10Gbps routers consume more power than a Fridge!

loganrunning

While I work on this little power reduction project, does anyone have any suggestions for how to persuade the other members of my household to keep the f***ing doors and windows closed when they run the air conditioner?!?!?😤

not implemented, just a thought experiment for home automation: if aircon on && ( door||window) open then disable aircon power supply for 24 hours

loganrunning

Ooooo.... I like your thinking.🤔

idea to encourage or "nudge" actions in the right direction, in an expeditious manner:
- time out doubles for each subsequent lapse

edit: or can do as in my case. turn off compressor, then secure it with pad lock for 12 hours (inspired by tag out, lock out procedure). one time, and problem solved :ROFLMAO:

alex22

While I work on this little power reduction project, does anyone have any suggestions for how to persuade the other members of my household to keep the f***ing doors and windows closed when they run the air conditioner?!?!?😤
Aircon the entire unit, close and lock all the windows, seal the toilet windows if any

alex22

idea to encourage or "nudge" actions in the right direction, in an expeditious manner:
- time out doubles for each subsequent lapse

edit: or can do as in my case. turn off compressor, then secure it with pad lock for 12 hours (inspired by tag out, lock out procedure). one time, and problem solved :ROFLMAO:
Wa. If apply this way, double the time out period at floor, canot sia, just write up the staffer and document it liao, send to HR

loganrunning

Wa. If apply this way, double the time out period at floor, canot sia, just write up the staffer and document it liao, send to HR

this one at home, so can! whoever pays the electricity bills can be judge, jury and executioner. :ROFLMAO:

vaxvms

life is so hard already
just enjoy n pay if u can afford

1 meal at restaurant for family outside already $100 easily

but router consume more than fridge is something new to me

xiaofan

life is so hard already
just enjoy n pay if u can afford

1 meal at restaurant for family outside already $100 easily

but router consume more than fridge is something new to me

Indeed, aircon and internet are really essential for many Singapore household.

One XGS-PON ONT/ONR + One 10Gbps capable Wireless router may still consume a bit less of power than a typical size fridge (say 40W to 50W).

But once you add more mesh nodes or other stuff like a switch or an always-on NAS/Server, then indeed, the home networking gears can consumer much more power than the fridge.

That being said, with the improvement in the chipset (say, using newer semiconductor technology), 10Gbps capable wireless router's power consumption may be reduced as well a long the way.

bert64

Indeed, aircon and internet are really essential for many Singapore household.

One XGS-PON ONT/ONR + One 10Gbps capable Wireless router may still consume a bit less of power than a typical size fridge (say 40W to 50W).

But once you add more mesh nodes or other stuff like a switch or an always-on NAS/Server, then indeed, the home networking gears can consumer much more power than the fridge.

That being said, with the improvement in the chipset (say, using newer semiconductor technology), 10Gbps capable wireless router's power consumption may be reduced as well a long the way.
The extra power consumption of the equipment will also be converted to heat, which your AC then has to deal with. The 10gbps equipment i have here does get very hot compared to 1gbps chipsets despite being significantly newer.

If not cooled adequately, i wouldn't be surprised to see such equipment failing fairly quickly due to the heat.

While newer chipsets will reduce power consumption, the same is also true of 1gbps and 100mbps equipment. In the vast majority of use cases 1gbps or even 100mbps is more than adequate for typical users, and even heavy users will typically only burst for very short periods followed by long periods of idling.

There is such as thing as "energy efficient ethernet" which aims to reduce power consumption - ie dynamically adjusting the power based on cable length/quality/load etc, but it's not always supported.

SuperClubby

Currently using a GE800. Outputs quite a bit of heat as well even though there's an internal fan.

Just leave the LEDs off and it won't be as bad.

vaxvms

Currently using a GE800. Outputs quite a bit of heat as well even though there's an internal fan.

Just leave the LEDs off and it won't be as bad.
wasted leh off the swee swee LED

maybe add an external base fan

hwzlite

+ The lack of ASPM support for certain 10g NIC is also a major problem for your workstation / homelab servers...

Ref: The Curse of ASPM :cool:

screenshot8-1024w.webp

SNAG

Measured my entire networking infrastructure and its consuming 75 watts:

1) Starhub XGS-PON ONT
2) UDM Pro (with 1 HDD inside bay), 2 low power 1.35W 10gbe SFP
3) 60W POE adapter powering a UniFi Switch Ultra switch, which in turn is powering 2 access points (1 x U6-PRO, 1x U6-IW) and Switch Flex-XG 10Gbe switch (only POE, with a separate 10gbe link directly to UDMP)
4) N100 mini PC with NVMe + RAM - proxmox running Home Assistant and pi-hole

Note the APs and 10Gbe are consuming 50% of max rated power.

sglandscape

1) Starhub XGS-PON ONT
3) 60W POE adapter powering a UniFi Switch Ultra switch, which in turn is powering 2 access points (1 x U6-PRO, 1x U6-IW) and Switch Flex-XG 10Gbe switch (only POE, with a separate 10gbe link directly to UDMP)

Your measurement is in line with my expectation when I measure my own devices too.

xiaofan

1) Starhub XGS-PON ONT

Nice data.

The two dual band Unifi WiFi 6 APs you have do not have high power dissipation probably due to the lack of 10G WAN/LAN port (or even 2.5G port).

Once Unifi comes out triband WiFi 7 AP with 10G WAN port, the power dissipation will increase greatly. In fact, triband WiFi 6E and WiFi 7 AP from Unifi APs already increase the power dissipation spec by a lot, even with only one 2.5G WAN port.

U6-Pro dual band AX5400 --> max power dissipation at 13W, single 1G port.
U6-IW dual band AX5400 --> max power dissipation at 15.4W, five 1G ports
U6 Enterprise triband AXE10400 --> max power dissipation at 22W, single 2.5G port
U7-Pro triband BE10700 --> max power dissipation at 21W, single 2.5G port

SNAG

Nice data.

The two dual band Unifi WiFi 6 APs you have do not have high power dissipation probably due to the lack of 10G WAN/LAN port (or even 2.5G port).

Once Unifi comes out triband WiFi 7 AP with 10G WAN port, the power dissipation will increase greatly. In fact, triband WiFi 6E and WiFi 7 AP from Unifi APs already increase the power dissipation spec by a lot, even with only one 2.5G WAN port.

U6-Pro dual band AX5400 --> max power dissipation at 13W, single 1G port.
U6-IW dual band AX5400 --> max power dissipation at 15.4W, five 1G ports
U6 Enterprise triband AXE10400 --> max power dissipation at 22W, single 2.5G port
U7-Pro triband BE10700 --> max power dissipation at 21W, single 2.5G port
I still can't see the justification to go WiFi 7. Not sure what is real world throughput when you're at a reasonable distance from the AP. Get reasonable speeds on uncluttered DFS channels :LOL:

overratedplot

+ The lack of ASPM support for certain 10g NIC is also a major problem for your workstation / homelab servers...

Ref: The Curse of ASPM :cool:

screenshot8-1024w.webp
This is not my experience. I have a cheap ConnectX-3 and my router (just a PC) goes into C10 just fine. Entire system usage is about 26 Watt from the wall. I found that ASPM is disabled by default in the BIOS on all motherboards I currently own though.

sglandscape

This is not my experience. I have a cheap ConnectX-3 and my router (just a PC) goes into C10 just fine. Entire system usage is about 26 Watt from the wall. I found that ASPM is disabled by default in the BIOS on all motherboards I currently own though.
Which firmware are you using for the cx3 card? I've not seen mine gone into it, but could be due to heavy activity in general throughout the day. ASPM and all other power saving modes have been enabled.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.