[GPGT] Taxi Driver Now Worried About Foreign Competition

blankies

pz3qIm8.jpg

Taxi Uncles thought PAP will protect their ricebowl?

I thought most taxi drivers support PAP
because they think immigration and 6.9M will bring more them customers?

Orbigoot,
never heed the warnings
that more immigrants also mean more competitors
against you sooner or later,
whatever your occupation.

:s22:

why do you think some taxi drivers become taxi drivers in the first place? They were squeezed out from competition. seems like you are in some kind of tower as wel

bttorn

If you just know your worth, no need to worry about competition.

You can be hardworking and competent at your job, but don't forget, there is an ft who can afford to do that for half the salary

blurwulf

Am i the only one think that it's good to have competition in taxi industry? From a passengers point of view of course.
I don't take cab very often these days, but last time i rem those taxi drivers knn behaved like they're king. I rem standing at roadside waiting more than 1/2 hr and dozen taxis zoomed pass not even 1 of them bothered to stop. Too good business good money last time is it? Not anymore liao...

Sent from my butthole using GAGT

ahgohgoh

The proper way to have competition is for more registered companies to be formed.

I dont like Uber because every mother f*cker can be a Uber driver. There is no HR employment selection. A rapist can be Uber driver.

Or is this a myth?

genie47

The proper way to have competition is for more registered companies to be formed.

I dont like Uber because every mother f*cker can be a Uber driver. There is no HR employment selection. A rapist can be Uber driver.

Or is this a myth?
Myth. Uber die die want business and will do whatever it takes to achieve compliance. India's rape case involving Uber made them move to achieve compliance and security for India's personal transport market. Uber in India is pretty prevalent and good now.

There is even Uber Intercity for India.

I took Uber for SG, India, The Philippines, Malaysia, USA and Thailand.

Sent from the back of and UberX 9 year-old Toyota Altis

Edge of Destiny

Without Driver who will send you to your destination? Driver still plays important role in our community.

Maybe i misunderstood your statement. When you said "worth" what do you mean?

Anyway,
Lets set a universal rating of 1 to 10.
Singapore has 10 drivers.
Each driver has a different rating from 1 to 10.

Now government open legs to a foreign country. This foreign country has 100 drivers who can come to SG. Every ten of them have a different rating from 1 to 10.

now lets assume maximum allocation of drivers in SG is 20. If all the 10s and 9s come to SG. The taxi drivers with rating of 1 to 8 will be forced out due to this open leg policy. This is what locals in their own developed countries are scared of, when your local job market becomes a global job market because of government policy. All the 1s to 8s will be forced to find other jobs or be underemployed or even worse, jobless.

repentance

pz3qIm8.jpg

Taxi Uncles thought PAP will protect their ricebowl?

I thought most taxi drivers support PAP
because they think immigration and 6.9M will bring more them customers?

Orbigoot,
never heed the warnings
that more immigrants also mean more competitors
against you sooner or later,
whatever your occupation.

:s22:

From my personal experiences, taxi uncles are mostly anti-PAP.

dezzo69

there is more than enuff taxis / drivers in SG.

the thing is for a damn long time, they are given a lot of protection with all those surcharges and whats not.

i think its time to give the taxi services a REAL overhaul.

scrape all the day time surcharges. retain X mileage rule. let taxis have fuel subsidies (don't they already have this?). retain night time surcharges and special rules with regards to in city booking / pick ups.

stemcell

I tot... Uber and grabcar ish drive by sinkies?

Nope, anyone got a car can be driver.

On the another hànd, SG cab drivers a pathetic.

Refuse pickup, keep increasing price due to monopoly and sometime v rude

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.