9K for NSmen doing NS.

Visitor

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_572451.html

The $9,000 for NSmen who are citizens only - and more for commanders - will go into their CPF and Post-Secondary Education Accounts in tranches. -- ST PHOTO: EDWIN KOO

NATIONAL Servicemen stand to get $9,000 each in a move to show that citizens come first amidst resentment towards foreigners who do not have to serve NS.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Sunday night announced a 'National Service Recognition Award' at the National Day Rally.

The $9,000 for NSmen who are citizens only - and more for commanders - will go into their CPF and Post-Secondary Education Accounts in tranches.

Mr Lee said this is a recognition for the contributions and sacrifices of NSmen who give up two years full-time, and then return for reservist while trying to build a career and build a family.

Permanent Residents who have done their NS will get the payout only when they become citizens.

At any one time, there are 55,000 active servicemen - about 20,000 regulars and more than 30,000 full-time national servicemen.

There are about 300,000 operationally-ready National Servicemen.

Seriously what kind of policy is this!?
Not only it cheapen the NS but ask yourself this:

Left Pocket in, Right pocket out..
Where does the 9k come from?
Unless it come from Male PR, Male Foreigner(s) then prehap it sound better, but still not necessary correct. :(

gohsan

Just reduce the ft intake the housing price could drop by 20%. NSmen dont need the 9k just less ft.

j_t_fusion

hiaz... noticed they used the words "stand to get $9,000 each." that means not all nsmen who are singapore citizens will get 9k. most likely the criteria to get the full 9k will be a really strict one... like your nsmen appointment, numbers of years you have serve as nsmen, your financial capability, your ict frequency, etc.

i think in the end most of us will only get a miserable few hundreds... somemore go to cpf and psea... can see cannot touch...

Visitor

this is imho a sucker policy,

I finished my NS, marched for the NDP, now I am have to pay my son(s) to do their NS. kan ni nao hia

If so much we must ask somone to pay, perhaps, create a social welfare funded through taxation of the PR and Foreigners to Singaporean have lost, cannot find jobs or supplement "undesirable" jobs because there is simply too many, too cheap foreigner workers.
At least we are truly and directly sucking on them, and I like it!

Quan

I have finished my reservist aka. NS training and do I qualify to be paid 9K of taxpayer money?

Rogue

Guess they had forgotten about the female citizens or those who had already contributed decades of servitude.

Targeting a subset of the population(prime of their adult life) whose livelihood is threatened by the tide of cheap labor. A sign of resentment and rising unrest...

Money that you will eventually be forced to "monetize" since it's not cold hard cash. Minimally helpful with skyrocketing prices. Ah, living in Singapore with no welfare but workfare.

Shut up and enjoy your one-off bribe.

Humster

(-_-lll I'm sorry but, give us S$9000 but never gonna see the money (>....>lll

Kinda like Credit Card companies.......

"Thank you for your support. We are giving you S$1000!"

/open package

/see a stack of papers saying can get discount, or -S$xxx id spend more the S$xxx

pyu

Rather pointless, since they still have not addressed the fact that employers must still give CPF contribution during ICT, making Singaporeans less desirable as potential employees and that long training periods up to three weeks are disruptive for employee / employers as well.

Mr. Prime Minister, these issues will not disappear. A one time payment of S$9K isn't going to wish all these side effects away. What happened to all the scholars you have under you? Is this the best thing they can think up or your defence chiefs not going to budge on training doctrine and policies?

cancer81

so even though PRs and new citizens also pay income taxes, their income tax and your income tax must be separated and spent separately...

yes... you should be our PM instead. Even you know better. Just make new citizens and PRs pay a special no-NS tax!!

but at the end of the day, you still do not know where exactly the money came from... so is it so important? where the money came from??

you have been paying for your son(s) to do NS. Your income tax is government revenue. Cannot left pocket right pocket right? Then SAF should convert into a private military firm and send NSFs to be mercenaries in conflicts abroad. The more you go and fight the more you earn. The SAF can then pay itself.... shiok bo??

details not out and already "left pocket right pocket" come out liao....

*clap clap clap clap

marvelous

cancer81

Rather pointless, since they still have not addressed the fact that employers must still give CPF contribution during ICT, making Singaporeans less desirable as potential employees and that long training periods up to three weeks are disruptive for employee / employers as well.

Mr. Prime Minister, these issues will not disappear. A one time payment of S$9K isn't going to wish all these side effects away. What happened to all the scholars you have under you? Is this the best thing they can think up or your defence chiefs not going to budge on training doctrine and policies?

Employers make a pay claim to Mindef. FULL pay claim for the duration you were in ICT. That means.... "YES the CPF came from Mindef!!"

WOW!!!!!!!! That means the employer never really lost out in terms of MONEY!!

no lar... only CANCEL NS is the solution. Then we can wave a white flag when our neighbours realise we do not have anyone to hold a M16/SAR21

boucyfirebal

No offence ! ah 9k seen abit little and what can post secondary account do? seem like minor incentive for the big E comming:)

xdivider

Not expecting anything so any angbao is better than anythng. I rather they give a 20k rebate on using cpf in purchases of flats. Cost nothing to treasury (except for paper losses to Land authority / hdb) and directly helping out pple start families................

sunzoner

Employers make a pay claim to Mindef. FULL pay claim for the duration you were in ICT. That means.... "YES the CPF came from Mindef!!"

WOW!!!!!!!! That means the employer never really lost out in terms of MONEY!!

no lar... only CANCEL NS is the solution. Then we can wave a white flag when our neighbours realise we do not have anyone to hold a M16/SAR21

One can always consider starting a professional army paying competitive wages.

sunzoner

Not expecting anything so any angbao is better than anythng. I rather they give a 20k rebate on using cpf in purchases of flats. Cost nothing to treasury (except for paper losses to Land authority / hdb) and directly helping out pple start families................

I rather the HDB cost policy goes back to the 80s formula.

Never wavier on what you want just because of "small" incentives given...

cancer81

One can always consider starting a professional army paying competitive wages.

currently the SAF do pay good wages for regulars. I just do not see how we can have a fully professional PDF and 2PDF. Not to mention say having a SIR fully professional. It will be too big of a drain on the workforce. If the SAF goes that way, I expect to see even more foreigners and Ftrash. That would really tickle my funny bone.

it will also mean the SAF having to think of career paths for corporals with a probable view of turning them over to NCO status as they build up experience. Problem is we do not have units on active duty in any combat zone.

I have to mention this. The American forces in Iraq, Afghanistan is largely manned by Reserves. Not all of the troops are lifers (full time career soldiers). Yes, even the superpower has a Army Reserve system that has its manpower doing normal day jobs.

If anything, the one thing I want to see is the creation of a Reserves system to replace ORNSmen system.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.