

hmm.. i am not good in finance too, but i feel cash is king. if any emergencies, you will need cash. the house is "worthless" as you can't sell within the next 5 years should you need money urgently.

maybe you can consider using half of the money to buy blue chips to collect dividends? some blue chips give dividend of 4-5% per year. then the rest use it for emergencies.

only_lonely

hmm.. i am not good in finance too, but i feel cash is king. if any emergencies, you will need cash. the house is "worthless" as you can't sell within the next 5 years should you need money urgently.

maybe you can consider using half of the money to buy blue chips to collect dividends? some blue chips give dividend of 4-5% per year. then the rest use it for emergencies.
I see...never do such investment. Always place in fixed deposit account. Any lobang? Pm me...as this is not right thread. :)

dilphinus

I viewed a flat that I'm keen in and made an offer. Seller wants slightly higher which is within my budget. My concern now is that it was last transacted at $323k in April and seller is asking for $275k. Is there something I should be concern of? I did check if there are loan shark problems though.

crandfs

Check if he already bought new unit. Ask him if he can move out by 2nd appointment.

And check for loansharks by also asking the neighbours and looking for signs of fresh paint or smudges of incompletely removed paint.

dilphinus

Check if he already bought new unit. Ask him if he can move out by 2nd appointment.

And check for loansharks by also asking the neighbours and looking for signs of fresh paint or smudges of incompletely removed paint.

The unit is empty. I can actually start reno after the 1st appt. Will talk to the neighbours later this evening.

crandfs

The unit is empty. I can actually start reno after the 1st appt. Will talk to the neighbours later this evening.

In that case, he could be in a hurry to sell because he got a new house already, so he want to avoid ABSD or other IRAS, grant, HDB etc related restrictions. If so then you very lucky

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.