2020 market expectations and positioning

limster

thats why i don't mind refunding my CPF housing loan. I can earn 2.5% inside CPF-OA while waiting for a crash, then i can use CPF-OA to buy either stocks or unit trusts! Maybe one day my CPF-OA will be as much as Uncle Kenny! :s13:

highsulphur

thats why i don't mind refunding my CPF housing loan. I can earn 2.5% inside CPF-OA while waiting for a crash, then i can use CPF-OA to buy either stocks or unit trusts! Maybe one day my CPF-OA will be as much as Uncle Kenny!

I think those days are over... Close would be good enough!

wutawa

I'm curious if anyone has used their SA to invest before.
Under what circumstances would you do that and what did you buy?

Ppl i know isnt even doing well for cpfis-oa. To huat for cpfis-sa must be really pro.

decibel.

If you can't make do with 4% and think you can do better. For me a risk free 4% is good enough.

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

limster

I used SA during the GFC. One day my broker called me and told me that I had exceeded my CPF limit, had to top up order with cash (CPF website stock limit is not 'real-time' because of T+3 settlement). Since no more CPF-OA left, I used CPF-SA to buy First State Bridge

However, after the price rose 15%, i decided to take profit since the conventional wisdom is that CPF-SA 4% is better than unit trusts (if I didn't listen to this conventional wisdom and held on till today, I would have beat the CPF-SA 4% every year).

peacefulday

Don't underestimate the cpf SA compounding interest and it's served a risk balance out of your invest portfolio. I preferred cash only for stock.

simon_84

Ppl i know isnt even doing well for cpfis-oa. To huat for cpfis-sa must be really pro.

I only used cpf oa to buy a single reit.
Made some decent returns from starhill global before cashing out for hdb purchase.

Trader11

Actually I am happy

The bigger the melt up the more brutal melt down

The only thing is that sometimes I wish I have the conviction to ride this melt up

Bro, hard to say nowadays with the liquidity in the market. Borrow cheap money to speculate seems like the way people are getting rich.

ashethen

Actually I am happy

The bigger the melt up the more brutal melt down

The only thing is that sometimes I wish I have the conviction to ride this melt up

You could be missing the boat trying to time the market

Posted from PCWX using SM-N960F

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.