Estimated expense for a single in 3rm HDB flat

tabio80

Hi guys, I’m getting a 3rm HDB flat and getting ready to live alone. Am now calculating the expenses I will incur then. Would like to seek some expertise on guys who are staying alone about your estimated monthly expenses (excluding loan repayment). Are the following numbers realistic?

Utilities: $120 (1xair-con 10hours a day)
Telco: $80 (internet+mobile)
Groceries + eating out (hawker centre): $300
Home maintenance (breakdown of stuff) + S&CC: $200 (average out over a year)

Any others I missed out? Am only looking out for the essential & recurring items that have to be paid monthly as it will affect cash flow. Thanks for all comments!

Some-one

Hi guys, I’m getting a 3rm HDB flat and getting ready to live alone. Am now calculating the expenses I will incur then. Would like to seek some expertise on guys who are staying alone about your estimated monthly expenses (excluding loan repayment). Are the following numbers realistic?

Any others I missed out? Am only looking out for the essential & recurring items that have to be paid monthly as it will affect cash flow. Thanks for all comments!
You would need to include transport fees at $100 monthly depending on your home to workplace. If you intend to eat breakfast + lunch + dinner in hawker centre everyday, $300 is not enough.

I monitor my expenses every month. During weekends when I need to eat breakfast + lunch + dinner, it is already about $15. If you intend to cooked, you would need at least $400 per month.

Like what the above poster wrote, you need to include your monthly insurance. Depending on your family, I gave my parents an allowance every month as well.

ccostagmont

one month 31 days (should use the most conservative).
$10/day will need 310 sgd.

simple meals: cheapest say, $2.50 chicken rice, $3.00 chupchyepng; fruits (apples 5 for $1.95, that is if you still can find; eat 1 per day); breakfast using 3-in-1 kopi & 2 slices of bread (buy ntuc cheapo loaf - housebrand).
maybe wif daily $10 left over accummulated, once in a while can hoot a mcnonner meal OR for cheapo snacks...

s&cc will be $35-45/mth

utilities if on de aircon for 10 hours per day, still need to add water & refuse charge + 30% water conservation fee.
unlikely to be so cheap?

wat about your health insurance? or life/accident insurance?
can be a couple of hundreds per mth as well.

maybe can use average 10k/12mth as a gauge.
provided inflation doesn't spiral out of control, the formula may be able to tahan for at least the next 5-8 years.

meshpenstand

Why is this even in a home related forum? Because got 3 room ah?

I think the monthly expenses is very much dependable on yourself.

If you live like a king, 10 K also not enough. If you live like a pauper, 1 K is too much. I know friend who takes home 2 k a month, eats white bread for 2 meals a day can live in 5 room flat. I also know friend who took home 4 k a month, no flats but have 300 K saving. On the other hand, I know friend who take home 5K a month, no flat no saving. All spend on car, food and travel.

Like what other forum experts says, insurance depends on your risk level. You can spend up to 5 k a year or easily don't buy them at all. So what's your monthly expense?

You should answer better. (i.e. 300 dollars for food for me is too little. I clear that amount in about a week)

Verbatin

why need to factor in health/life insurance? whether you stay alone or with parents, you still need to buy insurance for yourself

you need to eat even if you stay with parents (and you give them food allowance). if stay alone u also need to eat (you still need to give food allowance but likely to be lower since u are not be stayng with them anymore).

one month 31 days (should use the most conservative).
$10/day will need 310 sgd.

simple meals: cheapest say, $2.50 chicken rice, $3.00 chupchyepng; fruits (apples 5 for $1.95, that is if you still can find; eat 1 per day); breakfast using 3-in-1 kopi & 2 slices of bread (buy ntuc cheapo loaf - housebrand).
maybe wif daily $10 left over accummulated, once in a while can hoot a mcnonner meal OR for cheapo snacks...

s&cc will be $35-45/mth

utilities if on de aircon for 10 hours per day, still need to add water & refuse charge + 30% water conservation fee.
unlikely to be so cheap?

wat about your health insurance? or life/accident insurance?
can be a couple of hundreds per mth as well.

maybe can use average 10k/12mth as a gauge.
provided inflation doesn't spiral out of control, the formula may be able to tahan for at least the next 5-8 years.

ccostagmont

why need to factor in health/life insurance? whether you stay alone or with parents, you still need to buy insurance for yourself

you need to eat even if you stay with parents (and you give them food allowance). if stay alone u also need to eat (you still need to give food allowance but likely to be lower since u are not be stayng with them anymore).

ya.
but t.s. seem to be asking about overall monthly expenses.

Verbatin

i thought TS is asking on the additional expenses of staying in a 3 room- not overall expenses (so no need to introduce item like health/life insurance and food expenses etc)

ya.
but t.s. seem to be asking about overall monthly expenses.

doody_

Err I think it being a housing subforum, TS is referring to additional expenses incurred by moving out to stay alone.

Don't forget to add in home insurance and property tax.

tabio80

hi guys, yes I'm not referring to parent allowance and my insurance. Those I am already paying now and will continue to pay. Also exclude home loan as I will calculate it separately.

I was asking for additional stuff that I might not know - which some brothers pointed out
- home insurance+property tax : agaragar how much for 3rm hdb monthly(or annual?)?
- s&cc (~$35-45/month thanks for the answer!)
- food : (3meals on weekend, dinner on weekday) sounds like buy groceries from ntuc and self-cook with some dinner at hawker also very chor... budget $400-500 here?
- utilities : $120 not enough? 10h/day for maybe 20days a month. In that case better to budget $150?

Now I feel bad that my $1000 allowance to my parents every month seem so little... :(

Some-one

hi guys, yes I'm not referring to parent allowance and my insurance. Those I am already paying now and will continue to pay. Also exclude home loan as I will calculate it separately.

I was asking for additional stuff that I might not know - which some brothers pointed out
- home insurance+property tax : agaragar how much for 3rm hdb monthly(or annual?)?
- s&cc (~$35-45/month thanks for the answer!)
- food : (3meals on weekend, dinner on weekday) sounds like buy groceries from ntuc and self-cook with some dinner at hawker also very chor... budget $400-500 here?
- utilities : $120 not enough? 10h/day for maybe 20days a month. In that case better to budget $150?

Now I feel bad that my $1000 allowance to my parents every month seem so little... :(

Yes. It's about there even if you want to do some cooking yourself. Outside food is pretty expensive nowadays.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.