2k Build recommendations

xcrozx

Hey guys,

Looking for some recommendations on my first custom PC build. Will be used primarily for gaming, general browsing, some photoshop & maybe streaming. My monitor is 1080p. I have a budget of ~2k would be preferred if parts could stay under 2k.

I won't need a monitor/kb/mouse, but will need OS. Will not be doing any CPU overclocking. Don't think will need more than 8gb ram.
If possible to squeeze in an SSD would be better(128gb/256gb).

Also, I don't have a dvi/hdmi cable for my monitor anyone knows how much it would cost?

Looking forward to recommendations.

wuweiz

My recommendations:

Mobo+CPU: MSI B85-G43 +i5-4570 - $382
Gfx: PowerColour 7970 3GB OC DDR5 - $519
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws-X 1600MHZ 8 GB (4GBx2) - $105
SSD: Plextor M5P 256GB - $305
HDD: WD Caviar Blue (1TB) - $85
PSU: Seasonic M12II-620W - $125
Casing: CM Storm Scout II Black - $159
OD: LG 24x DVD-RW Sata OEM - $25

Total: $1,825

Prices quoted for PCThemes.. U can look at other pricelists also..

Also quoting base on assumption that you won't be doing over-clocking.. =:p

If you want, can add in 2 front intake fans for CM Scout 2 casing.. 2x120mm or 1x140mm..

If you wanna save more, you can choose Plextor M5S series of SSDs.. Cheaper than M5P but slightly slower.. :s13:

RAM also can use Kingston Value RAM.. Gosh.. RAM so expensive now.. :o

Chose AMD gfx instead of Nvidia cause maybe you wanna add on a gfx in future and that MSI mobo only supports dual x-fire.. :o 3GB of DDR5 RAM on the gfx should last u quite a couple of years also bah..

For your monitor, just use a DVI input.. Go down to the shops and ask bah.. I also not sure.. :s13:

xcrozx

My recommendations:

Mobo+CPU: MSI B85-G43 +i5-4570 - $382
Gfx: PowerColour 7970 3GB OC DDR5 - $519
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws-X 1600MHZ 8 GB (4GBx2) - $105
SSD: Plextor M5P 256GB - $305
HDD: WD Caviar Blue (1TB) - $85
PSU: Seasonic M12II-620W - $125
Casing: CM Storm Scout II Black - $159
OD: LG 24x DVD-RW Sata OEM - $25

Total: $1,825

Prices quoted for PCThemes.. U can look at other pricelists also..

Also quoting base on assumption that you won't be doing over-clocking.. =:p

If you want, can add in 2 front intake fans for CM Scout 2 casing.. 2x120mm or 1x140mm..

If you wanna save more, you can choose Plextor M5S series of SSDs.. Cheaper than M5P but slightly slower.. :s13:

RAM also can use Kingston Value RAM.. Gosh.. RAM so expensive now.. :o

Chose AMD gfx instead of Nvidia cause maybe you wanna add on a gfx in future and that MSI mobo only supports dual x-fire.. :o 3GB of DDR5 RAM on the gfx should last u quite a couple of years also bah..

For your monitor, just use a DVI input.. Go down to the shops and ask bah.. I also not sure.. :s13:

Thanks for your recommendations.

Is there any difference between Kingston Value ram and g.skill?

If you were to choose another mobo (not MSI) what would you recommend? Thinking about getting a nvidia gfx, have always been using nvidia for the past few years.

shadow84

If you were to choose another mobo (not MSI) what would you recommend? Thinking about getting a nvidia gfx, have always been using nvidia for the past few years.

The diff would be that for that particular g.skill, it have a heatsink on it..

You can try Asrock B85M Pro4...

wuweiz

Change to MSI GTX 770 2GB Twin Frozr then.. Total should be near to 2k.. Think that gfx is around $669+....

Personally I find MSI B85-G43 board quite value for money.. But you can look at Asrock as well I guess, as mentioned by the bro above...

Personally though, I only look at ASUS, Gigabyte or MSI boards.. Just personally preference.. :s13:

xcrozx

Change to MSI GTX 770 2GB Twin Frozr then.. Total should be near to 2k.. Think that gfx is around $669+....

Personally I find MSI B85-G43 board quite value for money.. But you can look at Asrock as well I guess, as mentioned by the bro above...

Personally though, I only look at ASUS, Gigabyte or MSI boards.. Just personally preference.. :s13:

I think I'm gonna go with that GTX 770, is there anything in particular I should look out for when looking at motherboards?

The diff would be that for that particular g.skill, it have a heatsink on it..

Would the heatsink be necessary for me since I'm not overclocking?

shadow84

I think I'm gonna go with that GTX 770, is there anything in particular I should look out for when looking at motherboards?

I highly doubt so.... but im getting the Corsair vengence Pro which have the heatsink as well... Going purely for looks for a bit more money... If not overclocking, the heatsink wun be needed. And if you can tahan the design of value rams.

I recommend the EVGA gtx 770, slightly more powerful in terms of core/boost clocks and cheaper as well, lowest was $645. Temp wise, it may run a little hotter than MSI, at most less den 5 degrees diff, and jus a few decibels louder. Check out reviews for both of them to have a better gauge.

wuweiz

As long as u have adequate cooling, don't worry about the heat lah.. Just don't run so many applications when ya gaming..

EVGA quite a good brand to consider too for graphics cards..

Invest in a few fans for your casing.. It will be worth it..

If more kiasu like me, throw in a cpu fan cooler.. CM 212 Evo quite value for money.. :s13:

devilwahaha

1) Motherboard features like number of SATA ports, position of PCI-E slots, number of USB ports, if it has PS/2 port for full NKRO.

zjlim86

As long as u have adequate cooling, don't worry about the heat lah.. Just don't run so many applications when ya gaming..

If more kiasu like me, throw in a cpu fan cooler.. CM 212 Evo quite value for money.. :s13:

Issit hard to install the CPU cooler? when I game, my side casing seem quite hot...and i not sure the heat is from the GPU or the CPU..

shadow84

Issit hard to install the CPU cooler? when I game, my side casing seem quite hot...and i not sure the heat is from the GPU or the CPU..

Can watch youtube videos on how to install...

Most of the time, it would be the heat from your GPU... GPU generates more heat than CPU when you game. Make sure your front intake is good enough to blow the hot air out from ur expansion slots.. If can remove the HDD cage to give unrestricted flow, it will be better.

zjlim86

Can watch youtube videos on how to install...

Most of the time, it would be the heat from your GPU... GPU generates more heat than CPU when you game. Make sure your front intake is good enough to blow the hot air out from ur expansion slots.. If can remove the HDD cage to give unrestricted flow, it will be better.

I using centurion 6 casing, so the front is 140mm...i change the back fan to GT. where can i add fan to make it positive pressure?

nippp0n

CPU & Mobo: i5-4570 & Asrock H87M Pro 4 @ $372
Ram: G.Skill 1600mhz value ram 2x4GB @ $88
ODD: Samsung DVD RW @ $22
HDD: Hitachi Deskstar 1TB @ $80
SSD: Plextor M5P 256GB @ $289
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 770 Windforce @ $650
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 @ $154
PSU: FSP Platinum 650W @ $142

Total: $1907
Buy and build at Tradepac.

shadow84

I using centurion 6 casing, so the front is 140mm...i change the back fan to GT. where can i add fan to make it positive pressure?

Maybe set the front and sides to intake, and top and rear to exhaust... Your side should be good in cooling your gpu...

zjlim86

Maybe set the front and sides to intake, and top and rear to exhaust... Your side should be good in cooling your gpu...

I tried putting the side...but my gpu seem hotter..seem like the fan is blowing the hot air in...

xcrozx

I might get a few fans for my casing in the future when I have more cash.

Right now the specs I have in mind:
Mobo+CPU: i5-4570 & Asrock H87M Pro 4 @ $400
GFX: Asus GTX770 Direct cu II @ $669
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws-X 1600MHZ 8 GB (4GBx2) @ $105
SSD: Samsung 840 250GB @ $269
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB @ $85
PSU: Seasonic M12II-620W @ $125
Casing: Not very sure
OD: Samsung DVD-RW @ $25

Total: $1798

Still cant make up my mind on the case, have ~$150(Leaving a bit of money just in case) left of budget to be put into it. Anything you think should be changed?
If I buy and build at PCT will they charge additional to build?

shadow84

Still cant make up my mind on the case, have ~$150(Leaving a bit of money just in case) left of budget to be put into it. Anything you think should be changed?

Dun use Samsung 840.. get the Plextor M5S.. it is much better.. Only one worth getting frm samsung is the Samsung 840 PRO..

extra $10 for assembly... go decide on your case 1st.. i recommend Fractal Design Arc Midi R2, or Define R4 with a door, for a clean look...

zjlim86

I recommend for casing, go to the shop and slowly select wat u think is nice. Reason being you dun OC so how many fans on ur casing is not an issue. so the best is buy the one u like.

wuweiz

Some things to check for casing before u buy..

1) USB connectors - See if the casing is already up-to-date with the physical cables to hook up the front USB 3.0 to the onboard USB 3.0 connector

2) Adequate space and airflow - Make sure there is enough clearance to slot in your graphics card..

3) Position of PSU in casing.. Some older ones might still have it on top.. Most people like it at the bottom.. In case it's not secure and fall.. But I think that probability is quite small for well-known brands..

4) Google for their front panel earphone and mic jacks if you are using them.. Some are pretty bad and noisy.. Have no such problem with CM casings yet though..

5) Cable management architect - Lots have it nowadays.. Those holes on the side that u can route your cables to the back to hide it.. Brands like Corsair and CM all have it..

6) Extra stuffs you might like - Tool-less design.. Means you don't really need to use the screw driver a lot.. Corsair series even have built in stand-offs for your mobo.. So u only need to screw it in..

Umm.. Dunno if i miss anything else.. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.