18yo dental assistant, who works 11 hours daily for S$1.59K/month salary asks, “Are these hours and this pay the norm in Singapore?”

muji4832

Why she act like she doesn't know that she's underpaid ?

She got no friends ?

Why dun ask the relative straight ?

Sounds like CSB to me.

qhong61

how come she 18yro already work 1 mth and prepping for uni applications? Even if IB program also dont think end yet? If she ish in poly then cant be 18yro prepping for uni also.
A level result not even out yet.

qhong61

dental assistant pay is around 2.5k. she kenna low balled because she has no qualifications and boss is relative.

i know a few experienced and qualified dental assistants that are earning around 5k/mth
Cos she is not experienced nor qualified.

hachi

Just endure a bit then look for another job...

N4E.SI

can try do those sugarbook etc find bf leech

earn 2-3k more a month also song

this is the best time and country ever to be a woman free sex, meals, dates, allowances, no ns, no caning, song

Haven't seen her looks yet cannot confirm.

If average looking to chio, then confirm can easily earn 8-10k a month with minimal effort. SG is the best place in the world to be a women... can cheat, scam and even murder without any punishment one

hardwriter

I have never met a dental assistant who demanded to leave work on time.

PaboJames

Dictatorship country. Do as you are told. Got pay should count blessings liao

PaboJames

She's not even a grad yet. So that means Diploma of even just A levels.

I'd say it's reasonable.

For 44 hours of work per week probably. But don't seems ok for 60+ if that is what she is actually doing

Same number of hours...she might make more working at MacDonald

BigMonkey

usually if family member is part of the owner, u will kiao kar and buah long long every day. this is the opposite.

gn2807

Relatives will take advantage on jobless family member then put very nice words "let me help you, my place open 1 vacancy for you" then give super low salary

Pocoyoz

break mom rules

Break times​

You are generally not required to work more than 6 consecutive hours without a break.

However, if the nature of the work requires continuous work for up to 8 hours, breaks must be provided for meals. The breaks should be at least 45 minutes long.

Normal hours of work​

Contractual working hours are the hours that you and your employer have agreed to in the contract of service.

For common work arrangements, your contractual hours of work are as follows:

If you workYour contractual hours of work are
5 days or less a weekUp to 9 hours per day or 44 hours a week
More than 5 days a weekUp to 8 hours a day or 44 hours a week

Overtime pay​

Overtime work is all work in excess of the normal hours of work (excluding breaks).

You can claim overtime if you are:

• A non-workman earning a monthly basic salary of $2,600 or less.
  • A workman earning a monthly basic salary of $4,500 or less.
Generally, a workman is someone whose work involves mainly manual labour. Find out if you fall under this category.
The overtime rate payable for non-workmen is capped at the salary level of $2,600, or an hourly rate of $13.60.

Get your correct overtime pay on time. Work done beyond the contractual hours is considered overtime hours.
For overtime work, your employer must pay you at least 1.5 times the hourly basic rate of pay. Payment must be made within 14 days after the last day of the salary period.

A non-workman earns $2,600 a month and works 2 hours of overtime. The overtime pay is:
$13.60 × 1.5 × 2 hours = $40.80

eno_lc

Sinkies should be contented with such wonder job opportunities, along with being security guards, cleaners, or doing grab :s42:

vespaguy

Many Dentists and Doctors overcharge their patients, overpay themselves and underpay their staff. That's the way of the GCB owning, luxury car driving, exotic place vacationing folks. Something's gotta give.

Emperor_Hippo

SINGAPORE: An 18-year-old Singaporean took to social media on Monday (Oct 21) to share that her take-home pay amounted to only S$1,590 despite working 11 hours daily as a full-time dental assistant.

In her post on r/askSingapore, a Reddit forum, she mentioned she was the only support staff at the clinic, responsible for ‘assisting with dental surgeries, managing orders and deliveries, handling inventory, opening and closing the clinic, and being the hygienist.’

She also revealed that her 20-minute lunch break is often rushed and happens randomly because the clinic operates non-stop.

She went on to detail her exhausting daily schedule, writing, “I wake up at 6 am and start commuting at 7.15 am to reach the clinic by 8.30 am. I finish work around 7.20/30 pm and commute; I reach home at around 8.20 pm.”

“I work these hours Monday-Saturday. Around 11 hours a day × 6 days a week ≈ 66 hours a week.”

What made her situation even more overwhelming was that she had been left to cover additional duties after the clinic’s receptionist had to leave for personal reasons, forcing her to juggle multiple roles on her own.

So, in addition to her primary responsibilities, she was also put in charge of scheduling patient appointments, processing payments, and addressing patients’ queries.

“I know this is a job that needs zero experience, but my duties cover literally everything,” she lamented.

Having grown up abroad and being unfamiliar with the typical working conditions in Singapore before starting at the clinic, she expressed her confusion, stating:

“I guess what I’m trying to ask is if this is normal. Are these hours and this pay the norm here? I know SG has a reputation for hustle culture, but this seems a bit excessive.”

Moreover, she mentioned she felt conflicted about leaving the job as the dentist was a family member.

However, given that she needs to start preparing for her university applications, she’s planning to cut down her work 5 days a week starting in November.

“It’s not even like I desperately need the money either; I just feel bad leaving the job at this point as it would just be the dentist alone in the clinic. It is also so lonely because there are no other coworkers,” she explained.

“It sounds like you’re being exploited by your own relatives, of all people.”​

In the comments section, many Singaporean Redditors thought that the young woman was being exploited by her own family member and thus advised her to leave the job.

One Redditor said, “If your family member does not value you enough to pay you well, don’t feel bad about leaving. Look at job sites for the market rate for dental assistants; it shouldn’t be this low.

My friend works as a dental hygienist; she’s doing pretty okay and leaves work early.”

Another expressed, “It sounds like you’re being exploited by your relatives, of all people.

I wouldn’t work for relatives or friends because the dynamics make it easier for them to take advantage of you, and you should maintain boundaries between the workplace and familial/social relations.”

Others encouraged her to reflect on her long-term goals, asking if the job aligned with her career aspirations.

One Redditor said, “Is this job helping with your degree or future career? Are you staying because you want to be a dentist and think you can learn from it?

If not, you really should cut down your hours or consider leaving. Your future and well-being should come first.”

Some also urged her to ask for a salary increase and to ensure she is compensated for the overtime hours she has been putting in.

One Redditor added, “Ask for a salary increase and longer break time. If not, no need to give face; just quit after finding a new job.”

https://theindependent.sg/18yo-dent...ese-hours-and-this-pay-the-norm-in-singapore/
Work for relative is only as just a stop gap measure to kill time while looking for a new job, so can pad resume.

u dun work for a family member full time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.