$390 Motherboard Repair cost

mikahebat

My PC couldn't restart after pressing sleep. Apparently the PC power circuit is problematic. It was an MSI B85-G43 board (MSI... I know... I regretted that)

I contacted technofied for repairs because I am too lazy to send the MoBo for RMA. I paid $100 deposit and waited for repair.

Technofied contacted me back, charging me with $390 - $100 = $290 for repair.:eek: With that much money I can buy an ROG board. :mad:

Is that cost justified, I wonder?

booyakasha

congrats! because you're too lazy you decided to pay a few hundred to get it repaired instead of getting it fixed FOR FREE!!!!

Maeda_Toshiie

My PC couldn't restart after pressing sleep. Apparently the PC power circuit is problematic. It was an MSI B85-G43 board (MSI... I know... I regretted that)

I contacted technofied for repairs because I am too lazy to send the MoBo for RMA. I paid $100 deposit and waited for repair.

Technofied contacted me back, charging me with $390 - $100 = $290 for repair.:eek: With that much money I can buy an ROG board. :mad:

Labour cost.

b3njaminlee

How long did your MSI board lasted?

shadow84

wow because its too ex or wow because the TS is incredibly dumb?

Bothh.. All we can say is that TS deserve it... Gt free service centre dun wan go,go pay ppl to service something that is within warranty...

sHrike

clap clap clap...:s13:

$100 is more than 50% of the board cost btw. anyway you are too lazy to bother....why complain now.

duffie

What did you expect? You can afford it so it doesn't matter.

dawntime

You could have saved that 390 simply by RMA-ing. Corbell isn't bad, no?

shadow84

Wondering if TS stay at pulau ubin, jurong island or tekong sia? Go corbell so 'far' meh?

ykgoh

-snip-

The answer is no. Simple math.

Treat the $100 as a lesson learnt, and stop throwing good money after bad.

Option A: $100 deposit + $0 Corbell RMA = $100
Option B: $100 deposit + $168 Buy new board from MyNextCom = $268
Option C: $100 deposit + $290 technofied's repair = $390

If can wait, RMA.
If cannot wait, buy new one.

Pokémon

For all you know, could it have been just the power button of casing faulty, or PSU problem...?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.