If you have the option to choose CPF or no CPF

hanz170

I nv understood and impact of cpf until I met my friends outside and some are business owners and sole proprietors and they are struggling to buy a decent flat without contributing to cpf.

They did not practice sound financial management the way cpf had imposed into wage earners like us.

Did you study if CPF had in any way contributed to ever raising cost of these flats??? you should look into this a but more. When someone is paying real hard cash, his decision would be different than someone paying out of "unreal" money. I just saying, but you can research it more yourself.

K.M.T.

I nv understood and impact of cpf until I met my friends outside and some are business owners and sole proprietors and they are struggling to buy a decent flat without contributing to cpf.

They did not practice sound financial management the way cpf had imposed into wage earners like us.

just like gst vouchers, you can give out supposedly claim to offset gst increase for basic necessities.

but what do you actually see people do with that money? iphone? dye hair? and so on.:s13:

one man's meat is another's poison. I am just thankful that i am one of the rare ones that cpf works to my advantage.

harbinger255

Did you study if CPF had in any way contributed to ever raising cost of these flats??? you should look into this a but more. When someone is paying real hard cash, his decision would be different than someone paying out of "unreal" money. I just saying, but you can research it more yourself.
So you're blaming the system for cultivating greed that is inherent in the citizens....? Your correlation choices actually seem quite in line with our civil service..... :s13:

Sent from a galaxy far far away using GAGT

spiritGate

yah like bigfoot many many. :s22:

and ppl dont complain about CPF, they complained about unable to withdraw (in full). that doesnt make them guilty of spending all their money at hand.

logic failed, useless red herring.
Well certainly I cant deny the fact that the min sum increase which affect me as well. But cpf structure does not really consist of all the negative point but positive point as well. I do understand the frustration that ppl are raising. But more than that, rather then focusing on cpf, I would rather focus on job/career opportunity problem in singapore. It is disheartening to see that there is a thread about jobless ppl looking for job for months to years. Cpf we will have ways to use it, buying hdb, redrawing certain amount per month when we are old, but if no job means no income, which is why I dun see cpf as a critical issue as compare to other things that we shld focus on. Just my opinion

Sent from I am the king of game using GAGT

hanz170

You're voting for gov, not policies - very much doubt this CPF issue will change even if you vote in a new government this year...

Gov form policies... what talking you??? even if it didn't change Gov, it is left for Gov of the day to ponder on the results and see what portion of this contributed to people's unhappiness.

Then next election, if they ever get desperate for votes and implement populist changes just to buy votes.... THAT'S when you know a country is screwed....

What most people want is for Gov to be transparent, many MPs also don't even have a clue on our reserves, how can they represent us when they also don't know about CPF coffers? how it is invested, heck even a President asks these can get into some form of boycott.

"Democracy" is overrated, even in our local form

overrated only if many people think it is.. the young are slowly and surely making changes in the right direction, it will be big mistake to underestimate their resolve.

harbinger255

Gov form policies... what talking you??? even if it didn't change Gov, it is left for Gov of the day to ponder on the results and see what portion of this contributed to people's unhappiness.

What most people want is for Gov to be transparent, many MPs also don't even have a clue on our reserves, how can they represent us when they also don't know about CPF coffers? how it is invested, heck even a President asks these can get into some form of boycott.

overrated only if many people think it is.. the young are slowly and surely making changes in the right direction, it will be big mistake to underestimate their resolve.
Sigh.... How naive if you think a new government can just step and undo everything just like that.... :s13:

OK maybe they can, but if they do, damn sure I will be bailing out in that scenario

hanz170

So you're blaming the system for cultivating greed that is inherent in the citizens....? Your correlation choices actually seem quite in line with our civil service..... :s13:

The environment created this situation, a responsible Gov to have not allowed it to go out of whack, but then again they thought this could raise the value of people's wealth... problem with that is it only gives a false value and only a small minority the older folks. But causing big problems to the younger generations, they are left with cost that is unreachable unless they owe Banks 25-30yrs to pay off. It is forcing the citizens into a "Rat Race" that they cannot escape from.

CAShop

Most EDMW and every stupid pple will say no CPF.

Anyone with a brain with say yes to CPF

hanz170

Sigh.... How naive if you think a new government can just step and undo everything just like that.... :s13:

OK maybe they can, but if they do, damn sure I will be bailing out in that scenario

Good luck to you if you can bail, I too would presently like to bail and take out my CPF if not for family still here holding me back.

LHC987

just like gst vouchers, you can give out supposedly claim to offset gst increase for basic necessities.

but what do you actually see people do with that money? iphone? dye hair? and so on.:s13:

one man's meat is another's poison. I am just thankful that i am one of the rare ones that cpf works to my advantage.

It's easy to say this when one is well off. To blame people's situation on their bad financial management.

But not always such case, some people just have crap luck. Sick parents, bad spouse etc etc. Some people genuinely needs money.

I'm lucky enough. I assume you are too. But I think S'pore is too extreme in terms of lack of welfare.

A bit more welfare would be better, even if I don't really benefit from it.

Hell, I'm not even that much against the change from lump sum to annuity. I'll just reduce my cash savings for retirement/inheritance. But not all so lucky.

hanz170

Most EDMW and every stupid pple will say no CPF.

Anyone with a brain with say yes to CPF

People are not saying NO to long term savings plan or retirement plan, just not Gov run CPF where there is no transparency, I doubt you would understand the difference.

harbinger255

The environment created this situation, a responsible Gov to have not allowed it to go out of whack, but then again they thought this could raise the value of people's wealth... problem with that is it only gives a false value and only a small minority the older folks. But causing big problems to the younger generations, they are left with cost that is unreachable unless they owe Banks 25-30yrs to pay off. It is forcing the citizens into a "Rat Race" that they cannot escape from.
Heh while I agree with this with me still wanting to throttle one particular ugly bugger who created the most of this mess, right now i feel we are still in a damage control phase...

You do not reverse a mistake and watch the ppl who benefited from it burn either... Neither do you make another mistake to correct the first

Lss

First of all, u are a bad investor.

Employers will tell u this... "If u are with CPF, we will pay u $5000. If u are not, we will pay u the difference"

U too naive.

Use CPF buy overpriced property that leak sheet into ur house and flood when it rains??? NO WAY!

How you know I bad investor arh :s11:

:s13: maybe you are the naive one. No CPF and not ft tax would be your main advantage. You can price yourself better than other sinkies but you will not be able to win ft who ask for much lesser.

Why not you renounce citizenship and ask your boss to rehire you and give you CPF in cash?

CAShop

People are not saying NO to long term savings plan or retirement plan, just not Gov run CPF where there is no transparency, I doubt you would understand the difference.

I doubt U understand how EDMW works :s13::s13::s13::s13:

U say no to that and EDMW say no to that is 2 different thing. I've been debating with so many jokers from EDMW on this issue, I can frankly tell U, U're in the minority here :s13::s13::s13:

cbu

Think of the big picture...
without CPF, GST will be 25%!!!
arm chioed...

hanz170

Heh while I agree with this with me still wanting to throttle one particular ugly bugger who created the most of this mess, right now i feel we are still in a damage control phase...

You do not reverse a mistake and watch the ppl who benefited from it burn either... Neither do you make another mistake to correct the first

Good that you acknowledge there is a mess created by whomever that is you think cause this "ugly bugger".

But is there another way?? to correct this some cohort will be taking a big cut, if we reduced the cost of flats significantly, the younger generations not yet into buying a flat will probably better off, the older generations will not be affected they will need a place to stay so unlikely be selling their current flat even if value drops... those currently paying their mortgage and will be paying for many more years to come will.. these are the people affected.

Now that you acknowledge the mess, try to see why we are in this.. and the way out will cause a big heartache to many.. I too won't have answers, but it will be a painful outcome one way or another, this is what I see.

What they tried to do was raise our salaries, but that now caused us to be priced out or employment and why FTs are in.. you see the snowball?? anyway...

hanz170

I doubt U understand how EDMW works :s13::s13::s13::s13:

U say no to that and EDMW say no to that is 2 different thing. I've been debating with so many jokers from EDMW on this issue, I can frankly tell U, U're in the minority here :s13::s13::s13:

Well, I carry one vote.. minority or not it is not up to you to say. Everyone has their own opinion, I am just voicing mine.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.