Univeristy Of Wollongong (SIM) future/current/students come in!!!

BlackCube

but my lecturer is Dr heng leh.i read this thread, ppl say that Dr heng set difficult assignment, can die one. I try one sem first, if too difficult hopefully can switch. Plus this is a course for boys.

He's good. Try to follow as much as you can.

needsomecash

but my lecturer is Dr heng leh.i read this thread, ppl say that Dr heng set difficult assignment, can die one. I try one sem first, if too difficult hopefully can switch. Plus this is a course for boys.
Dr Heng assignments okay la. Will be simple if you just follow the assignment requirements step by step.

And programming isn't just guys only course la.. I too, once thought programming was for guys... but if you enter the industry, theres actually MANY girls. Was shocked on my first day at work.

Sent from AOA dormitory using GAGT

menageatrois

subject

although i registered d subjects, none of them appeared in the elearning site yet....idk if i need to bring scientific calculator....or if the lecturer is not going to tell me a lot of things, and expect me to search for info myself.....ie. which textbook to buy.....or the weightage of the assignments.....i think for assignments, i have to keep looking out for it in the portal.....
my current laptop's caps lock is spoilt.......not good for programming....
the other laptop has too many flash stuff inside......plus charger is spoilt....so suay...

BlackCube

although i registered d subjects, none of them appeared in the elearning site yet....idk if i need to bring scientific calculator....or if the lecturer is not going to tell me a lot of things, and expect me to search for info myself.....ie. which textbook to buy.....or the weightage of the assignments.....i think for assignments, i have to keep looking out for it in the portal.....
my current laptop's caps lock is spoilt.......not good for programming....
the other laptop has too many flash stuff inside......plus charger is spoilt....so suay...
First lesson will inform you most of the stuff u ask. If not ask them. They will recommend some textbook to buy but not necessary must buy.

Sent from LGE NEXUS 5X using GAGT

menageatrois

assessments

last time, in polys, it seemed to be like, hands-on project and hands on assignments, which involved coding. and the exam paper is usually theory/written paper about programming....or maybe write the code inside exam paper....but now i wonder if i have to code on the spot for exam, and come out with a solution.....

menageatrois

wah.......sorry for spamming....is it the sec sch scientific type or a level one?
hoseh liao...if they teach a level maths.

needsomecash

menageatrois

should i get microsoft office?

should i get microsoft office on my newer laptop, or rely on my older laptop which is about 4 years old? at least....also, what version should i get? does the school provide free microsoft office? in my poly, i got photoshop and other software for free....

Machiavel

should i get microsoft office on my newer laptop, or rely on my older laptop which is about 4 years old? at least....also, what version should i get? does the school provide free microsoft office? in my poly, i got photoshop and other software for free....
Have free office365 get from Uow website

SaruwatariShun

KuKuBirDx3

NEED HELP!

I am currently serving my ns. However, im planning to take up a part time degree on Digital Systems Security in UOW because i only work from 8-5, Mon-Fri. I got a few question marks in my head now because i dont want to go to the wrong course. Please help! XIE XIE NI MEN! :)

1) It was stated that i got a 2 years exemption because of my diploma. If i were to get into the course, do i have to go through any bridging course so confirm my exemption or i can jump straight to year 3 just by my diploma?

2) How recognized is UOW in the industry? And will i find a good job out in the industry?

3) What are the programming languages UOW teaches?

4) Which one is a better aspect? Information Analytics or Information Security?

stan216

I am currently serving my ns. However, im planning to take up a part time degree on Digital Systems Security in UOW because i only work from 8-5, Mon-Fri. I got a few question marks in my head now because i dont want to go to the wrong course. Please help! XIE XIE NI MEN! :)

1) It was stated that i got a 2 years exemption because of my diploma. If i were to get into the course, do i have to go through any bridging course so confirm my exemption or i can jump straight to year 3 just by my diploma?

2) How recognized is UOW in the industry? And will i find a good job out in the industry?

3) What are the programming languages UOW teaches?

4) Which one is a better aspect? Information Analytics or Information Security?

1)DSS is 3 years long (in full). 2 years exemption means you jump straight into year 3. The other possible entry options are 1.5/1/0.5 years exemption and full 3 years. (the 0.5 years exemption are the bridging modules for the next year.)

If NS made you dumb, you can request to start in year 2 instead, so you give yourself time to re-learn programming.

2)Have friends who entered NCS, ST, eCop/CISCO. I went back to my poly for an event in 2014, and talked to a lecturer there; was told there was a coy the selectively employs NUS/SIM-UoW graduates (didn't say which coy, but, I was like omg)

3)C/C++/Java. C++ used as the "Introduction to Programming". C/Java is also required in some of the modules. 3rd year modules (except FYP) and Algorithms and Data Structures in year 2 give you a choice of C/C++/Java.

4)Can't answer you. Sorry.

About programming in DSS: Every quarter will definitely have at least a programming assignment. If you're some kind of talent in programming, it'll get you through, so you wouldn't need the bridging/year 1/year 2 modules to help you refresh. I'd say the year 2 programming assignments are probably harder (yes, I haven't forgotten you, combo 212/222 :s27: :mad: ). The year 3 ones felt like programming for the sake of programming to me.

Did_it_for_the_lulz

Anyone currently doing UOW-Digital Systems Security?

Would like to know if the course would be difficult for someone who has never done computer science related stuff before.

I just applied for the course 3 full year course for the April intake. :s22:

KuKuBirDx3

Hey! Which poly you were from and what course? Anyway, when did you enrolled to DSS, which year?

Im also from poly. But i struggle alot in my poly days just like you. My standard is around gpa 2. Can you share how your life is to jump straight to year 3 PT DSS? Because im likely to walk the same path as you and i dont want to regret my decision. Im weak in IT but i dont want to waste the numbers of cert i have in IT.

Anyway i just posted something previously, you might wanna reply me on that. Haha! Thanks man!

I believe as long as you are keen to learn, it shouldn't be any issue at all.

I was enrolled to 3rd year PT DSS with a gpa 2+ and graduated with a distinction. Spent most of my poly life wasting time and don't even know how to do programming. When I receive the offer letter I was like sh!t, direct 3rd year?! Due to poor me, I bite the bullet and learn everything during the course. Kinda lifeless, work, study, sleep.

But that was the best decision ever, upon graduated for 2 years+ remuneration increased more than 300%. Although UOW is a private Uni but it will still open up opportunities.

If you hate to study, I recommend not to take IT because there are more to come. IT certifications!

Hope graduated brothers and sisters are doing fine. :o

KuKuBirDx3

Ohh god! Im also from SP DIT, enrolled in 2012 too. Arent you service ns now? I mean i just enlist not long ago. And my camp is kinda near to SIM so im thinking of taking up this degree! My programming is also 1/10 man! Hahaha! I just scare i cannot make it. So how much you paid for 1 year?

Anyway, if i got 2 years exemption. Do i have to go through any bridging course? Yes or no? Haha

Also can you help me rate how hard is every module?

Distributed Systems - 0/10
Systems Security - 0/10
Systems Administration - 0/10
Security Engineering - 0/10
Cryptography and Secure Applications - 0/10
Network Security - 0/10

Best is you can explain more! I really thank you for helping me!

I am from SP, IT course (not gonna disclose more details here =:p), enrolled on 2012. My life during that 1 year? Bankai mode all the way, study is my priority, just whack. After I finish the intensive lecture weeks, I will start to do my studies and learn all the topics covered in the lecture notes or busy doing tutorials. Probably at least 5 hours of study time per day. Be proactive and make friends.

I know my programming is my weakest, if you wanna ask me to rate my programming skill I would say 1/10. lol I lower down my ego and start asking classmates for guidance, learnt a lot from them. Picked up C++ and learn how to do for loop, if/else, function, OOP, the logic is very important.

Come on what kind of regret will you have? The only regret probably is never studied hard enough and failing the exam. lol Just save your time and complete it in one year. After a year start earning money already or get your increment. :o

stan216 has summed it all. For the No. 4 you can use this as a guideline.

KuKuBirDx3

Haha of course it matters lah bro! So i can read up and understand some first mah! Haha! What program they using? Sorry for all these questions eh bro! They got use vmwares?

Anyway would you mind giving me notes ow whatsoever so i could start reading if you have them. :)

As highlighted in blue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.