Should I semiretire in JB now?

Pegasus Sinbkk

Thanks for sharing about your spouse....reassuring to know that we can survive on so little in Malaysia...one site says costs of living there is 66% cheaper than in Sg...that is partly why I choose there...
Rather than relying on other people's estimates of cost of living, when don't you and your family try living in your JB house for 1 week or more. Try living like the locals and see how it goes. This is what I've done with my Bangkok condo and I too can't wait to semi-retire and move there.

mummy1234

Rather than relying on other people's estimates of cost of living, when don't you and your family try living in your JB house for 1 week or more. Try living like the locals and see how it goes. This is what I've done with my Bangkok condo and I too can't wait to semi-retire and move there.

How do u semiretire there? You work there?

homer123

depends on your quality of living loh..
my wife was the eldest of 3 kids in a family living off ringgit $1-2k in malaysia last time..
but in the end.. they manage to grow up ..get an education.. and pay off the cheap landed in malaysia.

but i agree..if you choose to live in singapore... you die... co.ck... stand..

I agree with you on expense in Malaysia. I used to stay in Ipoh and my monthly expense hardly exceed 1000 ringit. Daily food expense of 10 ringit is enough to eat out for all 3 meals. Cheaper if u cook urself. Gas is dirt cheap.If you buy a fuel efficient car, petrol expense is about RM50 per month. Rental only about RM300 pm. Utility incl phone: hardly exceed RM60.
Misc:RM100 (or much more if you are the cheong type)

In fact, if one has HDB flat available for rent at about S$500, this is more than enough to cover your retirement in Malaysia or Thailand.

I am from that generation that can live frugally and live thru' hardship. However, mummy1234 and her family probably cannot suffer in the type of condition like me or your wife used to live. That's why I said it is a bad idea for her to retire in JB. LOL

hwmook

I agree with you on expense in Malaysia. I used to stay in Ipoh and my monthly expense hardly exceed 1000 ringit. Daily food expense of 10 ringit is enough to eat out for all 3 meals. Cheaper if u cook urself. Gas is dirt cheap.If you buy a fuel efficient car, petrol expense is about RM50 per month. Rental only about RM300 pm. Utility incl phone: hardly exceed RM60.
Misc:RM100 (or much more if you are the cheong type)

In fact, if one has HDB flat available for rent at about S$500, this is more than enough to cover your retirement in Malaysia or Thailand.

I am from that generation that can live frugally and live thru' hardship. However, mummy1234 and her family probably cannot suffer in the type of condition like me or your wife used to live. That's why I said it is a bad idea for her to retire in JB. LOL

Ipoh is hardly representative of the cost of living in JB, a bowl of noodle in a coffee shop in JB start from RM5 or more. RM10 a day is definitely not enough in JB, RM20 is more like it. RM50 for petrol? You do know that a litre of petrol set you back RM2 or so, RM50 only get you 25litres of petrol which allow you to travel 250KM or 8KM a day. That mean a 4KM round trip everyday. You think that's enough considering she got to fetch the kids and shop for daily necessities?

Callow Guy

ignore this mummy1234 lah.. she spam these kinds of thread alot.. dun believe? check out EDMW where she is in the same league as wondergirl...

mummy1234

Ipoh is hardly representative of the cost of living in JB, a bowl of noodle in a coffee shop in JB start from RM5 or more. RM10 a day is definitely not enough in JB, RM20 is more like it. RM50 for petrol? You do know that a litre of petrol set you back RM2 or so, RM50 only get you 25litres of petrol which allow you to travel 250KM or 8KM a day. That mean a 4KM round trip everyday. You think that's enough considering she got to fetch the kids and shop for daily necessities?

Agree with you that his estimates sound too good to be true.

We r probably going to try out the Tebrau shuttle train this weekend or soon to see how feasible it is to live there and work here. Excited to be able to semiretire soon if all goes well but must find rental for my house first and a suitable clinic to locum in...

hwarzoner

I also tbinking of retiring in malaysia, is it advisable to dump RM1200k into seperate banks monthly fd to earn interest?

mummy1234

I also tbinking of retiring in malaysia, is it advisable to dump RM1200k into seperate banks monthly fd to earn interest?

I was thinking of doing that before and sometimes now still to earn 4.2% interest pa but but there is currency depreciation risks.

frenchbriefs

why not?if i was ur kid,assuming u have a twenty something grown up kid,i would say yes in a instant.

the increase in purchasing power is ridiculous,in singapore a grown up need at least 20 to 30 sgd a day just to survive and live a decent peasant life assuming all rent and utilities has been taken care off(stay with parents or something).in malaysia 20 to 30 sgd is almost 100 ringgit purchasing power,i dont think i can spend 100 ringgit a day in malaysia.

in sg u just have to go for a lousy meal at burger king and already u want to *******.10 ****ing sgd,can u imagine what 10 sgd or 30 ringgit can buy in mudland.

take genting highlands for example,a room in first world hotel during off peak season cost only 60 ringgit a night,wtf thats cheaper than renting a room in a hdb flat and having to share it with 2 pinoys and 2 prcs.its even cheaper than staying in a hostel in australia when u sleep in a room with 8 other strangers.

wtf are we slogging and slaving in singapore just to live a peasant life because everything is so expensive and overpriced?why dream of millions and becoming a millionaire investor or real estate tycoon or entrepreneur extraordinaire when living like a king is just one step away from you?

theres really nothing u are missing living in sg,the convinence of having alot of food and shopping close by?u can find that anywhere in the world in any city.the nature in singapore is nothing spectacular,the culture is non existent,the weather is terrible.only good thing about singapore is abundance of job,opportunity to make money,save and invest,buy real estate become rich and migrate.

mummy1234

why not?if i was ur kid,assuming u have a twenty something grown up kid,i would say yes in a instant.

the increase in purchasing power is ridiculous,in singapore a grown up need at least 20 to 30 sgd a day just to survive and live a decent peasant life assuming all rent and utilities has been taken care off(stay with parents or something).in malaysia 20 to 30 sgd is almost 100 ringgit purchasing power,i dont think i can spend 100 ringgit a day in malaysia.

in sg u just have to go for a lousy meal at burger king and already u want to *******.10 ****ing sgd,can u imagine what 10 sgd or 30 ringgit can buy in mudland.

take genting highlands for example,a room in first world hotel during off peak season cost only 60 ringgit a night,wtf thats cheaper than renting a room in a hdb flat and having to share it with 2 pinoys and 2 prcs.its even cheaper than staying in a hostel in australia when u sleep in a room with 8 other strangers.

wtf are we slogging and slaving in singapore just to live a peasant life because everything is so expensive and overpriced?why dream of millions and becoming a millionaire investor or real estate tycoon or entrepreneur extraordinaire when living like a king is just one step away from you?

theres really nothing u are missing living in sg,the convinence of having alot of food and shopping close by?u can find that anywhere in the world in any city.the nature in singapore is nothing spectacular,the culture is non existent,the weather is terrible.only good thing about singapore is abundance of job,opportunity to make money,save and invest,buy real estate become rich and migrate.

Agree but problem is my kids are just 6 and 10 years old so their education is a big factor holding us back as not very sure about sending them to international school in JB and to commute daily is too tiring for them.

mummy1234

I also thought about retirement in Malaysia but concern is safety.

Agree it Isa concern but I Guess one just has to take precautions and I bought a gated and guarded semi d so relatively safer...also see many guard posts outside my estate and even Guards patrolling the shopping Malls so feel safer. And if there r so many Chinese locals living in my estate and they r not afraid then why should I be?

wts2013

hahaha, moi prefer to retire in Singapore, there is nothing like home, comfort zone, zhi yu zhi zhai, and so much freebies and "free monies", "free hospitals", Fare Free Fridays, etc etc, hahaha

dork32

Agree it Isa concern but I Guess one just has to take precautions and I bought a gated and guarded semi d so relatively safer...also see many guard posts outside my estate and even Guards patrolling the shopping Malls so feel safer. And if there r so many Chinese locals living in my estate and they r not afraid then why should I be?

guards are the one that robbed the homes

mummy1234

Really tempted to semiretire, shiok can work 2 days and rest and play for 5 days like reverse weekend...asking agent to advertise my house for rental now...
Kwek Leng Joo just reportedly passed away at 62 years old according to a EDMW thread...so earn so much money also no use... Might as well I semiretire now and enjoy life...

Squaredot

guards are the one that robbed the homes

jin scary. No point things cheap cheap but not safe..everyday worry safety :(

Any other country safe and cheaper than SG? I want to go.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.