...12yo girl kena hit by a bicycle infront of waterway point....still in ICU now....

hammerhammer

Happened to see a similar accident on 9Aug 8am at the Zebra Crossing (Bukit Batok Road and Brickland Road). This bunch of cyclist was speeding past the Zebra Crossing without stopping and hit a small girl. Both cyclist lady and the small girl fell. The mother screamed with horror.

One of the cyclist (guy wearing black) then shouted at the mother blaming the girl for not being careful. When the mother shouted at him back, he started shouting the F words towards the mother, right in front of her already traumatised daughter!

The cyclist tried to run away like a coward but was chased after by the courageous father who screamed for him to stop. The chase was quite a distance. Really pity the father. And yet, the rude cyclist also began shouting back at the father. I was so shocked to see such low class behaviour. Makes my blood boils also.

Won't be surprised if one day, this horrible cyclist will himself be hit with a really bad accident. Or maybe even happen to his own kids. Then, he will remember how terrible he was towards the parents of the small girl who got knocked down by his cyclist friend. This is just karma and when karma hits back, they will hit hard. Luckily, the girl didn't end up being in ICU or worse. Otherwise, I am sure the cyclist who knocked her down will end up in court because cars and cyclist are supposed to STOP at a Zebra Crossing!
Hope the cyclist friend knock down his own children then he can f himself and his kiddo upside down for causing his friend to fell off. 😂

white_prince

actually if kids running around on pedestrian pavement should be ok since is pavement .. but of course the kids can knock into elderly too.. so both kids and cyclists nuisance.. haha
Hannor both ways, sometimes the parents just let them be even knowing that they are at GBTB, where there are so many people and cyclists.

jywy2005

I know there are no stupid questions but you are a prime example against this logic.
Wait till you encounter a cyclist speeding past you and you happen to swerve and hit his bike, causing him to fall.

I was scolded cos I didn’t look out for him on pedestrian walkway. Some more it was raining and I was avoiding a big puddle of water.

Best it’s all cyclists take mandatory cycling tests and have a license to cycle. They dun follow rules and there is no enforcement against them.

Forever84

Today I drive out buy breakfast, 3 buses in front of me had to switch to lane 2 in order to overtake cyclist.

On road, cyclist claim they need to be looked after and given space.
On pavement, cyclist claim that pedestrian need to give way to them as faster moving user.

Wow. Everywhere is cyclist number 1

Nickypigu

Today I drive out buy breakfast, 3 buses in front of me had to switch to lane 2 in order to overtake cyclist.

On road, cyclist claim they need to be looked after and given space.
On pavement, cyclist claim that pedestrian need to give way to them as faster moving user.

Wow. Everywhere is cyclist number 1
They are the pest of the society. Create nothing but trouble for others.

tokong

actually if kids running around on pedestrian pavement should be ok since is pavement .. but of course the kids can knock into elderly too.. so both kids and cyclists nuisance.. haha

Kids will always run around and school kids will always rush across the road. This is a fact and a reality. We need to slow down, whatever vehicle we are driving/riding. You expected suaykia (Hokk. for 'small kids') to follow/heed the stern advice after the school morning assembly by the principal? Since when we followed teachers' instructions when we were young telling us not to dash across the road? Still got classmate kena banged and broke leg. Later discovered he and classmates were playing with football as they walked home.

Nickypigu

been running in the punggol pcn for 10yrs. never seen a single npark or lta on duty
Even if you repeatedly report cyclists riding on pedestrian overhead bridge primary used by primary school students to go to school in one service app, LTA will reply that they will send their enforcement officer to patrol more often also never see anyone patrolling. I guess their camouflage skill better than our special forces, cannot see them at all. Setting up the active mobility act is just some paper exercise for their scholar to get promoted when their enforcement officers are never present.

usarmy

It is also sign of overcrowded. Regardless cyclist or pedestrian, we need to be very careful on any sort of pavement. Cyclist ride slowly, pedestrian not stick eyes on phone or ear bud while walking.
Hope the girl get well soon.

Sent from EDMWER!

DynamiteZerg

Even if you repeatedly report cyclists riding on pedestrian overhead bridge primary used by primary school students to go to school in one service app, LTA will reply that they will send their enforcement officer to patrol more often also never see anyone patrolling. I guess their camouflage skill better than our special forces, cannot see them at all. Setting up the active mobility act is just some paper exercise for their scholar to get promoted when their enforcement officers are never present.
Maybe LTA upgraded from monitoring lizards to chameleons...

TheITGuy

You asked to be knocked down if you are on the wrong path?
This statement is very disturbing. No one asks to be harmed simply because they walked in the wrong path. You’re not just riding a bicycle, you’re sharing public space with other pedestrians.

Cycling paths exist for safety reason. If someone is in the wrong spot, as a cyclist isn’t to ‘teach them a lesson’ by knocking them over. It’s to slow down, alert them, and move on. Please do not think just being on the cycling path it gives you a free pass to knock the people walking in the path.

If you think knocking someone down is ever justified, especially when its totally avoidable, then you’re not just a hazard on the road. You are part of the problem with public spaces becoming unsafe.

Ride responsibly. Being in the right path doesn’t give you the right to harm others.

hwarzoner

now coming out of lift need to look left n right, u never know wbich inconsiderate cyclist will zoom pass u

Teufelhunden

there are many cyclists here in this forum who support bicycle over pedestrian. Can see them defending cyclists in topics relating to bicycle and pedestrian/car in park connectors and roads.

Difficult to target bicycle when we have a sizeable population who are cyclists. Think we just pray we are not so suay to kana knock down by bicycle liao and be alert when we walking even in pedestrian pavement in parks joggin track... 🙏

Only when more and more ppl die from knocking down by cyclists, maybe the govt will then react
So what if its sizeable? Just enforce and patrol more.

Errant cyclists are the bane of drivers and pedestrians.

bigrooster

Authorities won’t do anything unless it happens to their own people
But 'higher mortals' were driven in cars and likely won't walk on 'lesser mortals' congested heartland walk paths.

In the rare occasions when they do, their ka kias would have prep the ground and cleared a path for them to walk unhindered.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.