Put all $$$ into Cpf special account, pay housing loan using cash.

fitlies

First up, I'm glad there is a group of knowledgeable and financially-savvy people in this forum whom we can all learn from. Vested in CPF or otherwise, I'm pretty much certain that so long you/your employer are contributing to it it's safe to say that we all want to the most efficient way to put our money work.

"Put all $$$ into Cpf special account, pay housing loan using cash." - To TS's topic, perhaps there is a little confusion as to whether this refers to monies in excess (voluntary) or monies already in the Accounts. Correct me if I am wrong but perhaps it's more skewed towards using OA or bank loan to be serving the housing loan. Then again, maybe it's just my perspective looking from outside in.

If it is, I am on the verge of stepping into the same shoes as TS as well.

Taking Up A Bank Loan

My initial take was to take up a bank loan and transfer my OA to SA in order to make my (well since we're at it) already-locked-up monies to take advantage of the higher interest rate. Of course factors such as the the price of the house matters as it shows how comfortable you are in setting aside your disposable income to finance the mortgage. This will then vary according to your needs and wants.

Since part of the disposable income is already set aside for housing purpose, I now have even lesser disposable income for investing purposes, assuming my income stays the same. If I am prudent enough, I will be able to still invest albeit the lower cash on hand.

SA's compounding rate of 4% will allow me to reach the (insert future Minimum Sum; currently $161k) comfortably with excess, of which I can then withdraw the excess at (insert future statutory age; currently 55). As I did not utilize my OA for mortgage, I am not required to pay the accrued interest at any time.

My SA balance will then be added together with my RA balance, which will then form my CPF Life and allow me to receive the monthly payout of (insert amount then) at (insert future draw-down age).

Can the amount I am able to withdraw at the statutory age allow me to fulfill my needs in that gap between the statutory age and my draw-down age? Working backwards, taking into account inflation rate of 3%, laying down my needs, logically, maybe.

Why maybe? Because while I am able to work backwards and reach my desired goal with somewhat a higher level of peace of mind, at least on paper, given the indicative assurance from the official numbers and policies in place, things may change in due course, right?

The downside is that I may not be as cash-rich.

Using OA

Now compare that to using my OA for mortgage, which then leaves me more disposable income for investment purposes.

While I will still transfer excess monies from my OA to SA, the amount will inevitably be lower.

Since I have more disposable income, I should then put the monies to work by investing. I think here lies the difference whether people will get burnt or emerge victorious, and are just wanting to know how one can beat the CPF interest rates, including accrued interests via the various instruments.

Aside from that everything else remains similar - my SA's compounding rate of 4% will still allow me to reach the MS but perhaps require a longer time frame. At the statutory age, I will also have lesser amounts in excess to be withdrawn (maybe just the minimum $5k at worst). My monthly payout upon the draw-down age will also be lesser as my pool of SA + RA is lower (since I did not capitalize on the time factor to compound my monies due to the lower transferred amount or maybe none at all towards my SA, after starting my mortgage repayments).

Can the amount I am able to withdraw at the statutory age allow me to fulfill my needs in that gap between the statutory age and my draw-down age? Working backwards, taking into account inflation rate of 3%, laying down my needs, logically, maybe.

Why? Because I have to be savvy and not greedy during my investing time frame. Perhaps the annualized returns can set the yardstick for me, but past performances are not an indication of future results, right?

Which brings to another operative word - discipline.

I have to be discipline enough to ensure that my returns at the statutory age matches the amount I am able to withdraw in excess if I had chosen the bank loan route.

The thing is that one can only look back on hindsight and give their take on it. Otherwise, we can only either continuously try to earn more disposable income and let CPF make our money work (bank route) or be constantly be learning on investing to get higher returns while we put our mortgage matters at east (OA route).

It'll be good if forum members who are currently paying mortgages can share your experience for everyone, if not me, to learn from. :) What's your strategy like?

kehyi4

... My SA balance will then be added together with my RA balance ...
Nice post.

One small thing: The RA is formed by transferring the FRS amount from your SA first, then your OA. If your SA has more than the FRS, then your OA would not be touched. In any case, there is no existing RA balance for your SA balance to be added to...

martin

From CPF FAQ:

Q: Is the CPF LIFE monthly payout fixed?

A: CPF LIFE payouts are designed to be stable. However, we may adjust your monthly payout for the following reasons.
  • Changes in mortality experience. If more people live longer than expected, the monthly payout might be lower, and vice versa
  • Changes in interest rates. If interest rates are higher than expected, the monthly payout might be higher, and vice versa.
  • Transactions which affect your Retirement Account balance, for example, refund of money made from selling property, top-ups, lump-sum withdrawals and so on.
  • If you had chosen the LIFE Basic Plan, the reduction in any extra interest earned and paid out as the combined balances in your CPF accounts, including the amount committed to CPF LIFE, falls below $60,000.

Thanks. This is not very re-assuring for me. It did not say about inflation which is what worries a lot of us but instead say the payout may even reduce if we live longer. This is double whammy. If you live longer, say until 95, the payout fixed for you at age 65, say $x, what can it buy you when you are 95 given 30 years of inflation compounded along the way. I really worry.

deathman91

Thanks. This is not very re-assuring for me. It did not say about inflation which is what worries a lot of us but instead say the payout may even reduce if we live longer. This is double whammy. If you live longer, say until 95, the payout fixed for you at age 65, say $x, what can it buy you when you are 95 given 30 years of inflation compounded along the way. I really worry.

Sorry but pardon my ignorance, but what kind of annuity does adjustment of payouts due to inflation?

martin

Sorry but pardon my ignorance, but what kind of annuity does adjustment of payouts due to inflation?

Pardon my ignorance too. I have no idea if there are such annuities. I was just expressing my personal concerns that a fixed payout of an amount thats determined at age 65, i really wonder what that amount can do for me when i turn 95, if i do reach 95. It really worries me but i am not suggesting that i know of annuities that adjust with inflation. Would be good if there is though.

wts2013

Pardon my ignorance too. I have no idea if there are such annuities. I was just expressing my personal concerns that a fixed payout of an amount thats determined at age 65, i really wonder what that amount can do for me when i turn 95, if i do reach 95. It really worries me but i am not suggesting that i know of annuities that adjust with inflation. Would be good if there is though.

hahaha, dun worry unnecessarily cos u cannot change it, it is just another source of funds for u, it shld not be your only source of funds for retirement, so long u understand that, why worry for nothing, it is just delayed withdrawal of your cpf monies, hahaha

SCG8866T

Many people do not know that cash in OA can be used for other important things besides property. Like tuition fee for kids, wife or themselves.

That is why I do not understand why people would transfer all their OA money into SA just for that 4% interest and get stuck for an insane amount of time.

OngHuatHuat

Yes the pledging of property to take out half of your min sum is only when you reach 65. Which is a bummer(not forgetting the age may increase over time, the min sum too).

Hence i dont get why some self employed people are so extreme in doing full conversion from oa to sa and doing full VC to sa. There are limiting so much of their option by getting their ever increasing min sum, stuck for a very very long time.

There are much better alternatives out there esp if you are self employed.

Different people different plan. Your that Temasek bond doesn't work for me at all even at this point of time.

Coz my plan was put 100 over k aside, let it compile at the fastest possible pace without risk, then invest the rest of money in higher risk equities.

250 k to buy total risk bond is not that feasible to me actually. Reason is because, I need the extra money to do aggressive investment.

I think you misunderstood my stand right from the beginning.

OngHuatHuat

Many people do not know that cash in OA can be used for other important things besides property. Like tuition fee for kids, wife or themselves.

That is why I do not understand why people would transfer all their OA money into SA just for that 4% interest and get stuck for an insane amount of time.

Your tuition fee means tertiary education tuition fee right?
Take a loan is a more feasible option actually. For the kids.
Low interest and it doesn't compile when they studying.

Most people get married after they graduate. I rarely see people get married before they married.

Furthermore, postgraduate scholarship in local universities are relatively easier to get compared to undergraduate scholarship.

SCG8866T

Different people different plan. Your that Temasek bond doesn't work for me at all even at this point of time.

Coz my plan was put 100 over k aside, let it compile at the fastest possible pace without risk, then invest the rest of money in higher risk equities.

250 k to buy total risk bond is not that feasible to me actually. Reason is because, I need the extra money to do aggressive investment.

I think you misunderstood my stand right from the beginning.

You don't realize that your risk is even greater now. If your high risk equities investment go bust, you cannot fall back to your sa money to pay for your property or your kids tuition fee.

If your money is still in oa, you could. You can even use some of your oa money to invest in safe sgs bonds if their coupon rates are higher than oa.

OngHuatHuat

Normally interest will increase when inflation rate rises up.
That's why they say they are able to increase the payout.

SCG8866T

Your tuition fee means tertiary education tuition fee right?
Take a loan is a more feasible option actually. For the kids.
Low interest and it doesn't compile when they studying.

Most people get married after they graduate. I rarely see people get married before they married.

Furthermore, postgraduate scholarship in local universities are relatively easier to get compared to undergraduate scholarship.

Tuition fees for your kids. If you go broke from your high risk investment, you think you can get a loan?

You have no idea when you will need the money. Keep it in your oa is giving you a much lesser risk than putting it all in sa while you dabble in "high risk" equities.

https://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/FAQ/schemes/other-matters/cpf-education-scheme#faq16838

OngHuatHuat

You don't realize that your risk is even greater now. If your high risk equities investment go bust, you cannot fall back on your sa to pay your property or your kids education. If your money is still in oa, you could. You can even use some of your oa money to invest in safe sgs bonds if they are coupon is higher than oa.

You still don get the point.
Equity can rise or fall depending on the environment which add to uncertainty, but Cpf won't. Though it gives a lower return than equity, it helps to ensure my retirement fund not affected when there is financial crisis.
Not all shares can be bought using Cpf oa.

Sgs

OngHuatHuat

Sgx bonds are not the same kind of risk free product compared to Cpf special.

You can find a company that is willing to pay 7-8 % coupon rate, but risk wise? Definitely it is higher.

SCG8866T

You still don get the point.
Equity can rise or fall depending on the environment which add to uncertainty, but Cpf won't. Though it gives a lower return than equity, it helps to ensure my retirement fund not affected when there is financial crisis.
Not all shares can be bought using Cpf oa.

Sgs

If there is a financial crisis and all your high risk investments go bust you have not enough money to pay for your kids tuition and not enough money to buy a property. Banks refuse to loan you anything during that time. Which scenario is better? All your money still in OA or all your money still in SA? Before thinking of retirement, you should also think of survival when such scenarios happen. SA locks your money up permanently even if you need it for emergency it will not help you.

OngHuatHuat

Tuition fees for your kids. If you go broke from your high risk investment, you think you can get a loan?

You have no idea when you will need the money. Keep it in your oa is giving you a much lesser risk than putting it all in sa while you dabble in "high risk" equities.

https://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/FAQ/schemes/other-matters/cpf-education-scheme#faq16838

Huh? Why am I the one that get the study loan?

Do you understand university study loan? They just need a guarantor, but they don look at the qualification of the guarantor.

I am not getting a loan for my son or daughter(I don have one now). Even i have son or daughter, they are supposed to borrow from the bank themselves, not me lor.

And your emergency fund should come from your savings in deposit account or fixed deposit account. Isn't it funny if you put it in the oa which pays a lower interest, but also cannot be withdrawn when there is emergency?

Oa is quite rigid actually, if I do not need the money to pay for my property, there is not so much of it. And that's the main reason why I put in sa instead.

SCG8866T

Huh? Why am I the one that get the study loan?

Do you understand university study loan? They just need a guarantor, but they don look at the qualification of the guarantor.

I am not getting a loan for my son or daughter(I don have one now). Even i have son or daughter, they are supposed to borrow from the bank themselves, not me lor.

And your emergency fund should come from your savings in deposit account or fixed deposit account. Isn't it funny if you put it in the oa which pays a lower interest, but also cannot be withdrawn when there is emergency?

Oa is quite rigid actually, if I do not need the money to pay for my property, there is not so much of it. And that's the main reason why I put in sa instead.

You will know once you have your own kids.

You have already transferred so you will find many ways to justify your move, I don't blame you. Just hope that my reply can give people a more balanced view and hope anyone who wants to transfer all their oa into their sa after reading this thread to think it through carefully first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.