Huawei Nexus 6P (2015)

MichaelTan

It's a good thing. I've seen in 3rd world countries, where people ask their phone guys to `put in the <foreign script> font.' The phone guys usually good, but some put in keylogger OS and other malware. And the user doesn't know what's going on.

With this message, thousands of people can be saved from their personal details and email etc from being stolen by the phone repair guys, because they will ask the repair guy, `you've screwed my phone, how'?

As for experts, you can just restore the image from google official site and relock bootloader. At least you know what you doing roughly. Most people don't, and they can be safeguarded to some extent.

anodiz3soh

I replied someone here who asked this, but so far I am not facing any overheating issues. I don't really play games so I not sure if this helps, I mostly check mail and read stuff on it, plus surfing net.

paiseh... if i missed that. Thanks for the confirmation.

doki81

****i... mai scare me leh.. I always charge my phones overnight, really don't want to change my pattern after so many years..

you see this http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/peo...own-FACE-mobile-phone-explodes-charging.html? if can..charge your phone around 9pm...and it should done charging by 10pm? unplug it from charging..dont leave it there..you never know what will happen if you charge overnight...even the great apple iphone exploded...

nothing is impossible..

batboyz

****i... mai scare me leh.. I always charge my phones overnight, really don't want to change my pattern after so many years..

Based on personal exp, it's still better not to do that.

I am using one of my old phones as a surveillance camera at home, hence it's plugged to the power point 24/7. I got 2 batteries bloated in less than 6 months. Of course, this is a completely different use case, but just would like to mention that.

Vulpix

you see this? if can..charge your phone around 9pm...and it should done charging by 10pm? unplug it from charging..dont leave it there..you never know what will happen if you charge overnight...even the great apple iphone exploded...

nothing is impossible..

Based on personal exp, it's still better not to do that.

I am using one of my old phones as a surveillance camera at home, hence it's plugged to the power point 24/7. I got 2 batteries bloated in less than 6 months. Of course, this is a completely different use case, but just would like to mention that.

You plug in 24/7 of course lah. Plugging your phone in overnight will not destroy the battery. I've done that for every single phone of mine including the Nexus 6, which will bloat up and cause the back to stretch if the battery was bloated. But so far it has never happened.

Heat is the number one killer for batteries, as long your phone not doing anything stupid while it's charging, it should be fine. The ones that play games while their phone charging are the ones at a bigger risk, not the ones charging overnight.

Seriously, if you're only leaving overnight for 8-10 hours, it won't destroy your battery. If you are that worried, make sure the phone not at your bedside, charge it further away so if touchwood anything happen, it's limited to the site.

batboyz

You plug in 24/7 of course lah. Plugging your phone in overnight will not destroy the battery. I've done that for every single phone of mine including the Nexus 6, which will bloat up and cause the back to stretch if the battery was bloated. But so far it has never happened.

Yes, that's why I mentioned it was a completely different use case, but what I would like to mention was that it is still not "healthy" for the battery. Yes, it won't bloat/damage as fast as my use case, but it will still damage the batt in some ways in the future.

Vulpix

Yes, that's why I mentioned it was a completely different use case, but what I would like to mention was that it is still not "healthy" for the battery. Yes, it won't bloat/damage as fast as my use case, but it will still damage the batt in some ways in the future.

Heat is the thing killing batteries. Leaving it overnight will not kill the battery. Playing games on it while charging will create a lot of heat. When you mention "damage", do you mean wear and tear? All batteries will eventually wear out.

batboyz

Heat is the thing killing batteries. Leaving it overnight will not kill the battery. Playing games on it while charging will create a lot of heat. When you mention "damage", do you mean wear and tear? All batteries will eventually wear out.

Of course, all batteries will eventually wear out. Again, as I mentioned, I am not trying to imply that leaving it charging overnight will kill the battery. However, I am pretty sure, it will damage (wear/tear/etc) faster than it should. The point that I was trying to imply was, if one wants to manage the battery life (wear/tear/etc) better, keeping it plugged in after charged is not encouraged.

Vulpix

Of course, all batteries will eventually wear out. Again, as I mentioned, I am not trying to imply that leaving it charging overnight will kill the battery. However, I am pretty sure, it will damage (wear/tear/etc) faster than it should. The point that I was trying to imply was, if one wants to manage the battery life (wear/tear/etc) better, keeping it plugged in after charged is not encouraged.

It's cool. I just want to point out that most modern chargers will not allow phones to "overcharge" if it's not faulty. Most modern chargers will trickle charge around 90-95% of your battery so it doesn't wear it out.

Keeping it plugged in for a reasonable amount of time should not wear out the battery in a significant way.

batboyz

It's cool. I just want to point out that most modern chargers will not allow phones to "overcharge" if it's not faulty. Most modern chargers will trickle charge around 90-95% of your battery so it doesn't wear it out.

Keeping it plugged in for a reasonable amount of time should not wear out the battery in a significant way.

Yes, exactly, as based on your own word "reasonable amount of time", which is quite relative in terms of "overnight" thing and different battery tolerance.

Vulpix

Yes, exactly, as based on your own word "reasonable amount of time", which is quite relative in terms of "overnight" thing and different battery tolerance.

Overnight is my definition of a "reasonable amount of time". I'm pretty sure most manufacturers test their phones in their labs with the assumption that most users will leave their phone charging overnight for 8-12 hours.

sunht

Now the phone is smart enough to be able to control the current flowing to battery, it will stop when battery is full (as long as you use original battery).

newouverture

It has become a norm that people charge phones overnight these days. I am sure manufacturers wouldn't want damage their reputation for making a phone explode.

On a side note, as Vulpix mentioned, if you are skeptical, just don't put near where you are. :)

Anyway, removable battery seems to be a rare find nowadays. If LG and Samsung could and still make phones that are slim yet removable battery, what is stopping others? I can easily forgo the glass or metal backs for a removable batt anytime since once put on casings, no matter what material backs also LPPL.

But from what I heard, there's more than just pure looks for having a non-removable batt. It's got to do with being able to monitor and detect all our conversations and activities even when the phone is off. You seen that in mission impossible movies, agents will take out the battery of the phone when they want privacy.... So....

Sent from Oneplus 2 using GAGT

doki81

today evening will have announcement.

lol....i think the PO start next week monday? will we have the extra $50 google music voucher? or any extended warranty for this phone? or the PO also gave clear case or maybe SP? :s12:

doki81

It has become a norm that people charge phones overnight these days. I am sure manufacturers wouldn't want damage their reputation for making a phone explode.

On a side note, as Vulpix mentioned, if you are skeptical, just don't put near where you are. :)

Anyway, removable battery seems to be a rare find nowadays. If LG and Samsung could and still make phones that are slim yet removable battery, what is stopping others? I can easily forgo the glass or metal backs for a removable batt anytime since once put on casings, no matter what material backs also LPPL.

But from what I heard, there's more than just pure looks for having a non-removable batt. It's got to do with being able to monitor and detect all our conversations and activities even when the phone is off. You seen that in mission impossible movies, agents will take out the battery of the phone when they want privacy.... So....

Sent from Oneplus 2 using GAGT

with non-removable battery...the phone provider will want you to change your phone after the warranty expired :) if like LG G4...if mine after warrantt over and the battery spoilt..i will just buy another new battery and use it for another year.

but if your phone is non-removable battery..your battery spoilt...you most likely will just get a new phone..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.