8world...[HK]...34yo French woman drowned 7-mth old baby girl in a basin and walked to bedroom and hanged herself...

CaptchaCheebeh

Must be post-natal depression. We need stronger social safeguards in place to sappork these women.

Last time, people lived in communities, chiur safety net ish your neighbors and friends and relatives. Got daiji, ppl sure chip in and help. Got depression, ppl sure notice and lend a listening ear and intervene before things get worse.

Now we have individualistic dogshit modern society, ppl emo liao others neh notice, you can be living in crowded place but everyone ish stranger to one another.. This is why we can have cases of father daughter rotting insai HDB flat too and nobody notice.

Westernization and individualism is the root cause of these problems.

fortunecat

probably lack of support from family
left her to take care of the needy newborn alone
Edmwers always say chinese women useless, need so many people to help after giving birth while ang mo woman very satki do everything themselves, no need maid no need MIL :o

Taloona

Saw a post earlier in another thread, said depression is created by angmo in the past no such thing one
In the past, many diseases were not diagnosed because science was not that advanced. Now we can look at diseases at the cellular level.

When a woman is pregnant and post pregnancy, there are a lot of changes in her body including hormonal changes which can result in changes in mood.

My former colleague had post natal depression after the birth of her 1st child many moons ago. Colleagues tried their best to support her by asking her out often. She was ok after that.

Sometimes I wonder what is the evolutionary purpose of post natal depression. Does this happen in the animal kingdom?

Taloona

Edmwers always say chinese women useless, need so many people to help after giving birth while ang mo woman very satki do everything themselves, no need maid no need MIL :o
My brother did confinement for his wife when their kids were born. He is a very good cook! He uses all natural and fresh ingredients with little salt and oil. His wife is one lucky woman!

Taloona

Nanny are also human, I believe all traditional nanny do not have major in psychology or good in people relationships skills, they can be toxic as well … depend on luck.
True. Some nannies are toxic, insists that the new mum follow this rule or that rule, which makes the new mum even more depressed!

Taloona

Must be post-natal depression. We need stronger social safeguards in place to sappork these women.

Last time, people lived in communities, chiur safety net ish your neighbors and friends and relatives. Got daiji, ppl sure chip in and help. Got depression, ppl sure notice and lend a listening ear and intervene before things get worse.

Now we have individualistic dogshit modern society, ppl emo liao others neh notice, you can be living in crowded place but everyone ish stranger to one another.. This is why we can have cases of father daughter rotting insai HDB flat too and nobody notice.

Westernization and individualism is the root cause of these problems.
What westernization? The angmohs also have their own support group via their churches.

ninja99

Generation differences, as I shared my ah ma was a tough woman who went through a lot of ****, but doesn’t mean she was a understanding person, my mum, when married to my dad moved over and live at my grandma side, my mum has to do all the house chore ,washed all the clothes in the household, include all my dad sibling, all unmarried brother, their underwear. no washing machine k rubbing against a “saw” wood flat device. Cooking was a lot of time using brick stacked stove, with burning wood as fuel and metal pipe so can fan up the fire. I often seem my mum eating alone in the kitchen sitting on a stack brick, no table, just a bowl on hand, chopstick crawling rice into her mouth, same time having 3 young kids, and when thing get better when we move into our own hdb, my dad cheated on her, they were countless physical fights with my dad, sleepless nights, the kids which was me avoiding going home, and all of us started to neglect studies, sis always stay at bf house etc.. but my mum didn’t get depression or any mental illnesses… this is how strong old generation women are…

Coless

Generation differences, as I shared my ah ma was a tough woman who went through a lot of ****, but doesn’t mean she was a understanding person, my mum, when married to my dad moved over and live at my grandma side, my mum has to do all the house chore ,washed all the clothes in the household, include all my dad sibling, all unmarried brother, their underwear. no washing machine k rubbing against a “saw” wood flat device. Cooking was a lot of time using brick stacked stove, with burning wood as fuel and metal pipe so can fan up the fire. I often seem my mum eating alone in the kitchen sitting on a stack brick, no table, just a bowl on hand, chopstick crawling rice into her mouth, same time having 3 young kids, and when thing get better when we move into our own hdb, my dad cheated on her, they were countless physical fights with my dad, sleepless nights, the kids which was me avoiding going home, and all of us started to neglect studies, sis always stay at bf house etc.. but my mum didn’t get depression or any mental illnesses… this is how strong old generation women are…

depression isn’t something new. it has existed since the old days. just because your mum didn’t experience it doesn’t mean all women from the older generation were strong and immune to it.

ninja99

depression isn’t something new. it has existed since the old days. just because your mum didn’t experience it doesn’t mean all women from the older generation were strong and immune to it.
my grandma, my aunt, my mother … those who I knew live in the kampong…
the fact is old generation man and woman are tougher. It’s like I won’t dare said to my dad that my ns life is tougher than theirs.

ninja99

True. Some nannies are toxic, insists that the new mum follow this rule or that rule, which makes the new mum even more depressed!
I remember I heard before “strict traditional” one cannot touch water and need to be inside room where “wind” is not even allowed cause will 进风, for a period of 30days. All Modern people will kisiao la.

Taloona

my grandma, my aunt, my mother … those who I knew live in the kampong…
the fact is old generation man and woman are tougher. It’s like I won’t dare said to my dad that my ns life is tougher than theirs.
The support from the community was strong during the kampong days. Families were also very big so it literally "takes a whole village to raise a child".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.