Recommended workshop to repair Peugeot car?

Fatfool

You check how much the parts cost online and then add about 400-500 for labour. See if you've been ripped off.

Fatfool

Never EVER touch a Peugeot. Crap car, tons of problems...I won't even recommend it to my worst enemy!
I drove a 206 GTi for a number of years. No weird problems. Replaced the belt, pump etc. due to wear and tear. Never failed to start.

Fatfool

its that price
go C&C or autofrance will be 5-6k
If it's that price then he's not being ripped off lor. Fortunately, the 206 GTi had a simple manual gearbox and standard clutch (lots of 3rd party clutches on EBay!) so I never ran into that problem. Think the most expensive repair I did was about 800 bucks changing the timing belt and pump.

I can't find the parts for his 107 online though. That's why I say don't trust these kind of odd automatic gearboxes and strange clutch systems

SeiferOfRCC

I drove a 206 GTi for a number of years. No weird problems. Replaced the belt, pump etc. due to wear and tear. Never failed to start.

Maybe the older cars were better. I drove a 2012 Peugeot 5008 that broke down, due to various reasons, and had to be towed back 6 times in 3 years. Many friends experienced the same issues for newer Peugeot cars.

CuteBeaver

if u are indeed the old bird seifer from rcc forum, expect more from u than blatant bashing

no diff frm gay lion krado n his amd

CuteBeaver

If it's that price then he's not being ripped off lor. Fortunately, the 206 GTi had a simple manual gearbox and standard clutch (lots of 3rd party clutches on EBay!) so I never ran into that problem. Think the most expensive repair I did was about 800 bucks changing the timing belt and pump.

I can't find the parts for his 107 online though. That's why I say don't trust these kind of odd automatic gearboxes and strange clutch systems

the peugeot automated gearbox is known as 2-tronic
or aka sensodrive for citroen applications

its usually paired to 1.4 or 1.6L or below cars in the smaller range, citroen c1/c2/c3, pug 207/208..etc

its a very simple single clutch operated with 1 clutch acutator and 1 gear selector actuator

the main issue is that for all cars with such manual automated gearboxes, batt power is very important for shifting performance, including modern vw dsg gearboxes

http://jimbutterworth.co.uk/5autobox.htm

http://www.citroenet.org.uk/passenger-cars/psa/c3/sensodrive/sensodrive-2.html

what is so difficult about finding data on this? tons on the net
ppl who bitch abt cannot do this and that, cannot find info, cannot find mechanic...are just plain lazy

there are > 10 individuals in sg with this gearbox in their cars already clear > 150
got 2-3 > 200k
got 1> 250k liao..already overhaul 2x
end of day its a manual gearbox for lazy sods and let u dig that ** on the other chair with left hand...manual gearboxes (and all gearboxes ) wear out at 100k

SeiferOfRCC

if u are indeed the old bird seifer from rcc forum, expect more from u than blatant bashing

no diff frm gay lion krado n his amd

I am not bashing. I am just stating my experiences so that others can be warned. Of course, at the end of the day, buying a car is still a personal choice and people are free to make their own. But I've experienced what a Peugeot was like, and I will never touch one ever. My emotion attached to the post is proportional to how crap the car was. If you are keen, I can list down all the problems I had with the car over the 3 years and you can be judge whether it is crap or not. I almost wanted to believe mine was a lemon, until I realised many others also had the same problems as mine, and all were new cars too. To be frank, I don't know if quality improved in subsequent batches, but I am not in a hurry to bet on it soon, given the amount of actual bashing posts you can find on their official Facebook page.

elf108

I have a friend who drive 5008 turbo mpv also sold off at third year. Oil leak n some crap problem, nv ever touch that brand again.

CuteBeaver

the prince engine is very prone to prob, being a codesign with bmw
u need to use the correct oil or oil that is c3 rated and 5w40
and change at reduced intervals , ideally 5-7.5k range

SeiferOfRCC

Other than the THP engine, my personal experience is that Peugeot parts are very poor in quality and do not last. This, I believed is a very big reason why their reliability is so poor. It is a pity because the car really looks good, drives well, and is very spacious for all my needs.

Just to give a few examples for my case.

1. I have to change my front brake pads twice, and brake disc once, after only 70K km mileage. I don't race or do hard braking, so to have the braking system wear out so fast is quite ridiculous. As a comparison, on my last car, I only had my first brake pad change after 90K km.

2. Aircon condenser spoilt after slightly more than 60K km mileage. When I was at Mark Cool to replace it, I saw another Peugeot 5008 (roughly same age as mine judging from number plate) with exactly the same problem. When I had problem with the aircon, AutoFrance's advice was to set aircon to 18deg to enhance the shelf-life of the aircon. Any temperature higher will cause the aircon to wear & tear faster as it needs to produce both hot and cold air to mix. I endured 18deg aircon for months but the condenser still broke down.

3. 2 of my door hinges spoilt after about 70K mileage. Workshop showed me that the ball bearings of the door hinges were made of plastic. I have never ever heard of cars where the door hinges can spoil, but when I was talking to another friend who drives a Peugeot 408, he told me he also had 2 door hinges replaced under warranty due to the same problem.

4. Fuel pump replaced on 4 Jan 2015, broke down again on 31 Dec 2015. But I must concede this is a blessing in disguise. Because it broke down in less than a year, Autofrance changed it for me FOC even though my car is already out of warranty. I do not drive for long distances after the low fuel light came on before refueling. In fact, for 80% of the time, I refuel even before the light comes on. The remaining 20% I will usually refuel in less than 20km after it came on.

5. All the rubber seals of my door frames were torn and tattered. This is quite amazing, considering that my car is 99% parked in the shade.

6. Parking switch spoilt after 70K mileage. Once again, it seems to be a common problem.

All the above were the "minor" problems, so doesn't include the 6 times the car had to be towed back. On top of that, I feel that Autofrance engineers were also quite lousy. The below were my experiences.

1. Aircon problem as described above. AF engineer told me to do aircon maintenance to solve the issue. After spending $200+ to do aircon maintenance, problem still there.

2. Change my fuel pump come back discover fuel leaking.

3. Change my water pump (as part of recall) come back discover something else leaking. Brought it back and they changed my water pump again. All in, the water pump was changed 3 times.

human1969

Never EVER touch a Peugeot. Crap car, tons of problems...I won't even recommend it to my worst enemy!

Hello,

Is thinking of getting a used Manual RCZ,
Auto too big a risk to take, so only consider Manual.

Any experience to share on RCZ ?

Thanks

SeiferOfRCC

Hello,

Is thinking of getting a used Manual RCZ,
Auto too big a risk to take, so only consider Manual.

Any experience to share on RCZ ?

Thanks

To be frank, I've not heard much about RCZ. It could be because there aren't a lot of people driving this car in the first place. But ultimately it's still a Peugeot so I would still not touch it.

Shu

Driving a 107. 160K km liao. Changed clutch plate (I think) in 2012. Recently gearbox warning light came on, and gear disengaged. Happened while stationary, once at traffic light, the other time when switching from drive to reverse when parking!

Had to shift between E and M mode, and turn the engine off then on again. Lucky managed to re-engage again otherwise car would have been stuck at a damn awkward position.

Antz says scanner reads clutch actuator fault. Need to call stockist tomorrow to get a quote on parts.

Hope it's not ex! But prob into the 4 figure range liao ...

Shu

If anyone needs parts for Peugeot 107/Citroen C1 let me know. I got some online lobang. Usually cheaper than local stockist.

Offering because the parts can be quite rare (expensive) and can take time to arrive via stockist (because they need to order). Car getting old so things are slowly breaking down. To be expected lah ... So I spent some time researching this and now got working relationship with UK supplier who can send parts over at competitive rates (inc. shipping).

I recently replaced my rear wheel bearing myself. Long story short I paid about 25% of what AutoFrance wanted to charge me. Faster too as they said 3 weeks to order the part in. I waited 1 week for my order to arrive and DIY in MSCP in less than 1 hour haha.

AL5509

I recently replaced my rear wheel bearing myself. Long story short I paid about 25% of what AutoFrance wanted to charge me. Faster too as they said 3 weeks to order the part in. I waited 1 week for my order to arrive and DIY in MSCP in less than 1 hour haha.
cool!
So most or all of the stuffs you get to DIY?
If not, after ordering the parts, which workshop you goes to?

Shu

cool!
So most or all of the stuffs you get to DIY?
If not, after ordering the parts, which workshop you goes to?

It depends on the repair job. Need to balance cost, convenience and skill/tools required haha.

So far I've done this myself:

- replace rear wheel bearing
- changed oil/oil-filter
- replaced brake disc and pad

I've got the tools, got the manual and the job quite straight forward. Internet also got a lot of guides. Did it MSCP.

I plan on replacing the water pump, replace belt, and bleeding brakes myself.

But for things like aircon compressor that one require specialist equipment, or need experience to diagnose problem, will send to Antz at Toh Guan/Ubi. Owner and head mechanic both ex AutoFrance.

S24601

If anyone needs parts for Peugeot 107/Citroen C1 let me know. I got some online lobang. Usually cheaper than local stockist.

Offering because the parts can be quite rare (expensive) and can take time to arrive via stockist (because they need to order). Car getting old so things are slowly breaking down. To be expected lah ... So I spent some time researching this and now got working relationship with UK supplier who can send parts over at competitive rates (inc. shipping).

Hi Shu, so glad I found your post. I'm looking to buy an aircon compressor. Would you be able to help? Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.