5-6% annual return

rayzzzz82

just wondering if there is any investment which can give 5-6% per year for little to no risk? time horizon can be as long as 15 years

Mecisteus

I just happen to discuss this on the other thread. I have been doing active management myself for the past couple of years. This month, my wife and I just participated a RSP plan with POSB Invest Saver.

If you are looking for decent long term returns with minimal risk, then read this thread.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/m...cal-rolling-returns-dca-into-sti-5415326.html

If you are looking for 5-6% returns without risk, you must ask wahkao.

rayzzzz82

actually I am thinking of doing it.

Now I have around 180K fund and is looking to generate an income of 1K per month. By doing DCA, how much must I invest per month or do I invest all in one go? Or do I spilt it to STI ETF and SG Bond ETF according to my age profile?

I am not looking so much at a riskless method but rather minimum risk. Given the recent volatility of the market in recent time and the likelihood of recession round the corner, I am worried that whatever I invest now would drop to 50% of the initial value.

I am open to suggestion but given the huge amount of info in the forum (including some conflicting and biased info here) and internet, I am not sure what to invest to get a relatively safe return over 15 years time frame.

Hope to gain some further insight before deciding my next action to take.

rayzzzz82

I am looking to generate a varied unbiased perspective. By discussing over forum such as this, this would open to more ideas and perhaps lead to a better understanding of ways to generating a relatively good return while limiting the risk at the end.

Mecisteus

actually I am thinking of doing it.

Now I have around 180K fund and is looking to generate an income of 1K per month. By doing DCA, how much must I invest per month or do I invest all in one go? Or do I spilt it to STI ETF and SG Bond ETF according to my age profile?

I am not looking so much at a riskless method but rather minimum risk. Given the recent volatility of the market in recent time and the likelihood of recession round the corner, I am worried that whatever I invest now would drop to 50% of the initial value.

I am open to suggestion but given the huge amount of info in the forum (including some conflicting and biased info here) and internet, I am not sure what to invest to get a relatively safe return over 15 years time frame.

Hope to gain some further insight before deciding my next action to take.

I read from the other thread, you do trading too right? So why not have separate portfolios?

Hold on to your cash.

Continue your trading with a separate pool of funds for active management and trading.

Start a passive portfolio consisting of STI ETF and ABF Bond Fund as a primary or secondary portfolio.

Split the primary and secondary portfolio based on your comfort level and risk tolerance. There is no 1 common allocation that suits for everyone.

rayzzzz82

Indeed I am currently forex trading, getting around 20-30% return with around 5-10% risk.

On the other hand, I am trying to mitigate my risk and building my passive income on a much lower risk. I am not sure if I should build the ES3 / A35 portfolio using the DCA method or should I build up this portfolio during market trough where I can get at fairly reasonable price. What is the risk I am subjected to for either of these method?

SBC

CPF loh. First 60k at 5%. Current PG has 6% for the fist 60k, I think.
Rules keep changing.

Time horizon is life though.

rayzzzz82

I have already meet the minimum amount of 161k. Am I allowed to transfer any more to special account to earn the 4% interest?

PostCountWarrior[+1]

u got long term horizon, u can buy leveraged equity indices... sometimes u can be down 50% if market down 25% cos u leverage 2:1 but when u huat, u huat more than others...

rayzzzz82

what do you mean by leverage equity indices? can we leverage?

which would be a better approach? through DCA or buying at low price?

Mecisteus

what do you mean by leverage equity indices? can we leverage?

which would be a better approach? through DCA or buying at low price?

You need a margin account to leverage with stocks.

If it is easy to buy low and sell at high, there isn't any need to DCA.

Average

margin and leveraged trading is not a gd investment strategy -high risk. i started playing at 18yrs old... 5yrs liao, my acct statement is still in red.

i started off excited about the potential profits i can get... then i realize it is not easy. now i treat it as a leisure activity, like uncles buy 4D...

Sai777

$1k per mth out of $180k investment and has to be low risk

That is 6.67% return.

Even CPF SA cannot match

Definitely need to take some good calculated risk

limster

If you are thinking about lump sum investment, buying after a dividend stock after a small crash or dip can net you 5% dividends a year, eg: buying after Brexit.

But since these events are not so common, it is not a viable strategy for regular monthly investing. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't seize the opportunity to make easy money when the opportunity comes along.

Frankly, I consider buying the US market now more risky than buying stocks just after Brexit, but that's just my investing style.... could be wrong and US stocks continue to rally..=:p

bibu00

U know wk is a troll right :)

But he is a well protected with strong mountain backing.
He troll/provokes in almost every thread include shiny thing thread, I believe hundreds of reports has been sent against him, but he is still roaming freely lululululululing around.
Fcs has already been banned countless times for very similar offences.

Anyways ts if you can find a truly capital guaranteed financial instrument that can pay out 5%-6% yield consistently, do pm me :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.