Vivian Bala "High rental hawker costs not a concern, it only costs a fraction"

You_Got_Mail

Here successful tenders for June. Most are below $200 only the popular locations are above $1K

The link you gave doesn't tally. The first page looks more like stalls at the wet market. Hawker selling chilled pork or piece and sundry goods doesn't make sense. The second page looks more like hawker stalls but out of the stalls only 2 stalls have rental $150 and $400. The rest are $728 and above with a significant number close to $1k or above. I expected more honesty from you rather your statement of "Most are below $200 only the popular locations are above $1k. That is really stretching the truth.

blade81

My understanding was rental was previously speculated and obviously i was mistaken. However with the low rent i wonder are hawkers able to make a decent living with the control pricing of food.

as i know they also face other issues like centralize cockery washing n distribution (for bukit panjang new hawker) the fees itself could more or less break even for the reduce in rent. Meaning end of the day they do not see any significant drop in operational cost but still expected to sell at lower rate?

testerjp

Hawkers are selling at higher price not because of higher rent.

Is they are hoping more profit due to higher cost from inflation.

In a way, it's still affiliated with the government but Vivian is right that rent is not the issue

Sofero

Sure.
It's true.
Like how card board picker stay in bungalow n do cardboard picking for leisure and exercise.
As usual some draft brainwashed opposition supporting joker making noise about something they don't know. Since VB took over, Rental have dropped to as low as $10 a month with most below $1K. Go check the Stall bidding process it's available online. He is just stating a fact, hawker rental is no longer an issue. Of coz those reading exclusively from fake news site like TRS and TOC would not know about this
Here successful tenders for June. Most are below $200 only the popular locations are above $1K
http://www.nea.gov.sg/docs/default-source/services-and-forms/tender-notice/list-of-successful-tenderers---june-2015.pdf?sfvrsn=0

Sent from HTC One M9 using GAGT

waiken

punggol sengkang no hawker leh only those high rental food court franchise

kindaichi83

pls get this f***** out of White Party, damn it.

my most hated MP of all time.

spent hundreds of millions on a 'failed' olympics then people asked for more money for the real poor, say they want to eat restaurant.

really really really really really really hope karma befalls such people

worcer

pls get this f***** out of White Party, damn it.

my most hated MP of all time.

spent hundreds of millions on a 'failed' olympics then people asked for more money for the real poor, say they want to eat restaurant.

really really really really really really hope karma befalls such people

He is my MP and I dun think my side ppl will vote him out...

Too many plp ppl here.

cuppa

Ya ya people became hawkers bcos they just want to exercise. Vote the whole bloody cabinet out !

HKS_Hippo

Yup.

We can nvr have cheap food. It's a fact.

Inflated prices but stagnant salaries.

If you all dont ask for increment, bonus, high pay... Maybe your food prices will stay the same

Those supplying the ingredients, doing the import, transport company, ultities company, hawker management... All face employees asking for higher salary
They lan lan have to hire so increase prices

Increase liao you all kpkb

bastogne

If you all dont ask for increment, bonus, high pay... Maybe your food prices will stay the same

Those supplying the ingredients, doing the import, transport company, ultities company, hawker management... All face employees asking for higher salary

increment amounts for both caregories diff hor. :o

ArcticCheetah

Right.
Workers increase 50 dollars Elites increase 500 000 dollars.
Then KPKB workers increment :s8:
Don't believe ask SMRT. :s13:

archkiller

Ya, that's why kopitiam square become so crowded when they lower the rental by 70%.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.