how much you have at age 30 (male)

sAVaGEmP5

i fail badly, at age 30, only have about 450k networth in total. Just slightly less than half a mill.

Not too difficult to hit 1st mill by 30, considering we are in SG.

sAVaGEmP5

Rule one : minimize the amount of debt; no debt is the best.
Rule two : Never forget rule one.

:s12:

Even the richest billionaire or richest property developer use debt to double or triple their investments.

Not having debt sounds as though no bank wants to lend u money :s13::s13:

starfish.starfish

Wah ppl in this thread very satki can remember how much they have at a specific point in time.
I cannot even remember what I had for dinner last night. Lol

[M]aiev

Even the richest billionaire or richest property developer use debt to double or triple their investments.

Not having debt sounds as though no bank wants to lend u money :s13::s13:

I am referring to the one who use the debt to fund for liabilities(signing 25 yrs of slavery for 500k of HDB ?).

100k at the age of 30 is doable..

No point harping about how much can one hit at the age of 30. It's the ending point that counts.

invisible.hippo

guys, how much is your starting pay? assume you grad at 24, within 6 years is it really possible to get 200k cash?

invisible.hippo

come to think of it, i really cannot understand how you all can save so much in today context. Upoon graduation already in debt for uni loan 30k, then need to find job and cost of transport and food already 100 per month.

On top have to give parents money then still need pay for health insurance, phone bills. If unlucky fall sick etc... haiz the more i type the more i feel broke.

iCuteCube

I am starting to wonder, why my friends $$$ compared to what people posted in this thread so far off one?

Come again, people who surf this forum typically is more "savvy" nature.

Other factors to consider is the head start might be different, scenarios might differ as well. I have a friend who joined his father's friend company, starting pay is already 5k+, so if you wanna ask if he earned his own saving he will say yes, because he is earning off a pay check monthly, technically he is not wrong.

Some have savings from the start, and remember at 2009 period can easily double your investment from then till now. Plus constant saving, it is possible to hit high $$.

But starting from now, there is always opportunity, but might not be as attractive as before?

Darkzi0n

come to think of it, i really cannot understand how you all can save so much in today context. Upoon graduation already in debt for uni loan 30k, then need to find job and cost of transport and food already 100 per month.

On top have to give parents money then still need pay for health insurance, phone bills. If unlucky fall sick etc... haiz the more i type the more i feel broke.

im 'fortunate' enough not to be weighted down by uni loan cos my parents paid for my tuition fees... but i have to repay my 'debt' by giving parents every month (im giving much more compared to my peers).

guess u can start by doing proper financial planning and set challenging but realistic goals.

invisible.hippo

sian, edmw bo liao always compare salary then come here see you all reaping money like so easy, 200k by 30...
even more sian

Seannie

I tell u how those agrressive savers make it. Eat free food take free rides etc. No free food then jiak maggie mee bought by parents. Likely parents also working got money no need take monies from kids. So thats why young ple are so rich nowadays easily save alot. Wealth begets wealth. Just like poverty begets poverty. Riches are inherited, in the same way poverty can also be inherited.

Seannie

sian, edmw bo liao always compare salary then come here see you all reaping money like so easy, 200k by 30...
even more sian

Dont think too much. The ple here are the top elites of society. Easily belong to the upperclass or the top class even though they dont realise it becos they are always having higher and higher targets an insatiable desire for financial power. As long your salary is above the median i thunk you are doing quite well already.

hogrider88

even more sian

they got a lot of money doesnt mean it is easy.. this kind of thread of cuz got money de ppl post, no money de like me hide n diam diam :s13:

Perisher

Sorry I'm peasant...

I have started working since secondary school non-stop all the way till I enter NS and even then I still work abit of part time, so all those years of earning and saving build up my capital.

But I'm quite late to the investing world, I learn about it during NS and never open an account until years later my friend introduce me to a broker... I thought it's damn difficult to open a trading account(noob) all these time.

Anyway, I would agree many here are quite well to do.
If I have a million I would sit back and retire already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.