Car newbie here. Which small hatchback should I get

kelvinti

Lololol are you trying to say, you belong to that group now?

End of the day, it your money.
Spent it the way you like it.
But truely, there will always be a small % of people who want it more than others as a form of need.

Happier? Haa

Aiyo! Don't anyhow say lah! :o

I need a car for daily life and I'm just a normal folk on the street bah!

So, tough on my wallet! So, need to cut down on other expenditures lor! :(

Nothing is perfect unless you are a super rich and that a $10000 bill is likes a 10 cents coin to you! :s8:

AL5509

Aiyo! Don't anyhow say lah! :o

I need a car for daily life and I'm just a normal folk on the street bah!

So, tough on my wallet! So, need to cut down on other expenditures lor! :(

Nothing is perfect unless you are a super rich and that a $10000 bill is likes a 10 cents coin to you! :s8:
Everyone in the forum seem to know, you chosen a mazda 6 over mazda 3 for a normal folk to be? Lolol

Hope you enjoy your new ride.
cheers

kelvinti

Aiyo!

It is tough, bro! I took in 6 bullets instead of 3 bullets.

Bo pian, at times.

kelvinti

Since bought, just enjoy the ride.

Look nice with that RED zoomzoom.
cheers

That's the way it goes! No return ticket lor! Only got Reverse Gear! :s13:

Anyway, Mazda 3 RED also looks damn good! :)

AL5509

That's the way it goes! No return ticket lor! Only got Reverse Gear! :s13:

Anyway, Mazda 3 RED also looks damn good! :)
Lololol got U-turn de.

But for sure must suffer some pain(short term) of selling at a loss but you stop bleeding through the regular stuffs aka daily/weekly/monthly/yearly expenses. eg, petrol, parking, erp, fines, insurance&road tax etc(if supporting a car is a load to any).

But my gut~feel is you are not just a normal folk to be de. Lol

So sure can tahan de; no matter how many bullets to take(not being scrastic thou).

Cheers

Enjoyyy

:)

i just got my scirocco newer vision, good and they clear gearbox issue. also cheaper now. i will recoman

kelvinti

Lololol got U-turn de.

But for sure must suffer some pain(short term) of selling at a loss but you stop bleeding through the regular stuffs aka daily/weekly/monthly/yearly expenses. eg, petrol, parking, erp, fines, insurance&road tax etc(if supporting a car is a load to any).

But my gut~feel is you are not just a normal folk to be de. Lol

So sure can tahan de; no matter how many bullets to take(not being scrastic thou).

Cheers

Haha! :s13:

I have better zoom zoom away from here for the time being ... :D

kelvinti

i just got my scirocco newer vision, good and they clear gearbox issue. also cheaper now. i will recoman

Nice!

Awesome small yet sexy and speedy car! :)

Satki to switch lane and cut lane and squeeze between cars likes nobody business on CTE at 6pm! :s22:

Aaron_soh80

I really don't know too much about cars so please help me out here. I am looking at small hatchbacks and my budget is 90k to 110k max.

I heard that European cars are "premium" brands (paying more only for the brand) true?

I am looking for something that's reliable (so probably won't look at cherry). Hopefully something that's decntly powerful.

What are the things I need to look out for when getting a car?

Here's the different cars I am currently looking at now.

-Suzuki swift 1.4 GLX
-Nissan Note 1.2 (what's the difference between CVT & DIG-S)
-Honda Fit 1.3

Any other recommendations?

In HWZ forumer we will not buy anything that will depreciate abt 12K/yr. we do believe in investing property, pte condo, or shares to earn money..

kelvinti

In HWZ forumer we will not buy anything that will depreciate abt 12K/yr. we do believe in investing property, pte condo, or shares to earn money..

Wow! you are surely not an ordinary folk on the street! =:p:s13:

doody_

Nice!

Awesome small yet sexy and speedy car! :)

Satki to switch lane and cut lane and squeeze between cars likes nobody business on CTE at 6pm! :s22:

I suppose the torque makes up for it? Cos I see it's 120bhp only.

AL5509

Like your nick for now; Enjoyyy

Hope there isnt any need to change your nick to 'Better luck next time' or 'Better luck next ride'.
Lolololol

Enjoy

alpha_helix

big update!! everyone, thanks for all your help and advise. Super big turn of events. I was more than 90% committed to get an Elantra today. However, the car dealer was meeting another client, so we had to wait for an hour. Decided to kill some time by dropping by Honda showroom to take a look at Honda City. I always knew that Honda is more expensive but has a brand to back the price so i did not have any intention of buying or knowing the price. But the car dealer "forced" the price list onto me and that was when i found out that theres a 9k discount on City.

Surprisingly, I was impressed by its size (i always thought 1.5L cars are generally smaller than 1.6L). It was actually longer, but slightly narrower than Elantra. More leg space, bigger boot. The discount makes it same price as Elantra. Interior and exterior IMO is only average and feels slightly worse than Elantra. No hesitations, immediately asked for test drive.

Drive was slightly noisy, but other than that, everything fared better than elantra (Nice acceleration, steering feels nice). Better drive, bigger space, similar features similar price with a good brand name to boot. Cut long story short, I ended up buying the City on the spot at the same price as an Elantra.

This is a really scary move cause I did not actually do any "research" on this car at all and just bought it out of impulse since i have already decided to spend this amount on a car today. Have I made the right choice? is City indeed better than Elantra? no need try to make me feel better, I'd rather know straight up which is better, or what are the advantages/disadvantages of choosing City over Elantra.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.