去婚礼给红包 是帮新人“买单”?

coyote

I thought the same way until I got married late in my life. Most of the guests are long time friends whom are really happy to see me finally gotten married...

So, get married yourself and see who are the real friends whom are happy for you sincerely.

Thoreldan

The stupid mentality of helping couple cover their banquet cost is why banquet has extremely high profit margin bcos hotels know they can charge higher and higher knowing ppl will pay for them regardless. If we pass a law to limit angbao to $50 per person, u will see banquet price drop atleast 30-50% immediately.

Idiots think they are blessing the couple, but they are blessing the hotels, management bonus and shareholders instead.
This.

Another crap thing is gate crashing. Meaningless and sometimes insulting to the groom's side. Drink a bowl of unknown, evil tasting mixture for the name of fun and memory ?

AndroidComa

This.

Another crap thing is gate crashing. Meaningless and sometimes insulting to the groom's side.

gate crash is sometimes for fun, and have some atmosphere and allow the singles brother and sisters to mingle
the hongbao on the other hand....

sometimes the banquet served sucks, but charge sky high prices
plus eat already sometimes kenna stomach upset for couple of days
really 活受罪

Calis_Yoda

if ah gui merry, will request no ang bao at all

i invite them to celebrate my occasion not ask them pay for their own meal
Same for me. No need to do in restaurant or hotel. Maybe just an indoor venue with nice outdoor scenery for photo-taking with family and guests will do.

For food, just order catered buffet. What you want to eat, how much you want to eat and drink, all free flow and everyone feels at ease/comfortable. Makes it much easier to walk and mix around, talking to each other. Cost wise, also much more reasonable/affordable. Just that renting the venue might be a bit expensive, depending where it is and whether it's peak wedding season.

vbhelper

Obviously own self want face go organise at 6 stars hotel
Guests should just give $20 Ang Bao

Calis_Yoda

Hate banquet food the most. Portion tiny like faark.. food taste,quality at best is average.
Yep, attended 1 recently at Orchard Hotel. Same experience as you described. The 2nd last dish was hor fun. Max 3 or 4 mouths finish liao. No meat (pork) some more, only egg and some gravy.

s-ghost

Same for me. No need to do in restaurant or hotel. Maybe just an indoor venue with nice outdoor scenery for photo-taking with family and guests will do.

For food, just order catered buffet. What you want to eat, how much you want to eat and drink, all free flow and everyone feels at ease/comfortable. Makes it much easier to walk and mix around, talking to each other. Cost wise, also much more reasonable/affordable. Just that renting the venue might be a bit expensive, depending where it is and whether it's peak wedding season.
yes this

even restaurants, i won't ask for ang bao

Calis_Yoda

That same old bs 我吃盐比你吃米多…if literally happened. Old fart died from kidney failure first
I saw and heard the groom's father lecturing the bride's elder brother for a full 5 minutes that he should get married and carry out his duty to 传宗接代 after asking him whether he's married yet. 🙄😡

trojanhorse

Based on my vast experiences, 给人择日办嫁娶。

In Singapore, most Chinese family wanted to 男方得大摆宴席。
BUT, Chinese female marrying to ang-moh, 99% no need 大摆宴席!

SideTrack:

Look back at the divorce rate in Singapore in the last 3 years. It is climbing at alarming rate.

4Dluckystrike

If elders want the young to have lavish wedding , to have kids , they should sponsor or help and stop using seniority to pressure the young ..
it is getting more and more expensive to get married
now society is making marriage more difficult instead of easier ..

Swordsman

I saw and heard the groom's father lecturing the bride's elder brother for a full 5 minutes that he should get married and carry out his duty to 传宗接代 after asking him whether he's married yet. 🙄😡
My uncle (my mum's younger bro) also say similar things.. but less harsh with lesser time at my 三弟 wedding. he said something like left your 大哥 still unmarried. Stuff like that.

Swordsman

Yep, attended 1 recently at Orchard Hotel. Same experience as you described. The 2nd last dish was hor fun. Max 3 or 4 mouths finish liao. No meat (pork) some more, only egg and some gravy.
After banquet i go eat fast food..

doratch

Based on my vast experiences, 给人择日办嫁娶。

In Singapore, most Chinese family wanted to 男方得大摆宴席。
BUT, Chinese female marrying to ang-moh, 99% no need 大摆宴席!

SideTrack:
Look back at the divorce rate in Singapore in the last 3 years. It is climbing at alarming rate.

Huh?
Not split half half meh?
My sisters split half the cost with their husbands after deducting the angbao money that they received.

Lareina

³The stupid mentality of helping couple cover their banquet cost is why banquet has extremely high profit margin bcos hotels know they can charge higher and higher knowing ppl will pay for them regardless. If we pass a law to limit angbao to $50 per person, u will see banquet price drop atleast 30-50% immediately.

Idiots think they are blessing the couple, but they are blessing the hotels, management bonus and shareholders instead.
And guess what..? Only our race chinese is like that. Others make it simple. Chinese like face so much also. That's why want make wedding big big and spend until like that.
I also very sian with own culture :frown:

Calis_Yoda

Another "the glass is half full or half empty" question
Yes, up to personal perspective. If I'm not that close to the bride or groom and the wedding venue/banquet is gonna be very ex/"high ses" type, I won't go. Just send my blessings to the couple will do. I've come across many people in such occasions who 打肿脸充胖子.

trojanhorse

Huh?
Not split half half meh?
My sisters split half the cost with their husbands after deducting the angbao money that they received.
In Singapore and all Chinese weddings...

For your case, your parents do not mind.
Still, not many female sides doing this - Splitting cost. 纳彩之前,谈嫁娶这个要谈。

Traditionally and customary, 99% of the Chinese females will keep all money. They are not obliged to return the 红包 or share with 男方。

Feel free to send me private message about Chinese custom wedding. I am one of the few in this forum who knows this wedding custom of all dialects at my finger tips.

我是专业办择日(嫁娶、动土、搬迁、开张、生产 & etc)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.