Admin executive paid yearly insurance premiums higher than annual pay

Shion

Senior Mentor
Admin executive paid yearly insurance premiums higher than annual pay

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/insurance-premium-higher-than-her-pay

An endowment insurance plan bought two years ago by Madam Corinne Han has proved a costly mistake.

The Prudential policy, which Madam Han, 57, bought at United Overseas Bank (UOB), requires her to pay yearly premiums higher than her annual pay.

She told The Straits Times that her intention in visiting UOB in 2013 was to open an account and inquire about fixed deposits. Instead, she ended up purchasing the policy that came with freebies like an air-fryer and a steamer.

Madam Han, an administrative executive with O-level education, earns about $30,000 a year, but the policy requires her to fork out an annual premium of $40,000 for five years, translating to total premiums of $200,000. So far, she has paid $80,000.

Back in 2013, when she visited UOB, she had $350,000 on hand due to a divorce settlement.

But after accounting for legal fees and loan payments, she would be left with about $100,000, insufficient to pay for the total premiums of $200,000.

As she was staying with her mother at the time, she rented out three rooms in her HDB flat. This gave her a combined monthly rental income of $2,000 in 2013. It has since dropped to about $1,000.

This is how the PruSave Max Limited Pay plan works.

At the end of the 10-year maturity period, Madam Han is projected to receive a maturity benefit of $236,000 - that is, a potential gain of $36,000 - if Prudential can earn 4.75 per cent on its investments.

By then, the value of the accumulated premiums, based on the illustrated rate of 4.75 per cent, would have grown to $291,172.

However, the "Effect of Deduction" (EOD) would amount to about $55,000, which leaves a non-guaranteed maturity sum of $236,000 to Madam Han. The EOD - which is due to Prudential - includes the cost of insurance, distribution cost, expenses and surrender charge.

If Prudential's investment return is 3.25 per cent, the maturity benefit is projected to be $217,768.

However, both the projected maturity figures of $236,000 and $217,768 are non-guaranteed.

The figures are used by the insurer for illustrative purposes, something that may be the source of confusion as the maturity benefits may be misconstrued to be between these two rates of returns.

The figure that is guaranteed, as indicated in the policy's benefit illustration, is actually $181,000 - a sum that is lower than the total premiums Madam Han would have coughed up for the plan.

The plan she has comes with a death benefit of 105 per cent, which means the policy provides negligible protection.

Endowment plans typically are savings plans that come with insurance protection which, in this case, is nominal. Customers pay premiums over a fixed period and, typically, a small portion of the premiums is deducted to pay for insurance cover. The rest is invested. So most customers would expect to get their money back, plus interest, when the endowment policy expires.

"I didn't know that I may get back less than $236,000, which I believed was guaranteed," says Madam Han.

The policy documents state that it is not a savings account and that the actual benefits are not guaranteed.

There is still the question of how Madam Han ended up buying this plan.

After paying for two years, she now faces financial difficulty in paying future premiums. UOB has informed her that the annual premiums could be reduced, but she would have to forgo the excess premiums that were paid in the first two years.

This means that if she pays a reduced annual premium of, say, $20,000 for the remaining three years, she will forgo the excess $40,000 that was paid in the first two years.

Madam Han has complained to UOB and wants to surrender the policy and recover her premiums.

A UOB spokesman told The Straits Times: "We will be arranging a meeting with Madam Han to clarify and address the matter with her."

Madam Han has four children, aged 20 to 27. Two of them have not completed their formal education.

starfish.starfish

This just heightened my belief that old folks should not have too much free cash lying around, easy target for others.

Shion

Senior Mentor
From what I know, people always advise not to buy insurance from banks

FP_IFA

In fixed d, ssb or other bonds.
If really a lot of cash I would even say properties.

The banks will target you once when you go in to purchase a fixed D or when your fixed D matured. It always happened. My aunt who is 66 got persuaded to buy a European fund when she go to collect her matured fixed D. And she is still convinced the banker is a good banker cause later he switch her to another lower risk fund. The banker probably just churning her money.

Shion

Senior Mentor
In fixed d, ssb or other bonds.
If really a lot of cash I would even say properties.

Or they can park their money in blue chips and collect dividends :)

But well...I think people needs to be more educated when it comes to insurance, even for myself.

How many of us really know what are we really buying, or are we sweetened by the high returns the agents emphasize on?

Shion

Senior Mentor
The banks will target you once when you go in to purchase a fixed D or when your fixed D matured. It always happened. My aunt who is 66 got persuaded to buy a European fund when she go to collect her matured fixed D. And she is still convinced the banker is a good banker cause later he switch her to another lower risk fund. The banker probably just churning her money.

Hmm...Is this a norm among banks ?

So I suppose you brought your aunt back to reality ?

FP_IFA

No she is still with them. Overall she is still losing money so she didn't withdraw out. The new fund (balanced fund) is less risky now though.

Yes this is quite common. Heard it quite frequently from my clients of how their parents are targeted. Maybe next time when we are old and our mind are not so good anymore, we will be the new target of the younger generation. haha...

Shion

Senior Mentor
No she is still with them. Overall she is still losing money so she didn't withdraw out. The new fund (balanced fund) is less risky now though.

Yes this is quite common. Heard it quite frequently from my clients of how their parents are targeted. Maybe next time when we are old and our mind are not so good anymore, we will be the new target of the younger generation. haha...

Sigh...Really must educate and brainwash ourselves :(

Quite unethical, or is it because it is a sales-related job, ethics does not exist :eek:

That is what I feel. No offense to all.

FP_IFA

Sigh...Really must educate and brainwash ourselves :(

Quite unethical, or is it because it is a sales-related job, ethics does not exist :eek:

That is what I feel. No offense to all.

We are taught ethics. But in a stressful environment like banking, people frequently threw it aside to survive the stress and pressure of keeping the job. They have a family to feed too.

The environment need to change I guess.

Lewis.T

Moral of the story is
Don't buy a policy that costs 200k over 5 years when you have 100k.

Second moral of the story is
Don't buy a non capital guaranteed product if your purpose is to preserve the capital

starfish.starfish

Or they can park their money in blue chips and collect dividends :)

But well...I think people needs to be more educated when it comes to insurance, even for myself.

How many of us really know what are we really buying, or are we sweetened by the high returns the agents emphasize on?

Based on their age, stocks might not be the best as they will be scared if price dropped and then panic sell.
Best is safe safe kind, with capital protections and some interest/ dividend can liao.
Main purpose is to lock their money in somewhere that cannot take out too easily.

starfish.starfish

For family esp old folks the important thing is not to scold them when they sign in to wrong packages else they might not inform you. Best is to make them feel comfortable to tell you so you can help check if it's good or bad investment. If turns out to be lousy package can immediately go cancel during the cool off period.

And yes some education to them is always good just that they are often confused by the jargons and all. So still best is either check for them or limit their money.

Shion

Senior Mentor
We are taught ethics. But in a stressful environment like banking, people frequently threw it aside to survive the stress and pressure of keeping the job. They have a family to feed too.

The environment need to change I guess.

Can I put it this way -- There are simply too many people of the same role in this industry ?

dork32

yes, it is a norm.

i uncle. whenever i go bank and place fd, chio chio gal always ask me to buy unit trust, insurance, structured deposit and all sort of crab. but i not stupid uncle. not moved by chio gals antics.

Shion

Senior Mentor
yes, it is a norm.

i uncle. whenever i go bank and place fd, chio chio gal always ask me to buy unit trust, insurance, structured deposit and all sort of crab. but i not stupid uncle. not moved by chio gals antics.

I see. Hmm...

Anyway, seems that people have slowly forgotten Lehman Brothers bond

doody_

Hopefully UOB will right this wrong and also take some action against that staff. The staff obviously sold something that was not right for the customer, and it's likely for the attractive commission.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Hopefully UOB will right this wrong and also take some action against that staff. The staff obviously sold something that was not right for the customer, and it's likely for the attractive commission.

Since it appeared in the news, I guess they will indeed do something.

But also depends how hard the customer want to go against UOB ?

chopra

I hate that uob vase advertisement. Damn fake.

The prudential leechers act like they represent uob n pitch their biz in all branches!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.