Planning to visit Turkey with kids and this is my planned itinerary:

Day 1-5: Istanbul
Day 6-7: Bursa
Day 8-9: Kusadasi
Day 10: Pamukkale
Day 11-12: Konya
Day 13-15: Capadoccia
Day 16: Istanbul Airport hotel to fly back home

Anyone been to Turkey and can advise is this itinerary sound and not too rushed? I have removed Izmir from my plans as I heard it's not exciting if My purpose is to visit Ephesus which I'll do so from Kusadasi now instead.

And anyone has local driver contacts to share?

Thanks!

sprouts

Would like to find out if it's easy to get around with bus/trams in the cities mentioned above? Or cheap enough to get around using taxis if necessary too.

Thanks!

klavier

Only did Istanbul - Selcuk - Pamukkale - Cappadocia previously.

Personally I would leave Istanbul for last. Main reason for this was due to shopping. I didn't want to carry my buys along the trip so I thought it was best to save the main shopping city for last. What I did previously was to fly directly to Izmir which you are omitting after landing at Istanbul. I stayed at Selcuk to access Ephesus and well, Selcuk turned out to be my favourite town (did not visit Konya or Kusadasi) among the places I visited. Somehow I felt Selcuk was the most laid back town with Pamukkale being the busiest..

After Selcuk, I took a coach to Pamukkale and another coach (overnight) to Cappadocia before flying back to Istanbul.
Anyway public transportation was easy. Pamukkale is so small that you won't need any transport. 1 full day at Pamukkale is sufficient and 3-4 days at Cappadocia would be ideal. 4-5 days at Istanbul is good enough too.

Turkey is an affordable country to visit. A hidden gem (for Singapore) really since it's often overlooked as generally speaking, tourist usually head to the main cities of Western Europe instead.

sprouts

What are the good buys from Istanbul?

Sadly, I can't leave Istanbul to the end of my trip as it'll clash with Champion League Finals and my SO doesn't want to crowd with the rest on that weekend.

And I have 2 young kids with us too so coach doesn't seem like a viable option for now.

Thoma5

i went there only 11 days... seriously not enough sia...

sprouts

i went there only 11 days... seriously not enough sia...

Could you share more about your trip? Not much info here on HWZ. Would love to hear more about what you've done and any tips too.

I'm going this June for 15 days and was wondering if I should stay in a cave hotel at Cappadocia.

How did you travel around the country too? It's huge!

Thoma5

i only go istanbul and cappdocia nia... i just came back few weeks ago nia... cappadocia i go for 3 days 2 night for hot air balloon but fail due to snowy weather. manage to play atv in snowy weather over there and we aso book green tour at there which only 40+ euros per pax..
my first time to turkey... really love it there.
if u r a light sleeper,pls wear earplug to slp... they play their prayers chant at 4am all over istanbul 1...

food wise dun eat those expensive... many quite kns... cheap 1 then nice... remember to go jiak their zhup cai png...damn nice and cheap....
the best is to go asia side... food at tat area are more cheaper as compare to euro side...
remember to buy istanbul card in taksim but not in the airport cause cheaper...

look out for those shoes scam... scammer will drop their brush and better dun go kay qiang pick it up for them...

ignore those syrian refugee with children tat sit on the street... dun see them like eat rubbish bin food u feel them jialat and give them $... they actin nia and makin a big mess for those turkish rubbish cleaner... u give them $,u are encouraging them to be lazy....
in fact over there sibei safe so not much to worry about...

yes u shld stay in cave hotel in cappadocia... it's really nice...
I intro this...
https://www.azacave.com/en/azacavecappadociathey sibei good and they upgrade us for free.... so if u stay there,u may heng heng kena free upgrade too...

sprouts

Wow, thanks for your many tips! Esp the earplug ones. Can get ours ready first, hahaha...

I'm really looking forward. Turkey seems like such a beautiful country! And I want to stay in a cave hotel too, will check your out! ;)

Thoma5

4p0Rj0m.jpg

the cave hotel tat i stay....

mgcttuf.jpg

go to this place which is sultan backyard... the city across look very 3D to my eyes.. though i duno why iphone 14 pro take the photo like kns...

turkey very beautiful… i really love the place a lot...

if u into history, Istanbul got lot of historical site for u to visit. Remember to buy full museum pass for 5 days… it will be much more worth it…
Watch netfix Rise of Empires Ottoman before goin there.. u will understand the city history more..

In cappadocia right,if u choose the hotel which I recommend which is located at nevsehir merkez,makan gt a bit pricey over there…but do search hard like those very small restaurant which dun look very fancy and gt 1 or 2 staff inside… those are cheap and nice to makan…
U aso can book your hot air balloon through the hotel staff too…

oh remember to drink starbuck everyday there… sibei cheap… even cheaper than vietnam…

sprouts

4p0Rj0m.jpg

the cave hotel tat i stay....

mgcttuf.jpg

go to this place which is sultan backyard... the city across look very 3D to my eyes.. though i duno why iphone 14 pro take the photo like kns...

turkey very beautiful… i really love the place a lot...

if u into history, Istanbul got lot of historical site for u to visit. Remember to buy full museum pass for 5 days… it will be much more worth it…
Watch netfix Rise of Empires Ottoman before goin there.. u will understand the city history more..

In cappadocia right,if u choose the hotel which I recommend which is located at nevsehir merkez,makan gt a bit pricey over there…but do search hard like those very small restaurant which dun look very fancy and gt 1 or 2 staff inside… those are cheap and nice to makan…
U aso can book your hot air balloon through the hotel staff too…

oh remember to drink starbuck everyday there… sibei cheap… even cheaper than vietnam…

Wow, I love your Cave Hotel view! And will get the museum pass!

I've booked a room in The Local Cave House Hotel (https://localcavehouse.com/local-cave-suit/) and it's on the topmost floor with a private terrace so that we can wake in our PJ to view the hot air balloons.

Not sure if it's worth it. Will be there for 3 nights and bringing kids along so it's quite ex. :/

Do you know if most cave hotels don't offer views directly from the room and we'll need to walk oput to view from the top terrace? What about the experience of staing in a Fairy Chimney?

LWZ

look out for those shoes scam... scammer will drop their brush and better dun go kay qiang pick it up for them...

Lol kena this several years back, though I was wearing cloth sports shoes... it was low season, and dude must have been really desperate.

He didn't even bother selling me a sob story and just started demanding payment within a few seconds of putting the brush to my shoes. I refused and quickly walked off in case he had buddies around to ambush me.

Thoma5

Wow, I love your Cave Hotel view! And will get the museum pass!

I've booked a room in The Local Cave House Hotel (https://localcavehouse.com/local-cave-suit/) and it's on the topmost floor with a private terrace so that we can wake in our PJ to view the hot air balloons.

Not sure if it's worth it. Will be there for 3 nights and bringing kids along so it's quite ex. :/

Do you know if most cave hotels don't offer views directly from the room and we'll need to walk oput to view from the top terrace? What about the experience of staing in a Fairy Chimney?
cappadocia 1 dun save... go for it... u wont regret...
for istanbul hotel then go for a bit budget 1... my istanbul hotel only $80/night but the hotel hospitality really no horse run...

my experience of stayin in cave hotel is ok... but i gt a bit suay suay kena hypothermia at there on the second day,the room too big liao for the heater to heat up the whole room so i had to keep sitting near the heater to make myself warm...

sprouts

Oh gosh... I'm going on June and saw this hotel with a room that has no air con. The guide said no air con is ok for cave rooms.

And he said depending on the weather, the balloons may take off in different locations. So not a guarantee to see from the room with a view. Is this true? If so, maybe I downgrade to another room then. Hahah...

sprouts

Lol kena this several years back, though I was wearing cloth sports shoes... it was low season, and dude must have been really desperate.

He didn't even bother selling me a sob story and just started demanding payment within a few seconds of putting the brush to my shoes. I refused and quickly walked off in case he had buddies around to ambush me.

😅😅 Ya, must be vigilant.

klavier

What are the good buys from Istanbul?

Sadly, I can't leave Istanbul to the end of my trip as it'll clash with Champion League Finals and my SO doesn't want to crowd with the rest on that weekend.

And I have 2 young kids with us too so coach doesn't seem like a viable option for now.

Apart from getting souvenirs at Grand Bazaar, items like clothing (similar brands which you can find in sg and other European cities) are cheaper. Anyway no harm done if not going to shop much since Turkey is known for sight seeing and it's hospitality.

By the way when I was there I traveled with a young kid (2 year old then and still took the coaches. However, we limited ourselves to Istanbul, Selcuk, Pamukkale, Cappadocia for 13 nights so as to avoid packing/unpacking and travelling. 2 domestic flights + 2 coaches. But that was many years back so I would imagine the infrastructure should have improved by now.

Thoma5

0:28
2 amdk victim kena in my video...actually want to help tat amdk but then i see see they all ok so we just go off after tat...
tat shoes scammer actually did tried on us when we were going to galata tower... he dropped in front of me and i burst out laughin loud cause i know this scam liao...then after the tower tour,we were abt to go other place,then saw this 2 amdk victim kena...

sprouts

Apart from getting souvenirs at Grand Bazaar, items like clothing (similar brands which you can find in sg and other European cities) are cheaper. Anyway no harm done if not going to shop much since Turkey is known for sight seeing and it's hospitality.

By the way when I was there I traveled with a young kid (2 year old then and still took the coaches. However, we limited ourselves to Istanbul, Selcuk, Pamukkale, Cappadocia for 13 nights so as to avoid packing/unpacking and travelling. 2 domestic flights + 2 coaches. But that was many years back so I would imagine the infrastructure should have improved by now.

Wah, you're good to travel with coaches with 2 young kids. I can't imagine having to handle them fussing.

I agree the unpacking/packing is a pain.

klavier

Wah, you're good to travel with coaches with 2 young kids. I can't imagine having to handle them fussing.

I agree the unpacking/packing is a pain

Well I hope you enjoy your trip. Me and my wife actually rate Turkey better than the European countries we have visited due to hospitable people there.

Not sure how old are your kids but I feel the Turkish adore young children. My kid received plenty of free souvenirs and ice cream from shop vendors in every town we visited. Some resto treated us to free apple tea too. Granted these are cheap freebies but they could also choose not to.

By the way my cave hotel didn't have AC too but I went in end April so it was still ok. While the outside is hot (Cappadocia is desert area), the cave remains cool throughout the day/night.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.