Taxi Driver Lip Lai

itedino

I also heard drivers kanna caught using the phone without holder or kanna sack from using 3rd party apps.

Sent from pulau hantu using GAGT

Law is cannot without holder. Hand free ok.

3rd party app sack driver cos they misuse the app to hit the incentive set by the 3rd party app companies. They can ask their frz to book and he confirmed on the spot in exchange of incentive.

Incentive is good. can hit up to $500 per month.

ft7001

Hi to all taxi drivers here!

I have decided that I will want to apply for a license and start driving a cab (PT) to make ends meet. (Haiz, $ not enough)

Questions:
1. I am supposed to have a 'clean' driving record. How clean is 'clean'? Die die must have 24 demerit points? Pending court case? I am asking because 5 mths ago, I got 3 points deducted from my 24 points due to parking on yellow zig-zag line. Otherwise, I am 'clean'.

2. After the TVL is approved and my medical checkup done, I am supposed to go to the taxi association to take the course. (The building at Kim Yam Road) But, is this the only place in SG that is conducting the course? Or are there other centers that conducts the training classes?

Hope to get some answers from the Lau Jiao taxi drivers here.

cheers!

d3n

Hi to all taxi drivers here!

I have decided that I will want to apply for a license and start driving a cab (PT) to make ends meet. (Haiz, $ not enough)

Questions:
1. I am supposed to have a 'clean' driving record. How clean is 'clean'? Die die must have 24 demerit points? Pending court case? I am asking because 5 mths ago, I got 3 points deducted from my 24 points due to parking on yellow zig-zag line. Otherwise, I am 'clean'.

2. After the TVL is approved and my medical checkup done, I am supposed to go to the taxi association to take the course. (The building at Kim Yam Road) But, is this the only place in SG that is conducting the course? Or are there other centers that conducts the training classes?

Hope to get some answers from the Lau Jiao taxi drivers here.

cheers!

1. not required to have full pts. as long as license is still valid and can drive.

2. you can go to the respective taxi companies to take the course too. i took mine at comfort.

itedino

Questions:
Ans: I think not more than 12 points

3 centre, SMRT, COMFORT and KIM YAN

ft7001

Questions:
Ans: I think not more than 12 points

3 centre, SMRT, COMFORT and KIM YAN

Thanks for the clear answers! :)

But where is comfort ? smrt? I meant the place where the classes are conducted.

skai_11

May i ask if the driving licence is suspended, e.g 2 years, what will happen to the vocational licence?

Does one have to retake the vocational licence afresh or just attend refresher course or just reapply to reinstate the vocational licence?

LouisSaha

guys, intend to test the life of working as taxi driver.
any pointers to look out for? any guides too?
how much are the average earnings?
My job alone not enough to meet dead end, got 2 family need to take care. :(

ZhuTou!

Read from edmw
That guy work around 13 hrs for 6.5 days
Earning range from 3-5k after deduct all cost

d3n

keep your full time job. drive weekend (one sat) night shift. should make u ard $600-800 extra per mth.

LouisSaha

Read from edmw
That guy work around 13 hrs for 6.5 days
Earning range from 3-5k after deduct all cost

ok thanks, will do a search on that thread.

keep your full time job. drive weekend (one sat) night shift. should make u ard $600-800 extra per mth.

Yup, keeping my day time job. Driving taxi at night from mon-sat. I know it's tired. But no choice.

d3n

Yup, keeping my day time job. Driving taxi at night from mon-sat. I know it's tired. But no choice.

bro, for the sake of your family, dun pia until so jialat.

health and safety is more important.

if your current pay cannot survive, keep out a look out for better paid job then jump ship.

if u need to drive mon - sat, keep it to probably alternate days between these days.

cos if u fall... your families will suffer worst.

money is never earn enough one... reduce your spendings dun over spend, days still can get by.

LouisSaha

bro, for the sake of your family, dun pia until so jialat.

health and safety is more important.

if your current pay cannot survive, keep out a look out for better paid job then jump ship.

if u need to drive mon - sat, keep it to probably alternate days between these days.

cos if u fall... your families will suffer worst.

money is never earn enough one... reduce your spendings dun over spend, days still can get by.

Thanks bro.
No choice man, sg too expensive.
Need to feed 2 family somemore....

Maybe I try to drive, mon - wed - fri & sun.
Normally rental is 130 for i40?

d3n

Thanks bro.
No choice man, sg too expensive.
Need to feed 2 family somemore....

Maybe I try to drive, mon - wed - fri & sun.
Normally rental is 130 for i40?

around there. if u do night shift, u pay half of the rental the other half is the hirer pay one. u only pay full amount if u drive the 2 shifts.

typically the diesel will cost about $20-$25 for half shift depend how u drive.

for weekdays, my exp last time while i am still looking for a job, typically after 3am not much customers to pick up already.

from 11pm-2am, u can try your luck at Orchard Tower, Clarke Quay or Geylang area to pick up customers, avoid HDB areas cos dead town.

if u drive on weekdays from 6pm to 3am, minus rental and diesel, you should be able to make about $100-150.

weekends will be more, can easily $200 or more (after cost). can drive from 6pm - 6am still can find customers.

Hi guys, for those driving newer (2015 onwards) i40, do you know is 7 speed dual clutch transmission or 6 speed automatic?

Geminian1970

I just took my TDVL exams yesterday. Passed all my 4 Modules on my first attempt at Singapore Taxi Academy. I don't intend to become a full time taxi driver as I only want the license to keep in my pocket for rainy day. Maybe become relief driver and drive only a few days of the week to earn some pocket money.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.