2 GPUs with IGPU?

cybernick

In a 2 GPUs Scenario with Win 7 in extended mode (2 screens per GPU),
I understand that there can only be one master GPU, & the other is slave (without crossfire).

If I enabled my integrated IGPU, on my mobo (another 2 screens), I understand that it will share my system ram.

However, does that use up any CPU computing resources or does my primary/master GPU do all the rendering/display work?

devilwahaha

So how many screens total do you have now? Very confusing sia the way you phrase it.

Simplified for you, if you have lets say just 1 GPU and IGP with 4 screens. If you connect 2 to GPU and 2 to IGP, the 2 on IGP will be rendered only by IGP while the same goes for the 2 on GPU. You try playing the same game on the 2 different sets of screens, you will have two very different sets of FPS.

It will definitely use up some of your CPU resource but definitely nothing significant if you have a rather new CPU. If you're watching Youtube on the GPU or IGP the CPU usage would be about the same, which is not significant at all.

MoneyFace =p

You cannot activate both Intel IGP and discrete graphics for heterogeneous graphics support.

devilwahaha

You cannot activate both Intel IGP and discrete graphics for heterogeneous graphics support.

Too chim angmoh I cant process :s13::s22:

What does heterogeneous graphics support mean exactly? Like running youtube on IGP on one screen while running Dota 2 on another screen with GPU? If so, I've done it before. Literally running a youtube video off the IGP on a TV while running Dota 2 off the dedicated GPU on my U2312hm. That's also how I found out the rendering capability is restricted to what you connect to, when I connected the Dota 2 screen to IGP, frame rates suffered badly compared to when connected to GPU(obviously :D)

MoneyFace =p

From Ivy Bridge onwards, simultaneous output is supported.
AFAIK Ivy Bridge is only able to output to 3 monitor, all from IGP (depending on availability of dual DisplayPort connectors) but not simultaneous output with both IGP and discrete graphics. Maybe is there's some article regarding that to guide me through? :s11:

cybernick

AFAIK Ivy Bridge is only able to output to 3 monitor, all from IGP (depending on availability of dual DisplayPort connectors) but not simultaneous output with both IGP and discrete graphics. Maybe is there's some article regarding that to guide me through? :s11:

Well, I've done it.
I can even output display from the Mobo & 2 of my discrete GPUs simultaneously for my Haswell processor.
I'm not sure about any article, you can try googling for IGPU.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.