Creative SB roar 2 speaker- unable to charge, unable to power on.

scubaforces

unable to power on my Creative SB roar 2 speaker.
tried to charge it from a direct power supply for 3 hours.
still nothing. still cannot power on.
the 3 battery lights simply blink twice and goes out.

bought it in sep2016.

anyone can advise?

watzup_ken

I remember reading that it is quite common as the battery is dead from frequent charging, i.e. some plug in all the time when using it at home. So for my Roar version 1, I charge it only when I used it. Not sure how long it will last though. :o

rx8

bought it in sep2016.

anyone can advise?

Try to unplug the power adaptor from the speaker, press and hold power button while plugging in the power adaptor to the speaker.

yamakazi51

Common issue, the battery is dead (or at least the charging circuit).

First, unplug the power and make sure no light, wait a while. Get ready your finger at the power button (but don't press yet). Then plug the power, once you see the light on, quickly press the power button, the speaker will turn on by power cable.

scubaforces

Common issue, the battery is dead (or at least the charging circuit).

First, unplug the power and make sure no light, wait a while. Get ready your finger at the power button (but don't press yet). Then plug the power, once you see the light on, quickly press the power button, the speaker will turn on by power cable.

already tried this, yes the damn thing turned on and began charging. charge for 3-4 hours liao. still charging. never charge finish. then I unplug the power supply. and tried to turn it on. nothing.

yusoffb01

bought it in sep2016.

anyone can advise?

common problem for creative. If you read reviews from those who bought the first gen, most spoilt because of the battery, even though the speaker works fine

ikkozilla

Nobody figured out how to replace the battery?

Sent from 10kkj using GAGT

sadboy

Ya common problem for this speaker. Once batt is dead have to use with ac power. The batteries really very fast (1 year +) spoil liao

royfrosty

I think the question is whether one can buy a new battery to replace. I don't think you can find a replacement easily.

Very easy. It is using 2 cells of 18650 battery in it. Quite easy to find replacement. Probably gonna start a video log soon, then probably share it around see if anyone out there with the Roar 1/2 have interest in changing it.

FinalTidus

I currently still have the first gen SoundBlaster Roar after more than 3 years plus. Still going strong though I use it only like once per week or so.

And yes I have read that this speaker CANNOT be left charged continuously even when it is fully charged cos it will damage the battery and render it useless. I think the manual also stated it. Hence right from the start I did not leave it to charge fully. I charge to about 90% and unplug liao.

I charged it like less than 5 times in total so far though.

Hopefully my Roar can last another 3years. Very good speakers for the price. :)

commach

Nobody figured out how to replace the battery?

Sent from 10kkj using GAGT

Replacing the battery is not rocket science, the question is, economical to hire such service or not? Unless you DIY, hiring someone to replace is a no go, you're better off buy another speaker as replacement with 1 year warranty and a new charger as well.

royfrosty

Yeah the cost to DIY, lets say we buy the same 18650 battery, it probably retail around $13/piece. So to DIY is around $26 to replace it.

But to engage service to do so, if the charges are to be at 1xx, then it is better to just buy a new one since it is relatively cheaper with new charger and battery.

commach

Yeah the cost to DIY, lets say we buy the same 18650 battery, it probably retail around $13/piece. So to DIY is around $26 to replace it.

But to engage service to do so, if the charges are to be at 1xx, then it is better to just buy a new one since it is relatively cheaper with new charger and battery.

Should be around S$80 for roar 2:

gtVq5a3.jpg

commach

Icic. $8x lol. Hard to swallow also lah.

Buy a xiaomi 10600 power bank, stripped the 4 x 18650 batteries, way cheaper than getting 2 units of standalone 18650 batteries.

Can do it for under $50. :D

wwenze

Repair service too ex then learn to diy lor.

But sinkies all only study how to do management and finance and medicine nobody knows how to use screwdriver anymore.

Any sinkies very weird that they themselves spend years to study degree then ask for $30/hr pay yet when they come across something they cannot do they are unwilling to pay the guy $30/hr for the knowledge and skills that also takes years to acquire. :D

yamakazi51

Don't want to spend and don't want to DIY, then just use plugged in lah, jump start it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.