A JB property investment thread

CCCustom

Staying at an AirBnB near Legoland now.

There are in fact quite a few advertised … most of them have at least a play corner with Lego bricks and other toys … several even have a Lego theme reno.

AirBnB is legal in M’sia … in fact the condo security is managing the keys (or rather, keycards) for guest check-ins.

If buy a condo unit in this area purely for doing AirBnB - assuming you have some arrangement for managing your unit’s cleaning and setting up for each next guest - that seems like a better investment than buying 1 of those RTS area properties?

CCCustom

You talking about medini area? No min rm1 million requirements but it's all leasehold property for now. Maybe got hope to convert to freehold.
Yeah Medini area, basically properties within walking distance to Legoland. Buy purely to do AirBnB + the once-in-awhile retreat when you have no guests.

kimkuan

There are in fact quite a few advertised … most of them have at least a play corner with Lego bricks and other toys … several even have a Lego theme reno.

AirBnB is legal in M’sia … in fact the condo security is managing the keys (or rather, keycards) for guest check-ins.

If buy a condo unit in this area purely for doing AirBnB - assuming you have some arrangement for managing your unit’s cleaning and setting up for each next guest - that seems like a better investment than buying 1 of those RTS area properties?
the problem with Malaysia condo is after build liao, there is no maintenance after a few years it looks like crap.

CCCustom

the problem with Malaysia condo is after build liao, there is no maintenance after a few years it looks like crap.
Where is the buyer for your condo ?
I’m talking about buying in the Legoland area purely to do AirBnB + occasional own retreat when don’t have booking.

The place I’m staying for example, we start back-to-back after a previous booking, and The Other Half wanted to extend 1 extra day also cannot because got another booking right after ours. Of course, I expect this is peak period for such AirBnB during school holidays, but seems a better deal than say those who buy RTS area hoping property prices go up to resell, or those hoping after RTS up got long-term rental demand.

fandango

AFAIK, occupancy only one-third in a year. Not going to cover loan, if you take loan

fandango

I’m talking about buying in the Legoland area purely to do AirBnB + occasional own retreat when don’t have booking.

The place I’m staying for example, we start back-to-back after a previous booking, and The Other Half wanted to extend 1 extra day also cannot because got another booking right after ours. Of course, I expect this is peak period for such AirBnB during school holidays, but seems a better deal than say those who buy RTS area hoping property prices go up to resell, or those hoping after RTS up got long-term rental demand.
Low months Feb, March, April, July, August, September, October is jin jialat one.

bIkErS

Investment ???

I use to have the same think as u... until I know my jhk relative did this...

Cny time saw him and ask how was the 'investment'

He say is lose money... the management take 70 u take 30 of the monthly sales

And u must know not everyday can rent out and market have alot of it.

If a jhk is losing money we sinkie is no need say.

Unless u say u not going for investment when buying but more of a backup plan or have extra money to throw

drkcynic

Sinkies always think they are the smartest.
It's as if there are no smart people in JB.

To be honest, the most wily foxes are in JB. These people have no choice, their survival skills are born out of circumstances. Anything that can make money, they will be there first, don't need to wait for sinkies to "chanced upon" while holidaying.

So if you see some "investments" that have no locals doing, but all sinkies, just remember to run far far away.

That's all I want to say in this matter.

Laguna123

Ts talking about those that let ppl help u to manage the airbnb then u pay them a fee?

lifeafter41

If Legoland closed down then how?………

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.