New HDB BTO Flat - How do you connect your Home Fiber Network

qwertqwert

can someone shine some light on this.
if say i convert all the telephone points in my bto to data point.
how do i activated all the data point with signal?
since effectively there can only be one lan cable coming out from the ont, to be plug into just one data point.

Geminian1970

I understand new HDB BTO flats come with structured data cabling.

Anyone able to share their fiber network schematic?
As in how you wire up your home with or without the patch points provided?

I want to understand where the Fiber termination point will be and where do you install your modem, router, etc.

Tks.

I think the Fiber termination point should be in the living room bah. The modem should probably be near the termination point but router can be anywhere if I am not mistaken.

FanFreak

since effectively there can only be one lan cable coming out from the ont, to be plug into just one data point.

ONT->router->switch

babyjyo

After the ONT Modem, there will be an additional router (unless using VQ, which combines the ONT Modem & Router into 1). Most routers would only have 4-5 ports. If you need more than that, you would need to get a switch to expand. From the router, you will connect to the LAN points in the "cabinet".

Silver_Stone

Let's say you converted all bedroom's tel points to data points, you'll have a total of 4 data points in your utility closet.

ONT
|
Router (normally with 4 LAN ports)
|
|
--> Original Data Point ------> Living Room
|
--> Converted Data Point 1 --> MBR
|
--> Converted Data Point 2 --> BR2
|
--> Converted Data Point 3 --> BR3

Add a AP in MBR, you should have good wifi coverage throughout the whole unit.

Hope this helps.

Merry Christmas.

Silver_Stone

Just to share my set up.

11zPNlN.jpg

1. Stick a piece of wood to the wall by using Maxbond.
2. Wall mount everything on the wood, less the router which I've DIY a shelf.
3. Run cables "as neat as possible" ... try lah.

Oh, I didn't get flooring from HDB, so I ran my own CAT 6 cables to all the rooms before the contractor lay cement & tiles. Then I terminated them to the network switch.

I did add an AP in the MBR so that I've wifi coverage throughout the whole unit.

In short, TP -> ONT -> Router -> Switch -> Rooms.

qwertqwert

Just to share my set up.

11zPNlN.jpg

1. Stick a piece of wood to the wall by using Maxbond.
2. Wall mount everything on the wood, less the router which I've DIY a shelf.
3. Run cables "as neat as possible" ... try lah.

Oh, I didn't get flooring from HDB, so I ran my own CAT 6 cables to all the rooms before the contractor lay cement & tiles. Then I terminated them to the network switch.

I did add an AP in the MBR so that I've wifi coverage throughout the whole unit.

In short, TP -> ONT -> Router -> Switch -> Rooms.

Can i use this set up?

TP - ONT - Switch - Datapoint.

Then stock router from starhub and purchase another router plug into living hall and room datapoint?

babyjyo

Can i use this set up?

TP - ONT - Switch - Datapoint.

Then stock router from starhub and purchase another router plug into living hall and room datapoint?

Nope. You still need to put a main router after the ont before the switch. You will still need 2 routers (as access points) or access points for the living and bedroom

qwertqwert

why cannot ah? for starhub case scenario they giving me a ont + a purely router dlink 868l. i can connect ont to the only datapoint and place router outside no?

renfred89

why cannot ah? for starhub case scenario they giving me a ont + a purely router dlink 868l. i can connect ont to the only datapoint and place router outside no?

you can connect ONT to a data point to a router. no issue with that. the issue comes when u place a switch before a router, or when you think you can outsmart the ONT by plugging extra lan ports other than the usual port 1 of ONT lor..

the rule here is that ONT only support 1 device. you need a router to make your internet shared amongst all other devices..

some more, a network should only ideally have one router. don't talk about the complex multiple router set ups in businesses, a home network should only have 1 router to simplify things.

some more, the fact you are asking that question, shows you might not have the ability to configure 2 routers in a home network, so just spare yourself the trouble bah.. :D:D

Silver_Stone

Of course you may do that.
TP -> ONT -> Data Point -> Router (normally in living room)

You may face weak wifi signal strength in some areas of your unit, esp in your MBR which is furthest from the router & at least 2 to 3 walls in between.

Problem may arises when you need to add another router/AP to enhance your wifi coverage. That is why people tends to convert their BTO telephone points to data points for expansion in mind. If there are only 4 data points, you can just connect directly to the 1st router's LAN ports. But if you need more than 4 (or router has < 4 LAN ports), you will need a switch after the router to "expand" your network.

There are many many ways to set up a network, just need some planning, research, trial & error (if necessary).

blimey

Hello everyone,

Would like to tap on the experience of the people here.

My current place does not have all these new utility boxes that house the fibre network stuff. I did not install the fibre point when they first came around. But i think it's time to rethink my home network but have a couple of questions.

1) Should i do my renovation first before engaging the fibre guys to install the fibre point?
2) Or should i go ahead with the fibre point termination point before renoavtion
3) I have old phone jacks in my place and don't use them. Was planning to use them for network points.

I would like to keep the cables hidden and not have any exposed trunking / casing if possible. If i want to go this route, should i do point 1 first, inform the interior designer that they should provision for the fibre guys to pull the cable to my designated point?

renfred89

Hello everyone,

Would like to tap on the experience of the people here.

My current place does not have all these new utility boxes that house the fibre network stuff. I did not install the fibre point when they first came around. But i think it's time to rethink my home network but have a couple of questions.

1) Should i do my renovation first before engaging the fibre guys to install the fibre point?
2) Or should i go ahead with the fibre point termination point before renoavtion
3) I have old phone jacks in my place and don't use them. Was planning to use them for network points.

I would like to keep the cables hidden and not have any exposed trunking / casing if possible. If i want to go this route, should i do point 1 first, inform the interior designer that they should provision for the fibre guys to pull the cable to my designated point?

i will suggest to go ahead with renovation first, because there are cases reported here that contractors damaged the fibre optic cables in the process of renovation..

the termination point can be installed with a surface trunking and minimal drilling, the person installing the termination point will discuss with you to make sure the most minimal damage is done to your interior design. but of cos, don't expect everything to be impeccable, but i guess your interior designer can advise you more on this..

whether or not the existing phone jacks can be converted to rj45 depends on the type of cable used. if its a newly bought first hand house, then likely. if its a resale flat or apartment, then you gotta check..

after you missed the appointment to install the TP free of charge, you have to sign up for a fibre plan with the ISP first before they can engage NLT to install the TP for you. some high end fibre plans will come with free installation, while some low end plans don't. do your research first yeah? :D

blimey

i will suggest to go ahead with renovation first, because there are cases reported here that contractors damaged the fibre optic cables in the process of renovation..

the termination point can be installed with a surface trunking and minimal drilling, the person installing the termination point will discuss with you to make sure the most minimal damage is done to your interior design. but of cos, don't expect everything to be impeccable, but i guess your interior designer can advise you more on this..

whether or not the existing phone jacks can be converted to rj45 depends on the type of cable used. if its a newly bought first hand house, then likely. if its a resale flat or apartment, then you gotta check..

after you missed the appointment to install the TP free of charge, you have to sign up for a fibre plan with the ISP first before they can engage NLT to install the TP for you. some high end fibre plans will come with free installation, while some low end plans don't. do your research first yeah? :D

thanks for the info.
was hoping that i can do away with surface trunking totally. will explore the options with the interior designer.

yah, the homehub 500 and above plans have the free installation. will most likely be going with that since i'm on the homehub plan.

Silver_Stone

Since you are engaging an ID for the reno, I would suggest that you discuss with your ID on what is/are the best possible way(s) to achieve what you want, not just only the fiber part (you are paying for their service anyway).

I've learnt the hard way not to assume that your ID or contractors "will know what to do" and it must be discussed and indicated in the contract / drawings.

lostboyz

Dear all, I am doing my Reno soon. I plan to convert living room and bedrooms points to data ports. There is smth that is troubling me.
I plan to get the asus ac88. This ac88 router will be placed inside the utility box. How does it affect the wifi speed in a enclosed area? I hope to get a good speed since I'm spending on a high end router. Any speed to share with the router inside the utility box?

Any Bros here have managed to place the router just outside the utility box with all the cables nicely concealed ? There will be quite number of cables, (power, ont, and 4 x lan cables)

renfred89

Dear all, I am doing my Reno soon. I plan to convert living room and bedrooms points to data ports. There is smth that is troubling me.
I plan to get the asus ac88. This ac88 router will be placed inside the utility box. How does it affect the wifi speed in a enclosed area? I hope to get a good speed since I'm spending on a high end router. Any speed to share with the router inside the utility box?

Any Bros here have managed to place the router just outside the utility box with all the cables nicely concealed ? There will be quite number of cables, (power, ont, and 4 x lan cables)

you should place the beast outside of the box.. many alternatives can be searched through this thread..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.