Google Pixel 9 Pro Fold

disr87

I wasn’t even tempted to buy Pixel 9 Pro Fold.
I was gonna get the base Pixel 9 256GB.
Thanks to generosity of the people here I’m considering one.

I just got the 15% off voucher, and will leave it in my cart while I ponder whether I should get the Fold.

Anyone here has experience with folding phones in general? I’m concerned about the longevity and durability of the inner screen and the hinge. Do I need to be extra careful when handling such phone?

sorry man you don't belong here.

us folks here don't wait for review or demo set one, we just YOLO, the pain comes after

/s

on a serious note, i'm in the same boat as you with the same considerations and fears.
went to hands on with magic fold, galaxy fold, the find n3 and i'm optimistic.. even my friend who imported the original pixel fold is still happy with his.
I won't say I'm the most seasoned user but here's my take. I got a z fold 3 "apparently exchanged for new then sold" last year in July ish for around 700. it honestly looked v pristine which is what u would care about for drop induced damage. just before z fold 5 was launched and that was really quite a good deal.

I loved the phone but I imagine the chances of having durability issues is not low for sure. earlier this year my sound when open stopped working - this is bcos of the ribbon cable. cost about 280 or smth to fix at mistermobile. I think repair options still probably increase (not sure for google but samsung definitely). even them only 4 branches of mistermobile have the expertise to fix. I had to drive to paya lebar to fix (i'm in toa payoh) and they take like 4 hours to fix. so u go when they open at 11am I cant say for sure ull get it back the same day esp if u don't have the time. I left then collected next day

after they fixed it the s pen could no longer work on one side of the screen which they kinda disclaimer and they can't fix even if they want to bcos samsung doesn't sell them spare parts for the inner screen that can use s pen (only the grade b that cant). they offered to switch to another phone and im like wdv let me try this. within a month that one cannot open fully. luckily they fix it for free this time.

imagine going thru all that headache. i wanted to go back to slab. but for work this is really dam useful. emails. pdfs. multitasking. coming from a iphone xr (and iphone since 3gs) to the Fold 3 I really went down the rabbit hole of android phones. luckily I had my xr as a spare during repair otherwise think I will be dam sian.

fast forward I was considering btw z fold 6 and OPO. didn't expect google to launch in sg

my priorities were
1) big cover screen so I can open it less due to aforementioned issues (judge me how u want). z fold 3 is 54mm width cover screen (screen not device). fold 5 is 57mm. fold 6 is 60mm. OPO ,p9pf and iphone 15 is 6m. i was really leaning OPO tbh
2) camera. the camera on samsung is not great. overexposed. low light is not great. moving objects is not good. I have 2 kids 6m and 3yo so like I want a camera for that. OPO doesn't have motion photos. and not sure how it works for moving photos so pixel is technically the best
3) weight is another thing. I have the fold3 which is like 273g. with my case which I kiasu big one but phone still kaput makes it like 330g lol. compared to ur iphone 15 pro max is 221g. iphone 15 pro is 187g. the non pros are lighter. z fold5 is 253g. similar to p9pf at 257. z fold6 is 239 same as OPO black.

4) durability. I don't think u can judge any of the phones until ppl have used it for at least a year. so have to take durability issues with a grain of salt. important thing is the support. samsung I think is decent la. opo is relatively untested but don't see that many ppl complain in sg. reddit have. google will also have its problems but now got warranty.

end of the day if u want simple then don't go foldable but if u think will love the form factor for those reasons. mainly reading/working/multitasking and gaming (which I dont) u can consider. but weight and durability will come to mind for sure. also pls keep a spare phone to use in conjunction. I use iphone for my banking apps haha cos I hum even tho I think I can navigate scams and im gonna also use the z fold 3 as another spare (kept mostly open)

Loser

I intending to get the Pixel Watch 3 and Pixel Buds Pro 2 with the store credit so it seems like a really good deal if I’m going all in.

I was originally gonna pay $1029 for the 256GB Pixel 9.

However, $2039 with Fold, Pixel Buds and Pixel Watch sounds also good.
Oh then that makes sense.

But actually if you get the base pixel 9 + 299 credit, you need to top up $579 so total will be $1608.

Still about $400+ difference to opt for the fold. Or you can upgrade to the 9 pro instead.

Loser

Longevity and durability really depend on each and own common sense but it's not as fragile as most imagine.

As for feature and app accustomization etc... better look at fold 6. They can chu many more pattern but non honestly worth the time in the long run...most usually new phone try a few time than forget it exist after 1 month.

The biggest benefit would be web browsing, or maybe remote desktop back to your pc for some quick information. And of coz, it's pixel OS.

Even media consuming is not that much of a big difference if u ask me... just put any current 6.8 inch current flagship into landscape mode and it's about the same size as viewing from the internal foldable and maybe slightly taller.

This is coming from a guy who used...Fold 1, 2, ,4 and Oppo Find N, Oppo Find N2 , Oppo Find N3 many other candy bar -_-"
I think foldable only works if you're a heavy multitasker.

If no need multitask then no need foldable.

RaebRalop

Is it cumbersome to hold the phone while using the outer screen since it’s thicker than regular phone?

Is it comfortable to use the keyboard on the inner screen since when opened it’s quite wide?

Thanks for sharing your experience anyways!

Last time yes, thicker...like holding a brick. Given P9P Fold is only 10.5mm i say hardly...more like any other candybar but with the option to open if needed. But this is me...and i dont use case , just screen protector.

Seen so many ip15 pro max...phone weight 221g but wear a case that bring it up to 280g which is foldable phone weight is abit eh....

Typing inside need to stretch abit...but there's a split keyboard option as well. This aspect dont need to worry so much

Loser

I won't say I'm the most seasoned user but here's my take. I got a z fold 3 "apparently exchanged for new" then sold last year in July ish for around 700. just before z fold 5 was launched and that was really quite a good deal.

I loved the phone but I imagine the chances of having durability issues is not low for sure. earlier this year my sound when open stopped working - this is bcos of the ribbon cable. cost about 280 or smth to fix at mistermobile. I think repair options still probably increase (not sure for google but samsung definitely). even them only 4 branches of mistermobile have the expertise to fix. I had to drive to paya lebar to fix (i'm in toa payoh) and they take like 4 hours to fix. so u go when they open at 11am I cant say for sure ull get it back the same day.

after they fixed it the s pen could no longer work on one side of the screen which they kinda disclaimer and they can't fix even if they want to bcos samsung doesn't sell them spare parts for the inner screen that can use s pen (only the grade b that cant). they offered to switch to another phone and im like wdv let me try this. within a month that one cannot open fully. luckily they fix it for free this time.

imagine going thru all that headache. i wanted to go back to slab. but for work this is really dam useful. emails. pdfs. multitasking. coming from a iphone xr (and iphone since 3gs) to the Fold 3 I really went down the rabbit hole of android phones. luckily I had my xr as a spare during repair otherwise think I will be dam sian.

fast forward I was considering btw z fold 6 and OPO. didn't expect google to launch in sg

my priorities were
1) big cover screen so I can open it less (judge me how u want). z fold 3 is 54cm width cover screen (screen not device). fold 5 is 57cm. fold 6 is 60cm. OPO and pixel is 65cm. I was really leaning OPO tbh
2) camera. the camera on samsung is not great. overexposed. low light is not great. moving objects is not good. I have 2 kids 6m and 3yo so like I want a camera for that. OPO doesn't have motion photos. and not sure how it works for moving photos so pixel is technically the best
3) weight is another thing. I have the fold3 which is like 273g. with my case which I kiasu big one but phone still kaput makes it like 330g lol. compared to ur iphone 15 pro max is 221g. iphone 15 pro is 187g. the non pros are lighter. z fold5 is 253g. similar to p9pf at 257. z fold6 is 239 same as OPO black.

4) durability. I don't think u can judge any of the phones until ppl have used it for at least a year. so have to take durability issues with a grain of salt. important thing is the support. samsung I think is decent la. opo is relatively untested but don't see that many ppl complain in sg. reddit have. google will also have its problems but now got warranty.

end of the day if u want simple then don't go foldable but if u think will love the form factor for those reasons. mainly reading/working/multitasking and gaming (which I dont) u can consider. but weight and durability will come to mind for sure. also pls keep a spare phone to use in conjunction. I use iphone for my banking apps haha cos I hum even tho I think I can navigate scams and im gonna also use the z fold 3 as another spare
I love your doctorate thesis on your experience using a foldable phone.

Very insightful for someone who has never played with foldables like me.

disr87

Is it cumbersome to hold the phone while using the outer screen since it’s thicker than regular phone?

Is it comfortable to use the keyboard on the inner screen since when opened it’s quite wide?

Thanks for sharing your experience anyways!
cumbersome really depends on ur hands. I'm like 179 ish and I find the z fold 3 heavy in my hand but size is good. I went to get an iphone 8 plus to test the max size. which this will be similar to. I imagine ican't one hand the device la but buy first talk later. OPO still kinda can but it's a few mm shorter.

Keyboard shouldn't be a problem ba can change to suit ur needs. I even make it small to type with just one hand

RaebRalop

I think foldable only works if you're a heavy multitasker.

If no need multitask then no need foldable.

Yeah...that's y wasting $$$ jumping around especially i adore 6.3inch form factor. S24U to S24+ to S24 than back to ip15pmax.....

But web browsing in small screen really......at least for me. A bit sian...and Oh....a big map help when travelling. lol

disr87

I love your doctorate thesis on your experience using a foldable phone.

Very insightful for someone who has never played with foldables like me.
i have phone sizes on alot of phones in a Google spreadsheet lol. I don't even think so much about affordability but I don't like to waste money lol. and I really went down the rabbit hole of research. ISTJ for sure

Loser

Yeah...that's y wasting $$$ jumping around especially i adore 6.3inch form factor. S24 to S24+ to S24 than back to ip15pmax.....

But web browsing in small screen really......at least for me. A bit sian...
Wait a minute, you love 6.3inch then still jump to pro max for what? :s13:

Livewings

I won't say I'm the most seasoned user but here's my take. I got a z fold 3 "apparently exchanged for new" then sold last year in July ish for around 700. just before z fold 5 was launched and that was really quite a good deal.

I loved the phone but I imagine the chances of having durability issues is not low for sure. earlier this year my sound when open stopped working - this is bcos of the ribbon cable. cost about 280 or smth to fix at mistermobile. I think repair options still probably increase (not sure for google but samsung definitely). even them only 4 branches of mistermobile have the expertise to fix. I had to drive to paya lebar to fix (i'm in toa payoh) and they take like 4 hours to fix. so u go when they open at 11am I cant say for sure ull get it back the same day.

my priorities were
1) big cover screen so I can open it less (judge me how u want). z fold 3 is 54cm width cover screen (screen not device). fold 5 is 57cm. fold 6 is 60cm. OPO and pixel is 65cm. I was really leaning OPO tbh

end of the day if u want simple then don't go foldable but if u think will love the form factor for those reasons. mainly reading/working/multitasking and gaming (which I dont) u can consider. but weight and durability will come to mind for sure. also pls keep a spare phone to use in conjunction. I use iphone for my banking apps haha cos I hum even tho I think I can navigate scams and im gonna also use the z fold 3 as another spare

I love you took the time and wrote down your experiences of using foldable phones. Thanks for taking the time to share your story.

I think you convinced me to get the Fold. I agree that we should have a spare phone just in case anything happens. I have a spare Nothing Phone as a just in case.

I also think I would pay Google if they have something similar to AppleCare+

RaebRalop

I got small kids as well...Oppo Find N3 will result in many blur photo. Tested....

Livewings

Oh then that makes sense.

But actually if you get the base pixel 9 + 299 credit, you need to top up $579 so total will be $1608.

Still about $400+ difference to opt for the fold. Or you can upgrade to the 9 pro instead.

I actually calculated it’s actually a better deal to get Pixel 9 Pro XL rather than base Pixel 9 since there’s a larger $599 credit that comes with it.

$1478 (after 15%) - $599 = $879 (P9PXL 256GB)
$1138 (after 15%) - $299 = $839 (P9 256GB)

Loser

I actually calculated it’s actually a better deal to get Pixel 9 Pro XL rather than base Pixel 9 since there’s a larger $599 credit that comes with it.
Ya lor, still can get it sooner.

disr87

I love you took the time and wrote down your experiences of using foldable phones. Thanks for taking the time to share your story.

I think you convinced me to get the Fold. I agree that we should have a spare phone just in case anything happens. I have a spare Nothing Phone as a just in case.

I also think I would pay Google if they have something similar to AppleCare+
u could perhaps wait for actual units first la. If I didn't buy this i prob buy OPO so I just whack the code. if cannot use not THAT much loss but for u maybe lose the code if reorder

RaebRalop

Wait a minute, you love 6.3inch then still jump to pro max for what? :s13:

Used close to 2 month ...than sometime scrolling website pek chek lor , check lenghty email , view excel occasionally also irriated. But that form size 6.3 fit my hand and pocket most comfortable

Livewings

u could perhaps wait for actual units first la. If I didn't buy this i prob buy OPO so I just whack the code. if cannot use not THAT much loss but for u maybe lose the code if reorder

I waiting for Singtel to have a demo unit if possible. If not I think I just whack and try something new.

Loser

Used close to 2 month ...than sometime scrolling website pek chek lor , check lenghty email , view excel occasionally also irriated. But that form size 6.3 fit my hand and pocket most comfortable
So it true they say once you go black big you can't go back. :s34:

disr87

Sadly the p9pf width of phone is abit same as pro max 😢 77mm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.