[Off Topic] The Longest Chit-Chat Thread in HWC - - - - - - - - Part 21

Op_Valkyrie

10Gbps currently don't really have consumer one... and if you were to jump to this sort of speeds, you are probably an enthusiast who has some level of networking knowledge and will probably go for industrial grade routers from cisco huawei or arista etc... or at least, mikrotik...

What I don't know is... if one were to wire up the house, given the small size of Singapore HDB, will Cat6a be needed? or Cat6 will do?

IIRC the differences between cat6 and 6a is the speed and distance - both are on 10GBASE-T

Cat6 cable is rated for 250 MHz which has a reduced maximum length (think around 50m) when used for 10GBASE-T

Cat6a doubles up to 500 MHz when use one 10GBASE-T to be run over longer distances of up to 100 meters

Another choice will be using SFP+ and fiber.... though a little more expensive... :o

shadow84

The best that i can do for my friend le. Pray that SF leadex silver 550w at $119 will be out after CNY...

ixrwqx.jpg

bornerwave

IIRC the differences between cat6 and 6a is the speed and distance - both are on 10GBASE-T

Cat6 cable is rated for 250 MHz which has a reduced maximum length (think around 50m) when used for 10GBASE-T

Cat6a doubles up to 500 MHz when use one 10GBASE-T to be run over longer distances of up to 100 meters

Another choice will be using SFP+ and fiber.... though a little more expensive... :o

50 metres still abit easy to reach in HDB i guess... so Cat 6a it is!
I always thought SFP is cheaper because nobody use no meh? lol
Fibre is expensive I understand because it is expensive to make.

But anyways... all the 10GbE equipment is still quite ex :(

bunnypangsai

Mynextcom cpu+mobo pricing better. I can find i5 4590+ asrock h81m @364SGD

Arc midi r2+ same superflower psu @239SGD

Item 7 lor.. the only 1 from pct... wondering if i shld go higher with asrock b85 killer at $150.

shadow84

Mynextcom cpu+mobo pricing better. I can find i5 4590+ asrock h81m @364SGD

Arc midi r2+ same superflower psu @239SGD

TBH, is dan still operating MNC?

I may consider the arc midi + leadex silver 550w at $230... But bad thing is that i need to carry all home...

Perhaps i need to call MNC first and see if they have stocks... And how to do payment as well.

shadow84

Idk who's Dan... But the last time I bought, it was this botak fella who delivered to my house. I believe that's the boss.

Still got free delivery, just "like" his fb page. lol.

I might be heading down on fri, driving to sls... Need to know his stocks level tml and payment method.

Op_Valkyrie

50 metres still abit easy to reach in HDB i guess... so Cat 6a it is!
I always thought SFP is cheaper because nobody use no meh? lol
Fibre is expensive I understand because it is expensive to make.

But anyways... all the 10GbE equipment is still quite ex :(

based on my experience 50m is not that long for HDB (depends on where your main switch is located)... once it goes through trunking or concealed duct with all the bends and some allowances at the terminal side.... 50m quite tight IMO

why ppl use SFP instead of ethernet are due to these two factors (apart from being much thinner longer distance and flexible)...no one use meh? I know datacentres do...lol :D

Mellanox-chart2.png

Mellanox-chart3.png

your SPF+ transceiver and fibre no matter what also more ex than a cat6 or 6e and nic.... don know why you said its cheaper leh...:s11:

shadow84

Wapp, he might not have immediate stock on hand, but he will commit to your order.

Shall see his response when i call him tml.

but hor, when i choose arc midi + leadex gold 550w, it amounts to $248, which is $5 more ex than my current $243.xx.. lol. Although i was aiming for leadex silver 550w in lazada, hope after cny gt stocks.

bunnypangsai

Got click bundle bo? Filter the price from lowest to highest. Should be the second one.

but hor, when i choose arc midi + leadex gold 550w, it amounts to $248, which is $5 more ex than my current $243.xx.. lol. Although i was aiming for leadex silver 550w in lazada, hope after cny gt stocks.

shadow84

Got click bundle bo? Filter the price from lowest to highest. Should be the second one.

I went to left side, 2-in-1 bundle, casing + psu, fractal design, arc midi r2 at $131.

Then choose superflower leadex silver 550w at $230.

t8b6aa.jpg

bornerwave

based on my experience 50m is not that long for HDB (depends on where your main switch is located)... once it goes through trunking or concealed duct with all the bends and some allowances at the terminal side.... 50m quite tight IMO

why ppl use SFP instead of ethernet are due to these two factors (apart from being much thinner longer distance and flexible)...no one use meh? I know datacentres do...lol :D

Mellanox-chart2.png

Mellanox-chart3.png

your SPF+ transceiver and fibre no matter what also more ex than a cat6 or 6e and nic.... don know why you said its cheaper leh...:s11:

My meaning for nobody use SFP was meant for like normal consumers because almost no motherboards have them. From most of the switches I see before, it is mainly used for the 2 or 4 core ports of the switch, the rest of the 20 over ports are still RJ45

Haha I am not very well-versed about the price and stuff, I just stepped into the industry for a month plus :s13:.:s12: still learning still learning!

My office got fibre termination points at every cubicle like wth!

koicafex

50M is like door to outside your room or your room door side max :s13: if u trunk towards the ceiling in a 5 room HDB...
pretty sure some of the ppl here saw my "ugly" trunking :s13:

bunnypangsai

Speaking of ugly, cfm cannot beat mine. Two big grey Ethernet cables running along the walls.

50M is like door to outside your room max :s13: if u trunk towards the ceiling
pretty sure some of the ppl here saw my "ugly" trunking :s13:

localITguy

good luck, your best bet is to go to his shop in person:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.