Anyone heard of Marcus Tay's futures trading course? (Concept of Price)

Shiny Things

This was for 15 December, last night. traded 78 contracts, or 195 USD in comm. Less that from 720 USD, its still a pretty nice number. For 3 hours of work. At home. In front of my laptop.

Wow there's a lot going on here.

Firstly, come on, you're the HWZ equivalent of a Twitter egg and you're encouraging people to sign up for a $3000+ "how to technical analysis" course that basically teaches you that you can intraday scalp better than a computer can (hint, you can't). You know this looks bad, right?

Perisher, what's our policy about "trading diary"-style threads on here? Do we have one?

Secondly, $200 in commission on 80 contracts isn't really all that great. I'm assuming you're trading US-listed futures because you're talking about the open; if you switch to Interactive Brokers you'll pay 85 cents a side.

And thirdly, you're really not making a lot of money for the volumes you're trading. If you're trading ES futures, your 78 contracts is nearly $8 million of notional; making $700 on that is less than a quarter of a tick - so, less than the minimum tick size. It's indistinguishable from zero. From those numbers you might as well be flipping a coin.

Lift your game.

Perisher

Wow there's a lot going on here.

Firstly, come on, you're the HWZ equivalent of a Twitter egg and you're encouraging people to sign up for a $3000+ "how to technical analysis" course that basically teaches you that you can intraday scalp better than a computer can (hint, you can't). You know this looks bad, right?

Perisher, what's our policy about "trading diary"-style threads on here? Do we have one?

Secondly, $200 in commission on 80 contracts isn't really all that great. I'm assuming you're trading US-listed futures because you're talking about the open; if you switch to Interactive Brokers you'll pay 85 cents a side.

And thirdly, you're really not making a lot of money for the volumes you're trading. If you're trading ES futures, your 78 contracts is nearly $8 million of notional; making $700 on that is less than a quarter of a tick - so, less than the minimum tick size. It's indistinguishable from zero. From those numbers you might as well be flipping a coin.

Lift your game.

Let me check with admin/senior mod. I don't think we have a policy regarding this.

WOMBOCOMBO

No it doesn't look bad. The people winning money most nights in our chat room doesn't look bad. What are you talking about? You're not in our chat room, you're not part of our trading group, you probably havent even gone for the course before. Believe me, it does not look bad from my laptop every night (or most nights).

i do agree that we cant intraday scalp better than a PC. True. But here's the problem with your sentence. Does that mean that you can NEVER make a good trade scalping then? Are positive trading results impossible since I'm not a computer?

Since you already know the answer is no, then what's the problem with the COP method then? So what if we are humans and not computers? Means I can never make a good trade scalping?

What you say holds true over the long run....as in if I actually traded the whole damn night, I would definitely lose more, or perform way worse than a computer. But why would you need to trade the whole night, when all you need are 2 to 3 good trades to end the night? Do you really need a computer just for 2 to 3 good trades?

I think not.

I can get rid of the post with the trading diary if the moderators want.

I'm talking off the top of my head here, without having done research, but I believe there were problems with IB. Some of my trading buddies used IB before and there were problems, like they said if you changed your stop loss or profit target, then they would charge you more comm.

But Ive never traded with IB so I can't be sure. 85 cents is nice but I really wont be surprised if there were other hidden costs or features that made up for this 85 cents. Thanks for the info in either case.

This is where you lost me bro.

I have to confess, I don't understand what you're talking about.

I also have to confess, I made money last night and last week (4 out of 5) without even knowing what you were talking about.

It's cool that you're intelligent in this area, but high intelligence has rarely equated wealth.

I have 2 friends who are CFAs. Damn clever people. And yet to date they have made zero money from investments or trades. And they can't even understand why. What about graduates from Conrad's class who are making money? They all CFAs too? They all got masters and PhDs??

My point is, you don't need to know that much to make money off the COP method. A few technical indicators, yes, reading the trend, yes, but that's about it. I'll ask Marcus and the people in the chat who are doing well every night about what you said, and I'll see if they understood.

Now you said "flipping a coin". This once again, displays ignorance on your part, when it comes to COP. If you flip a coin and just enter trades blindly you're going to bust your account in the same night. There is a lot of thinking and consideration that we do before taking a trade.

Let's see if I can explain this clearly. Every night, using Marcus's set-ups, there are many trades. There are maybe like 20 over possible trades in 2 hours with his set-ups. The thing is, Marcus takes like maybe 8 or 10 of those trades, due to things like trend and the range of the oscillation etc...

Now if Marcus and all of us took all 20 of those trades,then YES we are definitely flipping coins. But we are not blindly taking whatever set-up that comes along. We take trades that are under, at the time, favourable circumstances, making our trade a high-probability trade, as opposed to a 50/50 trade. So your flipping a coin analogy is extremely wrong.

Lift your game.

Thanks. You too.

You really remind me of my friend, the CFA, who poopoos my trading ideology. This guy argues with me and comes up with the most fantastic, crazy, academic, intelligent arguments, involving statistics, probability, donno what.....oh my god....and as with you, I also don't even understand some of what he said.

Then I show him my trading account. The profit and loss statements in the trading software. I ask him to rebuttal that.

He can't.

Side note: Why don't you come down to the next COP seminar and bring your doubts with you? It's easier and faster than over the Internet. You can talk to Marcus as well, regarding your doubts and fears.

Or just come on down and listen to the presentation. Maybe then you can get an inkling of how we do it. And once you do, you will see that most of what you typed in your post is fallacious or irrelevant.

WOMBOCOMBO

Its cool bro. ill just delete the post.

I'll get rid of the trading diary. It's cool.

It just sucks that some of you think that I'm here to make money off you by recommending you a course that I find useful.

I don't make a god damn thing off any of this.

I typed that long ass post to recommend the program to people who were looking for a good way to trade futures, something that is def lacking in Singapore. People who are looking for a way out, people looking for financial freedom, thats whom my post was intended for.

I'm someone who has gone for Mirriam MacWilliams class, SGX classes, Conrads class and now Marcus class. Conrads class is the best for stocks and options, honestly, especially given the price of 5.5k. Ive been around the block. And I find Marcus's method the best for futures and quick returns. Few hundred dollars on a daily basis, many people I know would KILL for that secret.

Hence, my long ass post.

Now BEFORE you guys really start crapping all over my post, without actually having gone for the course OR EVEN the presentation, please come to the presentation. Come see what we're about. Come talk to me and my pals and Marcus face to face. It's much faster than Internet forums man.

WOMBOCOMBO

To get people interested in the course, to at least come for the seminar. Why else? No worries, imma delete it now.

No....actually I get it now.....it's just the Singapore culture......

I'm Singaporean myself, and I got love for my fellow Singaporeans.
And as Singaporeans, we don't really go to forums or go around and make a ton of effort giving praises or making recommendations.

Complaints? We got a ton.
Compliments? Bar none.

THATS WHY when I typed that long ass post, you all got suspicious and thought that I had ulterior motives for that long ass post.

I dont blame you.

Thats who we are as Singaporeans.

That guy saying my post was a HWZ Twitter egg.
Lmao WTF IS A TWITTER EGG?
lol im a 37 year old man, please dont throw this social media jargon at me man....lol....

Anyway...just know....Im someone who is really enthusiastic about the course....im someone who has made the most money using COP in the shortest time out of all the other courses I took.....Im someone who, swear to god, really believes he can be financially free in a decade or so....

That is why I typed that long ass post.

Ok?

No ulterior motives ok?

I still recommend everyone come for the presentation. And I still think that people who talk good or talk bad about Marcus COP method should AT LEAST go for the presentation or course before even opening their mouths.....

Perisher

To get people interested in the course, to at least come for the seminar. Why else? No worries, imma delete it now.

Dunno leh. Sounds suspicious mah.
Seems like you wanna lure people to join a scheme for profit.
I have no idea what you wanna delete. Why you keep saying deleting now? :s22:

WOMBOCOMBO

Dunno leh. Sounds suspicious mah.
Seems like you wanna lure people to join a scheme for profit.
I have no idea what you wanna delete. Why you keep saying deleting now? :s22:
hahaha my man Im sorry. I just dont come to forums much.
no i meant delete the trade diary.
Ok im reading your sentence and now i see why everyone is shitting on my long post.

And you all have the god damn right to do that.
Im sure you guys know people who lost money to brazilian land-lease schemes. I have relatives who lost 100s of thousands to these damn brazilians.

It is only right that everyone here is suspicious of shady schemes.

Ok now I dont feel so mad that you all were not feeling me. Ok thanks moderator. Now I see what the fuss is about.

WOMBOCOMBO

If you can consistently make $ over a few months, then you are considered good. The problem is I think many pple will fail because they arent able to analyze the context and subjectively decide whether to enter the trade or not.

110% truth.
Knowing the set-ups is not enough. Like I said in some posts below, trading Marcus's COP is NOT a coin flip. In 2 hours there are maybe 20 possible trades that have the correct set-up. But is the CONTEXT correct? Do the trend, price action etc make the upcoming trade a high-probability one?

THATS why Marcus only takes considers 8 or 9 of these 20 set ups to be valid. And as mentioned before, out of these 8 or 9, he will only bet real money on 2 or 3 of them.

Thats ALSO why some of our students....unfortunately....bust their accounts in a single night. They see a set-up, they just take the trade blindly, not giving a damn about the context, general mkt direction etc. Plus, how you can trade demo for only a month or two before actually going live is beyond me.

To my knowledge, some of these students gave up. But some of these students persisted, "repented" and asked Marcus for help and one on one coaching. They are way more successful now.

Intra-day trading/scalping is ***way too difficult*** for newbies, unless there is a successful mentor to guide you live, hands-on for a few months.

Is it difficult? I find it ok. Only thing is your mind must work fast.
To those people who say scalping needs fast reaction, like counterstrike players or Beatmania players, I say no, you're wrong.
Im a 37 year old man. My reaction is no longer the same as when i was playing street fighter zero or king of fighters 94, or when I was doing infinite combos with Wolverine with the combo meter stuck at 99 hits.

But so thats when you learn to PREDICT or ANTICIPATE the markets next move. Meaning, at a certain point, you ask yourself: ok. now market is like that. What happens if market turns down? Short or dont short? And, what happens if market turns up? Long or dont long? What else can the big charts tell me?

If you keep thinking like that, you will find you don't need to take such a long time to decide, once the set-up is in play.

Thats also why my mind, energy and stamina only allow me to trade till 1230pm EST. I cant go on after that. Price action is mad slow after that....and only moves during certain times like 2am....or earlier at 1.15am when traders come back from lunch....or in last hour of market before mkt close. But Ive rarely traded during those times...

And you DO have a successful mentor who trades with you live, hands on. Marcus is there for us in the chat room on those nights when he trades, which is like 3 or 4 days a week (fridays he doesnt trade).

and if you do need more coaching, you can also arrange a one on one personal coaching session with Marcus and he WILL do it with you. All for no extra cost. Like I said, the guy is too kind.

Worst still, most newbies thought this is easy money and are usually more greedy than really interested to understand the price action.

Yup. Thats why they demo for a few weeks....get success from beginners luck on some days.....and intentionally forget the days when they make big losses.

They only start to pay attention once they start losing huge sums of money trading live. Thats when they really start applying COP correctly and really start becoming successful.

I should know. I'm one of these people. :s13:

I'm still learning anyway. 5 months in I'm starting to get way more profitable than 3 months ago. But honestly.......I could be making so much more if I could control my emotions.

Last night I was in a short trade. The set-up was there, the conditions were somewhat favourable. I shorted. The price went up, went down.....seemingly unable to break some support. And all the time I kept thinking of my 500USD profit for the night.....thinking about how this trade will go against me and cause me to lose 220 USD if i get stopped out.

So I flattened at 1 tick profit. Comm covered.

Next thing you know price tumbles 40 ticks plus.

It's hard to apply what Mark Douglas says, honestly.

Might I add, you sound like you trade yourself bro.

WOMBOCOMBO

Yeah, thats why from my personal experience, intraday trading is a lot more difficult than I initially thought...lots of lousy books, online stuff, "experts", indicators, tweaking, charting software, etc. to confuse newbies. Very difficult to filter what is the real stuff worth heading towards and focusing on.

Thats why I do not think normal pple should try this. Only for the few who are truly interested.
110% truth.
that is why im shouting COP from the hilltops, because this is the only program i know in Singapore that has been the most effective for me so far, where intraday trading is concerned.

Conrad....conrad is cool. His usage of options in swing trades and position trading is unstoppable. Damn good, especially after you finish chien pangs options module. But with his method, you can only make a few hundred a week. Not few hundred a day. Unless you go in with a boatload of options of course.....

Though of course, with options....its much safer. Vertical spreads are nigh unstoppable....unless the news screws you up....which is why conrad hates technology and pharma stocks lol....

Are you a student of Conrad? THeres a gathering this friday. Conrad is starting his commodity and futures class next year. Im going of course for that.

And the quest for the holy grail continues.....

Edit: FOMC tonight. I wont be trading live, thats for damn sure.

CookieMonsta88

110% truth.
that is why im shouting COP from the hilltops, because this is the only program i know in Singapore that has been the most effective for me so far, where intraday trading is concerned.

Conrad....conrad is cool. His usage of options in swing trades and position trading is unstoppable. Damn good, especially after you finish chien pangs options module. But with his method, you can only make a few hundred a week. Not few hundred a day. Unless you go in with a boatload of options of course.....

Though of course, with options....its much safer. Vertical spreads are nigh unstoppable....unless the news screws you up....which is why conrad hates technology and pharma stocks lol....

Are you a student of Conrad? THeres a gathering this friday. Conrad is starting his commodity and futures class next year. Im going of course for that.

And the quest for the holy grail continues.....

Edit: FOMC tonight. I wont be trading live, thats for damn sure.

If you are day trading, these are the best times to see where the big boys have their bids and asks, which implies where support and resistance is likely to come in. Such news probe where the strong players are at.

WOMBOCOMBO

If you are day trading, these are the best times to see where the big boys have their bids and asks, which implies where support and resistance is likely to come in. Such news probe where the strong players are at.

In COP we use a more modern, advanced technical indicator that is similar to Fibonacci.

And you were right. Scalping off these points actually did work last night. Most of the time. 930 est to maybe 1050 est....the price was kinda unpredictable but the points held true.

After 11 est the price action was....shall we say.....less irregular and all the good trades started coming in.

I stopped at 1230 est or 130am sg time. Couldnt stay awake till 3am so I dont know what happened then, in terms of price action....

Im just glad i was on demo last night. FOMC.....triple witching......certain days I really suggest no one should scalp live man. Just too unpredictable....with many other people around the world doing random things they wont normally do had it been another normal day....

Actually other option-related trades work during volatile days like FOMC....but you would need to go to Conrad for this.

WOMBOCOMBO

I only took a stocks class (long term trading, not intraday) with Michael Woo if I remembered the name correctly. I found it too basic.

I prefer to learn oneself and from books/videos.

True, true.

Have you ever been to Conrad's free presentation or seminar before?
Conrads presentations are like....freaking 2 or 3 hours long man....believe it or not.
And he spends like 1 hour 58 minutes talking about the market...the economy....technical indicators....charts......conspiracy theories.....real useful ****.

And the remaining 2 minutes he spends marketing his course.

Once again, I dont make any money from this, but I suggest you at least go for Conrads free seminars. I dont care whether you take his class or not, but you do learn a lot from what this cat has to say.

Edit: Just realised your name is Thosai. I love thosai! The one near the tekka market is the best for me. Cheap and good. Forgot the name though....its on the ground floor and is part of the HDB block.

wts2013

True, true.

Have you ever been to Conrad's free presentation or seminar before?
Conrads presentations are like....freaking 2 or 3 hours long man....believe it or not.
And he spends like 1 hour 58 minutes talking about the market...the economy....technical indicators....charts......conspiracy theories.....real useful ****.

And the remaining 2 minutes he spends marketing his course.

Once again, I dont make any money from this, but I suggest you at least go for Conrads free seminars. I dont care whether you take his class or not, but you do learn a lot from what this cat has to say.

Edit: Just realised your name is Thosai. I love thosai! The one near the tekka market is the best for me. Cheap and good. Forgot the name though....its on the ground floor and is part of the HDB block.

hahaha, agreed, moi attended conrad's 3 hr free seminar and adamkhoo's 3hr free seminars many years ago, worth attending, only attends free seminar lor, now moi reading adam's book from the library, wow materials from his 3hr free seminar now in a book, hahaha

CookieMonsta88

In COP we use a more modern, advanced technical indicator that is similar to Fibonacci.

And you were right. Scalping off these points actually did work last night. Most of the time. 930 est to maybe 1050 est....the price was kinda unpredictable but the points held true.

After 11 est the price action was....shall we say.....less irregular and all the good trades started coming in.

I stopped at 1230 est or 130am sg time. Couldnt stay awake till 3am so I dont know what happened then, in terms of price action....

Im just glad i was on demo last night. FOMC.....triple witching......certain days I really suggest no one should scalp live man. Just too unpredictable....with many other people around the world doing random things they wont normally do had it been another normal day....

Actually other option-related trades work during volatile days like FOMC....but you would need to go to Conrad for this.

Just my 2 cents, training for these tough situations will make you a better trader, so trading situations like these will force you to step up your game, once you can manage these situations effectively, normal situations are no kick and easy to handle. Just go 1/4 or 1/2 your normal size since the volatility estimate is much higher. Being able to handle these situations consistently means you have been tested by the markets, and you are bound to succeed, all that's left is to weed out mistakes.

Anyway, what I think is that, I think from your description, the COP method seems to be discretionary price action, with fundamental info as the background info. This method works across all markets, not just futures I think, I could be wrong, though maybe I misunderstood the method, jus that maybe there are nuances in other markets that need to be accounted for. Only thing is discretionary methods are much harder to learn, since there are many unsaid experience which one much go through before being able to become consistently profitable.

Anyway, which market futures(underlying product) are you trading?

daveHZ

the posts are 4 years old and COP is still around. I am keen to find out more. Anyone still trading using COP methods?

Mr. Wood

q8d4kad.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.