you all discard the broth?
some use back as soup broth

donut33

a stupid question:o
you all discard the broth?
some use back as soup broth

Dun discard it away. I usually bought Skylight and use it as soup base for steamboat, fried vegg, steram fish... Not sure about other brand though.

hoks

Actually imho the source is more important...but dunn how to make :)

Anyway any abalone expert can share the difference between dry abalone n normal ones n the definition of # of heads (weight?)?

Beta_Tester

Good for u, hope u enjoy it.

Some pple feel that all abalone are the same, perhap it may be due to wrong way of eating it such as throwing it into steamboat, frying it w vegge or mixed with archa. That for sure will kill off the taste. All abalone are actually cooked when u bought them in can meaning u can eat it straight form the can. Just need to sliced it into pcs like sashimi (not as thick la) and enjoy... :)

wtf? got ppl add in archa? omg..

donut33

Got la, went to my frend hse during CNY b4. He sliced it and mixed w archa....damn...can't even taste the abalone due to the vinegar in archa. Completely spoil the dish...hohoho..wat a waste.

Stephy

Any lobang for the Calmex brand?
My mum wanna buy more....:o

xseanyx

cheapest i found nw is $90 frm victoria street wholesale market, that's the price quoted before bargining, getting few frens together hopefully would get a better price when buying 10+ can :D

pasquinade

Anyway any abalone expert can share the difference between dry abalone n normal ones n the definition of # of heads (weight?)?
dry ones not so easy to prepare. you have to prepare the stock and cook for many hours. some prepare a day in advance.

the lesser the number of heads means more expensive. i think it's based on "jin", as in the weight of each abalone.

donut33

Dry abalone is refered to the dry one sold in medical hall. Usually they are from Africa. The texture is tough but more fragrance. It is also more diff to prepare as it need many hrs oif cooking to make it soften. Restaurant use it for Peng Cai.

As for nos of head it refers to the size of the abalone. One head is consider the biggest, restaurant standard is about 200 to 220 gm per one head. Whereas when u go restaurant, if they serve 2 head or up to 16 heads, it is smallest in size and lighter in weight. For the cann type, it is usually in 1.5 head.

hoks

Dry abalone is refered to the dry one sold in medical hall. Usually they are from Africa. The texture is tough but more fragrance. It is also more diff to prepare as it need many hrs oif cooking to make it soften. Restaurant use it for Peng Cai.

As for nos of head it refers to the size of the abalone. One head is consider the biggest, restaurant standard is about 200 to 220 gm per one head. Whereas when u go restaurant, if they serve 2 head or up to 16 heads, it is smallest in size and lighter in weight. For the cann type, it is usually in 1.5 head.

I only get to see this reply one year later:D:s13:=:p Thanks for the reply if you still see this.=:p:o

albetan

dry ones not so easy to prepare. you have to prepare the stock and cook for many hours. some prepare a day in advance.

the lesser the number of heads means more expensive. i think it's based on "jin", as in the weight of each abalone.

head refer to the weight.
4 head means it takes 4pcs of similiar size to make 1 'jin' (ard 500g) or 125g each.
5 head means 100g each.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.